We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely coming back if passing through Amsterdam again”
Review of Mauro Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mauro Mansion
Ranked #3 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I had the option of a 22hr connecting flight in Schipol or to go Amsterdam. It couldn't have been better. "Stuck" in Amsterdam in between two long-haul flights, this hotel made me feel comfortable and relax.

This hotel has an excellent location and a friendly high-quality concept. It is located within walking distance from Amsterdam central station - if you travel light, is perfect, feels you're moving "in your city". An the service is top-quality. Simple concepts and designs, but you have everything. Marcel and Barry, hotel managers, make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime_Miranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2011

Barry and Marcel were excellent hosts. They were very helpful with email correspondence before the trip. Mauro Mansion is located feet from the train station and located close to everything. Excellent home made breakfast each morning with local Dutch touches. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable with heated bathroom floors. Located directly on the canal it is very picturesque. Very well done.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabacorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The Mauro is in the middle of the old town and eventhough calm. The holders Berry & Marcel are always around if you need them and give informations about everything you would like to know. The breakfast is healthy, the quality is high and we go everything our heard disired. Every morning Berry or Marcel brought somethin special, like the small Dutch pankakes or vanillia yoghurt with fresh stawberries or breakfast cakes...hm lovely! The room was very nice and clean. If ever we come back to Amsterdam we will stay again in the Mauro Manison!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inesIns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The Hotel is in a perfect location, just one minute from the station/china town/red light district etc. but in a silent and safe road. From outside the Hotel appears like a private home (which it is for the owners) and also inside You feel home very quickly. There is a breakfast room with kitchen. Guests are free to serve themselves and just then honestly remember what they had and pay for it. Minibar is free. The shower was perfect, built in on the ground, not a tub and the room itself was very specially designed, modern but also with antique furniture as well as a 2nd floor with a metal cage (for decoration or what ever You like...).
TV+DVD player and a supply of DVDs in the kitchen. The perfect place to stay for a reasonable price and have the feeling You have Your own apatement in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pocky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I never write reviews but feel obligated to write this one since I had such an enjoyable stay at this hotel just a week ago. The location was fabulous. It was a short walk to the train station and DAM square and the Anne Frank house. It was only about 5-10 minutes from the Red light district too. My room was very modern and comfortable and I had a fabulous view from my window. Sitting in the old barber's chair, sipping wine, overlooking the canal, and watching the night fall was quite enjoyable. Many great restaurants are located close by. Barry was an excellent host. He gave me recommendations for restaurants as well as looking up train times for me so I could get to the airport. I especially enjoyed the free wi-fi in the hotel. The hosts make you feel very "at home" in their hotel. I would definitely stay here again and can't say enough about it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScubagirlDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Had a marvellous couple of days in Amsterdam, excellent recommendations and assistance from the hosts, who also helped us out over a huge mix up.
I guess we didn't have the best room, on the top floor looking out over a roof, however as we wasn't in it during many daylight hours it didn't matter. Our friends did have an excellent room on the ground floor tho'.
I'm not going to repeat what lots of other people have said, suffice to say, if you stay here you won't go wrong, it's all true what has been written.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
Thank 750nig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at Mauro Mansion on a brief trip in December. I booked it because of Tripadvisior reviews as as usual, I was not disappointed. I can't say enough about the place or the hosts who were fantastic. To preface, this is a B&B. The location is perfect, within easy walking distance to the train station. It is located on a small, quiet canal. Our room was great - comfortable and clean with a lovely canal view and table and chairs in front of the window to check your free wifi in the morning. It is in the hub of everything and within walking distance/canal boat to all the great attractions. Above all else, the breakfast was absolutely fantastic with big pieces of delicious fresh baked bread, yogurt, fresh baked goods and the coolest (and delicious) espresso machine I've seen to make instant single cups. Everything was fresh and delicious and all details in the hotel were obviously thought about, even from the simple jug for water for your room. I plan to make it a habit to visit this hotel when in Amsterdam. It is the closest thing to having my own canal apartment!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,491 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauro Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauro Mansion

Address: Geldersekade 16, 1012 BH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £92 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mauro is a relaxed, romantic and quirky 9-room hotel, situated in a classic 16th century canal house right in the middle of the historical centre. You will find yourself between 2 former medieval city gates, a unique spot to start exploring Amsterdam. Please be advised that we are not suitable for children andor any parties larger then 5 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mauro Mansion Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing