We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buzzy vibe, cosy and great food on a wet winter's evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Fyra - CLOSED

Restaurant Fyra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Only main course to a 6 course tasting menu. With passion and spirit Restaurant Fyra was founded in 2009. A restaurant where hospitality is the keyword. Fyra stands for the 4 pillars of enjoying a night out: Food, Drinks, Relaxation and Each other. Since our start, our complete team have chosen an unique approach of hospitality in which the experience of our guests is our drive. With all the seasons providing us a great variety in products, we are proud to present our frequently changing menu. Based on our own love for a Burgundian life we make and serve our dishes with pleasure.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Buzzy vibe, cosy and great food on a wet winter's evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

What a cool place with a warm heart and delicious food. We came across this by chance online early on a Saturday evening with no reservations made. So a fairly late table at 9.15 but we certainly didn't feel like we were at the end of service. The atmosphere is good, mostly trendy Amsterdammers, handsome and personable waiters although interesting to see kitchen staff come out with the food too to introduce it in a clever way that connected the open kitchen even more with the guests. Now the food. Cooked really well and lots of nice touches like the amuse bouche of a melt in the mouth parmesan biscuit with a smoked fish topping. Perfectly cooked steak. Interesting and delicious fish from the north of Holland. All in all a real sense of provenance with our waiter talking genuinely and in depth about the source of everything on the table - fish, wine, meat, vegetables, cheese. Liked it alot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milly_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    51
    18
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Arrogance wil run this restaurant into the ground.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Last saturday we planned to have dinner in this restaurant. However, after the starters we did not bother to wait for mains, but left.
The reason why we left is part due to the food, but also because of the waiting staff. First the food, the starters we tried were ok when it comes to composition and cuisson, but way too salty. In fact so salty that they were inedible. I made a remark after the first starter and the waiter did not respond very polite. In fact his attitude was more like "we do it always like this, so what are you moaning about" The second starter with scallops and parmaham was of the same quality. the ham itself is already pretty salty, so don't put a lot of salt on the scallops. Again, I made a remar about it and this time the respons was even more arrogant. He said litterlay "This is how we do it and nobody complains, so what is the problem"

This waiter had proven already earlier in the evening that he had no polite and professional attitude towards the clientele. We asked a detail about the wine. He did not know, so he would check and let us know. We are still waiting.... Further he forgot our table twice when serving another brioche and we had to ask.

What is very annoying besides our experience is tha fact that the room acoustics are very poor. The place was only half full, but so noisy you can hardly talk.

It's a pity that this restaurant is so full of himself. The prices are high, but I am afraid arrogance will run this place into the ground. When it comes to the name the comparision to the train is accurate in a lot of ways.... overpriced and sloppy..

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bestfoodnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were referred to Fyra by our concierge staff at our hotel which was quite close. We got reservations Christmas Eve there. It was great! The ambiance of the restaurant is very romantic, the lighting is very cozy and warm, the staff is very friendly, attentive, and genuine. The food is WONDERFUL. When we were there we had vegetable terrine which was wonderful, then a house appetizer which was little macaroon sandwiches with a pickle/dill filling and a milky gravy of sorts served on a stone and a little field, it was great!! My husband ordered the venison which was great, and I ordered the steak which came with some mashed sweet potatoes (yams.) For dessert we had a chocolate mousse with a pumpkin icecream.. all home made. What a wonderful place, definitely make reservations, it's not to be missed when you're in Amsterdam!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
200 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fab find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had a 4 course menu. Everything is fresh and surprising. You can actually see the chefs working as there is an open kitchen. Nice French music, kinda Frechising cuisine and good selection of wine. We had a great evening and will be back. Only downside is that it gets noisy when the restaurant fill up so romance wise not recommended..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archimedesrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPH
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great tasting menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Booked a table the same day and was very pleased they had a table free. We had the tasting menu and a glass of white wine and a good bootle of red wine. It was a very good price.
We enjoyed all the courses which were of a high quality. Inluded were a few surprises from the kitchen.

I am coming back next I am in Amsterdam. Excellent value for money!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Fyra also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing