We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip Advisor works”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor works”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booking a hotel in a foreign country on the basis of reviews from Trip Advisor is possibly the best test there is of whether or not the system works. So . . . . . should this hotel really be in the top 5 hotels for Amsterdam. Answer - yes.
It was safe, secure, reasonably priced, clean, comfortable, well furnished, in a nice location, great breakfast, the people running it were very friendly & helpful.
I'd go back there, I'd recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CJS52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    888
    142
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
53
766
48
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A two minute walk from Centraal....only if you have to wait for the bikes. This exquisite accommodation is located on the only quiet canal in the central area of Amsterdam. All the action is so close, but your street is almost non existent in this fantastically exciting city. The red light district and coffee shops are near, but none of this is where you are. Metro access with Centraal can put you anywhere within minutes, and the option for train service is outstanding. I believe it is one of the best locations you can stay, in the middle of it all, and sleep well at night. The rooms are spacious, the air conditioning works perfectly, the breakfast is great (and very underpriced, 5 Euro), it's a great thing. They even give you what is in the fridge as a welcoming present. I have NEVER been treated so well. Berry and Marcel are simply wonderful. This is a keeper, you will be very pleased.

Room Tip: We had room 31, great views, quiet on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jrmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Everything is to love at Mauro Mansion!
Proximity to Central Station - check.
Very clean, quirky room - check.
Very tasty, free mini-fridge - check.
Little sweet treats on the pillow - check.
Very tasty, healthy breakfast at an amazing 5 euros - check.
Complimentary real tea and coffee - check.
Good quality bathroom products - check.
And the piece de resistance - 20 ruby red roses in our room for our Ruby wedding - check!
Thank you so, so much Berry and Marcel.
Perfect hosts - check!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dugandkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My partner and I went to check in for 4 days in August, we booked one of the ground floor rooms. As it was the middle of summer it was quite hot. When we opened the door to the room, the first thing I noticed was a musky smell and the fact that it was quite hot.

I went to open the window, which would not open as it is sealed shut. I also realised there is no air-conditioning. There is a small vent above the window that doesn't do much for air flow.

As I am a tad claustrophobic this was deal breaker for me and I had to change hotels. Regardless of being claustrophobic I think they need more ventilation in those rooms or at least conditioning.

In saying that, perhaps if you don't mind no ventilation and in winter it may be fine.

I must say, the room was very clean and well presented and the staff were amazingly accommodating and even offered to help find another hotel when I said I could not stay there.

Room Tip: Ground floor, windows sealed shut and no air-con. Not sure about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 466nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of July 2014. Firstly the location is a 5 min walk from the central station giving tram and bus access to the city. My room was spacious, tastefully decorated, and very clean. The hotel has free wifi and an honesty bar with a wide selection of snacks and drinks for a very reasonable price. The two friendly gentlemen who run the hotel are very generous with their time, and were always keen to help. Everything was easy in this hotel. Also I must add that breakfast was of a fine quality with many different choices. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as it deserves the fine ratings it has on trip advisor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a nice room overlooking the canal which was well appointed and spacious enough. Bathroom had been renovated; toiletries were of good quality. Complimentary Prosecco and beer in the fridge were a lovely touch. Berry and Marcel were friendly and helpful and provided restaurant suggestions and did some bookings on our behalf and provided directions to any place we asked about. Breakfast was "help yourself" for the most part but you could request freshly made fruit salad and scrambled eggs. Coffee machine was available at any time of the day so you could help yourself with take out cups available. Great restaurants in walking distance and Amsterdam Central train station within walking distance. An enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: We happened to get a room overlooking the canal which had a lovely outlook and was surprisingly quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryBVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Recently returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at Mauro Mansion. A frequent traveller to Amsterdam having stayed in several 5 star hotels, I'll always stay at Mauro Mansion in future! Really friendly and helpful, beautifully decorated, real attention to detail. Faultless. Loved the breakfast and the honesty bar. Great central but quiet location. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: All rooms looked fantastic! Ours was on the top floor but well worth the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolfman11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,579 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,404 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,042 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,701 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing