We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George W. P. A

George W. P. A
Ranked #2,197 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I strolled across this place and fell in love with the people sitting outside enjoying the sun on white chairs and we both were reminded of Paris. The staff was very friendly and seated us right away. We had a choice of water with gas or not. The menu had five choice of each salads, small dishes, pastas, eggs, baguettes and more for sandwiches and starters.

Spaghetti Carbonara is my favorite measure of the quality of food and it was OUTSTANDING!!!! The bacon bites were strong and hidden a treasure when combined with the Parmesan cheese and pasta. A perfect organism of heaven in your mouth and chased by a sip of Chenin Blanc was wonderful.

The Tarte Tin was a delicious candies apple that melted in your mouth.

I love this hidden gem.. Amazing!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tower09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    69
    56
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Terrible - Rude Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Avoid this place as if it was on fire. Most rude staff which serves the most poor quality food and highly priced. Not worth it. We were warned but still tried a bIG mistake.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good and friendly place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Good food (scallops), but so sophisticated. Service nice but slow. Nice terrace when the sun is shinning for lunch. A bit expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bab94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Holland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Except for a kind of rough start when we came in, George did not disappoint. The food is very good and we had a nice wine. The bottles of water are in the table and so not cooled. If you want to have chilled water, ask for it! I would record this place for sure for a nice dinner. Is always crowded to reserve your seat

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jollenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good by George”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

A bustling, open 7 days a week bistro with deli attached, popular with the
local literati and glitterati. It is out of the centre of town
The menu is extensive and the food fresh, well prepared and presented,
by the chef/owner and his small team.
The wine list is varied and reasonably priced.
Service is attentive without being overbearing
Overall this is well worth a visit

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahungrybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed George W. P. A also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to George W. P. A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing