We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
Ranked #50 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

What a shame. After reading all of the good reviews on tripadvisor I expected more from this B&B. My husband and I spent three nights there in August and paid Euro110 per night. Perhaps what let it down was that Vicky wasn't there for the duration of our stay- and it seems from previous reviews she had a lot to do with the positive reviews.

When we arrived, we were shown to our room up some very steep, narrow stairs - fine for us, but if you have heavy luggage watch out. We were given the keys to the room and asked what time we wanted breakfast. However, we weren't shown the lounge or told that breakfast would be in our room - so it was a bit confusing in the morning as we called around trying to find out what to do.

Location: The bnb is located on a main street in Jordaan. Jordaan itself is lovely and has some fabulous restaurants and shops. I really loved the back alleyways and smaller canals. It's about a 20-25 min walk from the station. We got a cab there when we arrived and took the tram on the way back. Anne Franks house is literally a 5 min walk, as are a number of good restaurants.

Room: The room was ok. Clean and well presented. A double bed, wardrobe, table etc and small fridge - plus a kettle with tea/coffee making facilities. There's also a flat screen digital tv. The bathroom has a basin, toilet and shower (generally clean despite the black hair in the shower). The toilet is really high and my feet didn't touch the floor!! not bad, just quite amusing.

Breakfast: As previous reviews mentioned, breakfast was served in our bedroom. Each day there was something different - eggs and bacon or pancakes and croissants. The fruit and yogurt was good and the fresh orange juice was lovely.

Service: Friendly staff when I saw someone, however this is where the bnb let itself down. I've never stayed in a bnb where the rooms are never tidied or cleaned. During all 3 nights/4 days of our stay, our room and bathroom was not entered or cleaned once. One day the breakfast tray was sat there for the entire day until we gave the tray to the gentleman when we got home. If we had used the tea and coffee making facilities - it wouldn't have been cleaned. The tiny towels we were given were not changed. I thought this was really not good at all - specially as our hand towel was the one draped over the toilet when we arrived.

I wouldn't pay Euro330 for 3 nights like that so it was a let down.

Also, note: they don't take credit cards but there's a cash point downstairs

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stellarjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

Location, Location, Location! We stayed at Bayan with a group of 7 adults (3 couples and one single friend). Bayan has 3 ensuite rooms, each with double beds, one has a couch where our single friend stayed (we had all 3 rooms booked for the weekend). The rooms are recently updated with modern baths which is always much appreciated. I think the highlight of the bed and breakfast is its location on a convenient street in the Jordaan neighbourhood (very close to the Anne Frank house). Vary easy to get around town, we rented bikes from a place around the corner and cycled around the duration of the trip (we parked them on the street in front over night with no issue) but the tram line is also very close (which connects you to the central train station). Vicky and her family are lovely (she has 3 young sons) and the breakfasts were delicious. One morning she prepared Dutch style pancakes and the other we had eggs and sausage, both days with delicious fresh fruit/coffee/juice etc. She will ask you for your preference and cater to your needs though. The rates for her rooms are €120/night, or because we had 3 ppl in one she charged €150/night for that one. Hope you enjoy Amsterdam as much as we did!

Room Tip: The "Orange room" can accomidate 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NextTripStarts2row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights Fri-Mon. Vicky and her family are lovely and the room was spotless. Nice en-suite, TV, fridge, everything you could need. Good decor, light and airy and the best bit...You get a choice of breakfast downstairs or IN BED! Needless to say we chose the latter and Vicky brings it to your door for you to eat at the table in the rrom. The breaksfast itself was huge, no need for lunch for any of the time we were there.

The B&B is in a good location, just around the corner from Anne Frank's House and on a main tram route although we walked everywhere. You can come and go as you please, very laid back atmosphere, would come back and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zigazigah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

This was a lovely Bed and Breakfast. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. You can choose to eat breakfast in your room or at their kitchen table at a time you choose. The breakfasts were extremely yummy - good choices and well cooked - eggs, bacon, bread, yogurt, fruit, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethan143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank EffeBi1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elissss88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hdrees2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#110 of 372 in Amsterdam
346 reviews
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#37 of 237 in Amsterdam
142 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 338 in Amsterdam
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#82 of 338 in Amsterdam
53 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
261 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#40 of 338 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayan Bed n Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Address: Rozengracht 90, 1016 NG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £105 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Bayan Bed n Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing