We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent boutique hotel”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here for a night recently and was very impressed with this small little hotel located very close to the Amsterdam Central. This hotel is also very close to China town and the red light district, but fret not, its very quiet and also safe at night. The room is very big and has a very unique interior. The facilities in the room and bathroom are new and clean. The staircase are very narrow and steps are small and steep, but do not worry, the helpful staffs are always willing and able to help carry heavy luggage upstairs. Wifi connection throughout the hotel is very good. Please book early if you intend to stay here as there are only 9 rooms is this hotel. Overall I had a very pleasant stay would recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms with canal view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jcfl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Mauro Mansion for 3 nights in June 2014 and had a friendly, safe and pleasant experience. Would stay again. Berry and Marcel were lovely fellows and Berry in particular very supportive when I was pick pocketed at the airport. ( Do be careful of that at the airport, especially people who claim to be helping you onto the train with your luggage).
The breakfast at Mauro mansions was great, a selection of cheeses and meats and warm bread. Scrambled eggs and the usual muesli, cereals and fruit etc were also available.
We had a room over looking the canal which was pleasant and spacious enough, and enjoyed laughing about the remains of a cage from the days when the hotel used to be 'the black tulip ' a house of disrepute.
The B&B is easy to get to from the train station and we found it quiet, not on a noise street and no noisy neighbours , even the fridge was silent tho a low hum from air conditioning as everywhere. It was walkable distance to restaurants.

Room Tip: A room over looking the canal was nice. We were on the first floor, perhaps the ground floor wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Llinderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here sadly for only one night. It was a quick trip to Amsterdam from Brussels and I was looking for accommodation located close to the Station. Location of Mauro was perfect. Both for ease of access to the station and to all of the delights associated with the old town of Amsterdam.

Your hosts are wonderful land clearly understand the meaning of "hospitality". I look forward to retuning to Mauro again but this time for a much longer period.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kendall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Mauso Mansion is a great boutique hotel, situated at he center of Amsterdam. You can easly go wherever you want from the hotel. Owners are great people. We loved them. Rooms are well worth to stay, they are beautiful.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the street. There is a canal in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayhany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had three nights in Mauro Mansion in October 2013. I had a late arrival due to a storm so I appreciated that they waited for me to check in.

I felt very welcome straight from the beginning. Breakfast was wonderful and convenient in a way. The bar was clever, and hopefully it'll stay like that. Hotel itself is on a quiet street, but close to tram stops so it's easy to get anywhere you need to.

If I ever come back to Amsterdam, I'll definitely check Mauro Mansion 1st.

Room Tip: Aim at top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This boutique hotel is all what the reviews say.

Great location if arriving by train and the funky touches like welcome drinks in the mini bar, access to DVD, honesty bar for a midnight feast is all great.

Its a small hotel so if you're packing two suitcases try and get a bottom floor room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussier0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked a 3 night stay at Mauro Mansion. Great fun location near central station and the red light district. Excellent breakfast cooked by Barry. Beware if you are staying on the 3rd floor. Extremely steep small staircase!!! Marcel was helpful in recommending restaurants but very "cool". Mini fridge in room was helpful. Overall great stay but would probably not choose again.

Room Tip: Get a ground floor room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbst5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,398 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,536 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,446 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £92 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing