We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always make me feel home”
Review of Desa

Desa
Ranked #817 of 3,953 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$41
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: De Pijp
Description: Authentik Indonesian Food
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“Always make me feel home”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Everytime iam on duty to Amsterdam, i always come and visit desa rest to have my meals. Taste so good, the quantity just enaugh and most important the atmosphere feel like home, i recommend this rest for traveler to stop by, specially rendang, gado gado and soto. One more thing, the people who serve us are typical indonesian, very friendly, lots of smile and helpfull if i need an direction. Bravo Desa rest

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    47
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We had a great experience there! The restaurant is laid-back and not in the hub, but very easy to get to. Service is great, food is good and plenty, prices were reasonable. Very friendly people. It was my birthday and couldn't have had a better time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Rendang to cure homesick for Indonesian”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I & my husband was taken to the Restaurant by our tour group of all together 90+ paxes, and I can see most satisfied faces around as we have been away from our country for a few days then, and for most Indonesians, food are amongst the powerful thing to fill ones heart. The homesickness yeaning within me & my husband are somewhat softened by the Indonesian dishes served, first the shrimp crackers, the white opulent steaming rice in a big bowl for everyone to dig in, then come the chicken curry, rendang, sauteed long bean in spices. The rendang left deepest impression in me as I tried a small piece then take some more and more, I love it. Although most of it's dishes is a little bit sweeter and less spicey than what we always have back home, but I think it must have been adapted to local taste and favor. I wish to come again someday if I'm in Amsterdam. The restaurant itself is a long building and decorated warmly to welcome us. I enjoy this restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnitaJo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“just good food”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

really great food here have bean eating in holland for years
this is the first time here and was no disappointed the rustafill was to die for and the service was great there were a couple of dishes that we both loved the staff picked up on this and provided more at no extra charge great place to eat

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnm123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First time visit, good impression”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

In Amsterdam, you will come across not one, not two, buat more than 10 Indonesian restaurants. This is one of the few recommended by the Indonesians. We skipped risttafel and with the help from our Indonesian friend, ordered Indonesian salad "gado-gado", lamb curry "gulai kambing", and a bowl of spicy cow's stomach soup "soto babat".

The food was very good, we especially enjoyed the gado-gado. Service was excellent, maybe because my friend requested everything in their mother tounge. We even got some complimentary fruit cuts as dessert.

For 5 people, we spent € 98 (less than €20 per person). Noted that none of us ordered any alcoholic beverages, just fruit juices or water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fromcincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desa also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Desa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing