We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Purna Indian Restaurant
Reserve with
Purna Indian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #740 of 3,814 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: telephone: 020-623-67-72
new york, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My experience with Indian food has been rather limited, but on vacation my friend and I stopped by Purna, as it was near our hotel. Wonderful, friendly service and absolutely delicious, tasty food. Have the cheese nan to start!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jlynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“India in "De 9 Straatjes"”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I ate in this restaurant last summer. The location is very special: the famous 9 streets of Amsterdam. I really love Indian food, the flavor and the essence.
I had an awesome curry , the bread is very tasty.
Unfortunately, the service wasn't so accurate anyway I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
293 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This establishment feels like home, thanks to the careful work of the staff. The palak paneer wasn't the best ever, but it was good enough considering the ambiance and other dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuViPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classy Indian food”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The food at Purna was some of the best Indian food I've had. Very generous portions, beautifully presented and fabulous authentic Indian tastes. Very small, intimate restaurant, though they did manage to seat all 7 of us together. Very good service and not badly priced.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank acekicker77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good and friendly Indian restaurant”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I found this restaurant by pure chance while staying in Amsterdam. The food is as close as it can be to what I've experienced in India. Pleasantly spicy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ndc1954usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purna Indian Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Purna Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing