We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant quirky hotel, ideal location”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here 21-24 March 2014 and our stay was brilliant. 600m from main station and 5 mins walk and you are in the middle of everything. Wonderful view over a canal. Breakfast was lovely and owners very happy to help with booking tickets and giving invaluable tourist advice. Definitely recommend to everyone we know.

Room Tip: Go for a canal facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Millsybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Interesting hotel with history. Room unusually furnished, as were the public areas. We had a 'Canal" room. good view, spotless, Barber's chair ??! and Iron ladder up the wall to a little perch ??!!. People very helpful and friendly, breakfast good. Very convenient location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4across
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Great location, rooms, service, breakfast, everything... If there is a room available, book it! And be sure to follow their recommendations for restaurants! We really enjoyed our stay here and we'll stay again! No complaints from us. The breakfast is really good and well worth the price!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emilie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed some few days in mars 2014. The best concept of a hotel we ever experienced. Service was with kindness and attention. Smart advices about events and restaurants. Thank you guys. We'll be back - soon.

Evelina & Jan

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JanThomsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Loved it here fabulous host, rooms were lovely & clean, breakfast was good, very steep stairs excellent cardio workout! we stayed here with another couple we found the location was great near station & all the sights of Amsterdam, would I stay again yes 100%! Staff couldn't have any more helpful than they were!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent 3 nights at Mauro Mansion in March 14 for my husbands 50th. What a lovely place. We had a 3rd floor canal view room with a hammock seat (stairs up are not for the unfit and they can feel a little claustrophobic, almost like going up a windmill!) Room was very spacious with everything you need. A minibar is included but not replaced. The owners kindly left us a bottle of birthday champagne. The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the train station. You think when you walk down the canal side street that you are in the wrong place as there isn't much going on with the other buildings, but once we unpacked and explored, you discover that this hotel is in the perfect location. Near to everything within walking distance, but far enough away from the areas that are noisy and busy (Red Light District and coffee shops and bars). Marcel & Berry gave us maps and places to visit and to avoid, (only the Damrak side, it's not dangerous, just work going on and not old town, very touristy and ugly). Dam square is easy to get to this way though. They recommended restaurants and both were excellent, especially Eetcafe Van Beeren, nr Nieumarkt. They also booked a boat tour for us which included discount (4 adults for price of 3), this was added to room bill. Breakfast was continental, delicious meats, cheese and bread, plus extras, scrambled eggs, pancakes and fruit. All very tasty and the coffee was really nice. They have an honesty bar with a great choice of drinks and snacks. The room was cleaned every day and little touches left like chocolates or biscuits. There are tea/coffee making facilities in the room too. I would highly recommend staying here and I cannot wait to go again. I loved Amsterdam, the people, the canals, the bicycles, the food, the buildings, even the areas classed as 'seedy' are worth visiting. Anne Frank Museum is also a must.

Room Tip: Canal front are slightly noisier but the sunshine in a morning is fabulous. 3rd floor swinging hammo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DollyW915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent a night at Mauro Mansion last week and wished we had more time to stay there. The room was wonderful, staff great, a place I want to go back to. The stairs are very steep and a little tricky if you're on an upper floor. However, other than that, it was a perfect place to stay. Will definitely stay there again when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Loved our room on the third floor, but if stairs are a problem, I would suggest a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maineartist609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,345 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,516 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,426 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £92 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing