We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique & homely in a great area of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
Ranked #53 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Bayan Guesthouse at the beginning of October. The Bayan is located on one of the main streets in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam. For me, the Jordaan is the best location to base yourself in while visiting the city. It's hip, trendy, safe and peaceful while still only being a 20 minute walk from the central station and a 10 minute walk to the more notorious and rowdy areas of the city. Having seen the hotels and craziness around areas such as Leidensplein, Rembrandtsplein etc... we were so happy to have selected the Jordaan as our base.

The rooms of the guesthouse are housed in a traditional tall, narrow building synonymous with the city. The experience and vibe of staying here can perhaps be more accurately described as if you were renting a room in the owner's home. Vicky and her family stay here and so there is no breakfast room or communal area. Instead a bountiful breakfast is brought to your room each morning by Vicky which you then eat in confines of your own room. In terms of the room itself, the level of accommodation was perfectly fine. Nothing to write home about but equally nothing to complain about and for the price point in what can be an expensive city, we were satisfied.

All in all, Amsterdam is a wonderful city to visit for a few days and we will be doing so again. when we do the he main reasons why we will happily return to the Bayan on our next visit is its location and the friendliness and helpful nature of its owner, Vicky.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in Bayan BnB.....all I can say is it is truly a "Home Away from Home"
The bed and breakfast is ran by a lovely Filipino couple (Vicky and Danny), The room that was given to us was at the top floor facing the street.
Didn't have any problem sleeping,...it was not noisy at all in that room considering that there are a few cars passing by the street. The room has a wonderful chic design,
some Filipino accents are placed there....if you happen to stay here in this room look for the authentic traditional Filipino weaved bag hung on the wall. :-)

The bathroom and toilet is immaculately clean. Towels are replaced everyday. There is also wifi access on all rooms.

The breakfast is fantastic, Vicky will make sure that you are full and ready for the long walks that you will be doing in Amsterdam.

By the way, Anne Frank's house is just a minute walk away from the BnB...Anne's house is always packed with people....queue to get in would reach up to the Cathedral....we were so lucky that the BnB was so close... that in the morning we were the first people to be in Anne's House. :-)

The BnB is a 12min walk from the Centraal Station....the area is also accesible by trams.

Vicky and Danny welcomed us as if we are part of their family...you will feel the genuine warmth and hospitality of a Filipino family.

I will definitely return to this BnB on my next trip to Amsterdam!

See you soon Vicky and Danny :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nat_minero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed 4 nites in this quaint B&B in central Amsterdam. Vicky runs a lovely place ... wonderful breakfasts served in the room, ... even a packed breakfast on our last morning & very clean. She carried our bags up the 3 sets of steps and down those steps when we checked out!
Nice location that was close to trams, nice walking areas, great restaurants and felt very safe!
Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P_G_JOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

For 110€/night I would not call this cheap in another city, but in Amsterdam it sure is a great value. The location is perfect, just five minutes walk from the West-Church (so 10-15 from Dam Square). The place has three rooms, all very pretty. The ones on the top floor are somewhat more "typical" and cozy, but the stairs to get there are reeeeeally steep. The room on the second floor is very nice as well, and easier to access, with a somewhat bigger bathroom.
Alright, as many other reviewers said, the biggest plus of this B&B is probably the breakfast. Every morning Vicky would lovely prepare you eggs, bacon, waffles or some other sweet, toast, fruit and yogurt, all generously served with Nespresso coffee.
If I am back in Amsterdam and still want to be in a B&B I would surely go back to Bayan!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahatma_tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from Vicky's guest house.I was with my partner for 2 nights.Beforehand Vicky sent me an accurate description of how to get there from the airport.The train from the airport then tram number from the airport.The tram is only 3 stops and to be honest a 10 minute walk which we did back today.The guesthouse is easy to find and Vicky was welcoming when we arrived .We were on the 3rd floor which yes is steep but si is all of the places in Amsterdam.The room was on the main steet but not noisey and spacious with authentic decor,comfy bed,couch,table and chairs and lovely bathroom.Vicky gave us a map of Amsterdam and Holland passes.It was raining and cold and Vicky offered me her warm jacket which believe me was well appreciated.Breakfast was amazing,bacon,eggs,juice,fruit,yogurt and cake!the location was fantastic with everything on your doorstop.The canal cruise a 2 minute walk,Anne Frank House on the corner and much more within minutes.The lovely Jordaan district just round the corner was a gem with quaint Dutch shops and cafes with trendy shops.Vicky was a great host,most accommodating and genuine.I would highly recommend this place and it is good value.My partner and I walked everywhere as it was so central but you can rent bikes a couple doors down.Thanks Vicky,you made a wet and cold week end much better.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammybianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Great BnB in the heart of Amsterdam, located 3 tram stops from Centraal station. Anne Frank House is a 5-min walk away. Our host Vicky was courteous and of great assistance with information/tips about Amsterdam's attractions. She and her husband helped carry our luggage up the narrow winding staircase. A tasty hot breakfast was served each morning downstairs in the dining room. Vicky also brought up a cold breakfast the night before our early morning departure. We stayed in the rooms on the topmost floor, both well furnished. One room had windows facing the back of the property; it was quiet and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was well equipped with towels and amenities. The other room faced the main road and was noisy, the bed was not as comfortable and wifi signal was slightly weaker. Other minor points of observation - There was no exhaust fan in this ensuite bathroom, whose toilet roll holder was broken & the doorknob was falling off. Cash-only payment meant we had to carry more cash on hand than desired. Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salsera270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We stayed with Vicky and her family for 6 nights and were extremely satisfied with everything about Banyan. Location is great, breakfast huge, varied and tasty, room large and clean and you would be hard pressed to find a more friendly relaxed host family. Certainly recommend it for your Amsterdam stay.

Room Tip: We were in the back room which was extremely quiet and looked out onto a well of gardens from neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsmithDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
XO Hotels Couture
#42 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,038 reviews
Hostelle
#36 of 253 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#68 of 376 in Amsterdam
4,049 reviews
Volkshotel
#39 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,512 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 376 in Amsterdam
5,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayan Bed n Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayan Bed n Breakfast

Address: Rozengracht 90, 1016 NG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bayan Bed n Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing