We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Amsterdam!”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent in Amsterdam!”
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We had a blast staying here in Amsterdam. Berry and Marcel were very hospitable and helpful. The helped us reserve a private canal tour which was one of the highlights of our stay. The rooms are all unique and have a fresh modern style. The location is excellent- it's in a great area and right near the train station. We will definitely return here when we come back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandAshley529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    141
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
762
47
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saarbrucken, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Mauro Mansion seems just perfect for any kind of stay in Amsterdam!

I combined a business trip with leisure, staying a few extra days after a large conference/meeting, and was completely happy with this place. Mauro just has it all: Only a few minutes from central station yet located on a quiet canal, a beautiful old house newly renovated with great care and great taste, this hotel is a little gem offering all the comfort you could wish for (including free, perfectly reliable high speed internet).
Have any questions about restaurants in walking distance, things to do, public transportation, parking? The owners are always happy to help.
Oh, and I loved the little suprises that are freshly prepared for the guests in the mornings! (Make sure you stay long enough - it would be a pity to miss the mini pancakes with fresh strawberries for breakfast! :-)

What can I say... Mauro Mansion is a truly great alternative to the usual business hotels, and I will definately return during my next visit to Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saarbrucken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I was looking for a bed and breakfast in the Amsterdam area close to the train to get to Haarlem and found Mauro Mansion. The reviews were excellent and I loved that the place was recently renovated plus it helped their website has a very nice tongue in cheek sense of humor.

Everything they say is true, this place is very clean, safe and you're very well taken care of by Berry and Marcel. It's about a block away from the Red Light District so it's nice and quiet, but close enough for you to have a blast.

They also made excellent recommendations for dining and how to get around. I dined at Restaurant Lastage across the canal. Both Mauro and Lastage go together like Wine and Cheese, I recommend them both!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jvcmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Lovely welcome from the hosts Marcel and Berry who were very attentive throughout our stay. They helped us to orientate ourselves on arrival and gave us some tips on places to go for food which were excellent but which we wouldn't have discovered ourselves.
The overall relaxed atmosphere of the hotel was just right. The mini bar has snacks on arrival and you can then top up as required during your stay. Breakfast is self-serve and as the hotel describes is based on quality not quantity. I would concur. All of the items are of a very high standard, there is enough variety and we left each morning very satisfied.
We had room 34 which was on the top floor because his nibs wanted a bath. This room has a large jacuzzi bath which was very nice. I loved the quirky features of the room, the beams and ladder although what the ceiling height metal cage is about we forgot to establish!
Mauro is conveniently located just off the red light district, don't be put off by thinking it is too close, it's not. It's also handily close to the train station again without being too close.
Being right in town means that if you are visiting for a few days you can walk everywhere. We loved that we could pop back to the hotel easily by foot for a relax pre-evening.
Having worked in a number of hotels in my teens I do make for a picky hotel guest. Mauro was a delight to stay in for the reasons described above and the nice touches like the surprise breakfast item each morning: mini pancakes one day, omelettes, the next, and then fresh pineapple. Mauro really had the values of an independent hotel that we were seeking with lots of personal touches.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebogwoppit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Mauro Mansion is in a perfect location for exploring the old town of Amsterdam, it is in a quite street facing a canal; staff are kind, helpful and very attentive to details. The building and the interior have been recently renovated.so everything is brand new; the room we stayed in was spacious and with all comforts! Strongly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renda73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Colborne, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Great location, on quiet street, overlooking a canal. Nicely decorated theme rooms and Marcel and Berry are incredible hosts, very accommodating and helpful. Enjoyed the morning breakfast provided with fresh breads, cold cuts, cheese, yogurt and a special treat each morning. Bike rentals are directly across the canal. This is the best way of getting around town.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sho4mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

this beautiful old building is walking distance from centraal station, the red light district (without being too near the noise of either) and right on a canal. the owners were lovely and helpful, breakfasts were yummy, rooms full of character with funky/chic decor. Beds could have been comfier, but overall great value in Amsterdam and i plan to return
thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinetraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,555 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,001 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Property: Mauro Mansion
Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mauro Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing