We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous independent and unusual hotel”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've just come back from an amazing 3 night stay at the Mauro Mansion. It's a 8/9 room canal house on a really quiet canal but that's just a 5 minute walk from the station and a stones throw from the medieval and red light district.

We we're in a room at the top of the house and while there were a few stairs to climb it was worth it. The rooms are modern with all mod cons but are brilliantly designed taking into account the buildings unusual history.

Berry and Marcel were very helpful and breakfast for 5 euros was a bargain and really yummy with a choice of fruit, pancakes or eggs.

We really love quirky places and this was top notch. Fab location, lovely rooms, friendly service and lots of brilliant little touches. All for a very reasonable price. Book now!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnaleedew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel several times and have just booked to stay again. We have stayed in 3 other hotels in Amsterdam and none of them compare to Mauro Mansion. Its location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam and it is extremely comfortable and charming. Marcel and Berry are very helpful and welcoming and, whilst we know the area fairly well, they are always on hand to recommend nice places to eat or things to do. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceEStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mauro Mansion for three nights in April 2014. The location is great, close to the central railway station and easily accessible to all the tourist sites. We had a beautiful spacious room on the top floor overlooking the canal. It was wonderfully decorated with a hammock type chair and a very comfortable bed with lovely comforters. It had a large bathroom that included a bathtub. The breakfast had a variety of fresh baked goods, cereals, fresh scrambled eggs etc.,with an emphasis on really healthy food. They were very helpful with our request for tickets and information to the various museums and suggestions for restaurants. True, there are stairs, but it was part of the charm (and good exercise after the breakfast!).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here 5 nights after a week long bike and barge trip. It was a very convenient location to explore Amsterdam. The proximity to the train station was perfect for several day trips out of town. The breakfasts were perfect. I especially loved the later hours (8:30 am - 11:00 am), which gave us a lot of flexibility in our days. They also had a collection of movies, which I enjoyed for some down time at the end of the day.

The area was fun to walk through, but if you are looking for a quiet respite another section of town may be preferable. Every night after dinner we walked by the Red Light show which was about 10 doors down from the hotel. This was the "off-Broadway version" of the Red Light district and just seemed rather sad.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 32. It was a nice sized room with views of the canal. The only warning, is that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyFWatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Off center hotel located very close to the main station and on the edge of the red light district. Marcel and Berry were very helpful offering restaurant advice and booking the restaurants for us. They also purchased advanced tickets for the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum which saved us a great deal of queue time. Breakfast was good – Berry produced eggs and pancakes upon request, rooms were very clean. Some rooms were up a narrow staircase. Overall real positive experience and would stay there again

Room Tip: Some rooms are located up a fairly narrow staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We picked this hotel based on reviews I read on Trip Advisor. Everything was perfect. Berry was wonderful and made fresh fruit salad, incredible thin pancakes and eggs every morning for us. Plus all the juices, cheeses and cold cuts and fresh breads. We walked to everything, even our Viking cruise ship after 6 fun days and nights in Amsterdam. We were there for Kings day which was so much fun and the tulip park was incredible! Very quiet and safe area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 423Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We had four days in Amsterdam and decided to give this hotel a try based on Trip Advisor ratings we were not disappointed. This amazing little hotel has location, wonderful staff and awesome rooms. Ours featured zebras and a large space. Everything was within walking distance and I would absolutely go back again. To the owners thank for having such a wonderful establishment.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £92 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing