We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit odd, but excellent”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A bit odd, but excellent”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Interesting hotel with history. Room unusually furnished, as were the public areas. We had a 'Canal" room. good view, spotless, Barber's chair ??! and Iron ladder up the wall to a little perch ??!!. People very helpful and friendly, breakfast good. Very convenient location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4across
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    133
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
50
742
47
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Great location, rooms, service, breakfast, everything... If there is a room available, book it! And be sure to follow their recommendations for restaurants! We really enjoyed our stay here and we'll stay again! No complaints from us. The breakfast is really good and well worth the price!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emilie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed some few days in mars 2014. The best concept of a hotel we ever experienced. Service was with kindness and attention. Smart advices about events and restaurants. Thank you guys. We'll be back - soon.

Evelina & Jan

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JanThomsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Loved it here fabulous host, rooms were lovely & clean, breakfast was good, very steep stairs excellent cardio workout! we stayed here with another couple we found the location was great near station & all the sights of Amsterdam, would I stay again yes 100%! Staff couldn't have any more helpful than they were!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at Mauro Mansion in March 14 for my husbands 50th. What a lovely place. We had a 3rd floor canal view room with a hammock seat (stairs up are not for the unfit and they can feel a little claustrophobic, almost like going up a windmill!) Room was very spacious with everything you need. A minibar is included but not replaced. The owners kindly left us a bottle of birthday champagne. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the train station. You think when you walk down the canal side street that you are in the wrong place as there isn't much going on with the other buildings, but once we unpacked and explored, you discover that this hotel is in the perfect location. Near to everything within walking distance, but far enough away from the areas that are noisy and busy (Red Light District and coffee shops and bars). Marcel & Berry gave us maps and places to visit and to avoid, (only the Damrak side, it's not dangerous, just work going on and not old town, very touristy and ugly). Dam square is easy to get to this way though. They recommended restaurants and both were excellent, especially Eetcafe Van Beeren, nr Nieumarkt. They also booked a boat tour for us which included discount (4 adults for price of 3), this was added to room bill. Breakfast was continental, delicious meats, cheese and bread, plus extras, scrambled eggs, pancakes and fruit. All very tasty and the coffee was really nice. They have an honesty bar with a great choice of drinks and snacks. The room was cleaned every day and little touches left like chocolates or biscuits. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room too. I would highly recommend staying here and I cannot wait to go again. I loved Amsterdam, the people, the canals, the bicycles, the food, the buildings, even the areas classed as 'seedy' are worth visiting. Anne Frank Museum is also a must.

Room Tip: Canal front are slightly noisier but the sunshine in a morning is fabulous. 3rd floor swinging hammo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DollyW915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent a night at Mauro Mansion last week and wished we had more time to stay there. The room was wonderful, staff great, a place I want to go back to. The stairs are very steep and a little tricky if you're on an upper floor. However, other than that, it was a perfect place to stay. Will definitely stay there again when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Loved our room on the third floor, but if stairs are a problem, I would suggest a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maineartist609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

We had a short 3 day stay in Amsterdam at the end of Feb. Looked at a number of hotels and found this absolute gem! The owners were very welcoming and attentive, the room was excellent, very clean and tidy.
Breakfast was great, try the pancakes!
Can't recommend this place enough!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodentnoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing