We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fine, but know what your getting before you book”
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #80 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ok. It's far outside town and will cost at least €16 to go by taxi. The shuttle bus is a good service during the afternoon and evening. The rooms are TINY!!! Ok for a couple, but the single beds are squashed against eachother with no space between them, Or space to separate them further. Breakfast is €15, and is of an ok standard. The hotel bar is very dated but have a great happy hour promotion. They stop serving drinks at 11 unfortunately. We had a mixed experience with staff, finding reception staff very helpful, however, a member of bar staff behaved disgracefully, making a public, cruel and obviously nasty statement about one of my party. It was for this reason I won't return there.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank annIe-Lou-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 692 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Francoise V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked this room through last minute.com, it was a mystery hotel at a great rate. We stayed here for 2 nights as my husband was running the marathon. On arrival the female receptionist was very grumpy and totally disinterested in us as guests. She did not crack a smile through all of check in, and it was obvious that she was more interested in the american flight crew that had just arrived behind us. The room itself was really nice, the bed was massive and the room had great facilities including a hairdryer and ironing board with iron, safe and fridge. On the next day I asked another female receptionist what the weather was going to be like, just incase I needed to take my coat. The look she gave me was one of disdain, it seemed I was inconveniencing her by even talking to her! We checked out early on the third day and a really friendly gentleman dealt with us, what a breath of fresh air he was! He was courteous and polite, even though it was only 6.30am! Don't stay here if you are not flight crew and you appreciate good manners!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank workingmum717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights in October. Very clean and comfortable room which contained the biggest bed I've ever seen. The bathroom was clean and modern with a powerful shower and endless hot water. Breakfast was a buffet, plenty of choice but a bit expensive at €15 although eating loads saved on lunch. Although the hotel is about four miles from the centre of Amsterdam the free shuttle bus service means that this isn't a problem. Overall I would recommend the NH Galaxy, a good place to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Brandersnatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. Very nice service and reception eager to assist. Airline crews stay here so feel safe. The rooms were nice and clean, beds comfy. Hot pot with tea and coffee. Nice toiletries. There is a place off lobby that makes sandwiches in the morning and they are very good and inexpensive. I went downstairs to order a pizza in the bar. The staff was very helpful and nice and pizza was very good. Overall it's a nice stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlyMom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just had four days at this hotel. At first everything seemed good. Then the ugly head of the American cabin crew appeared. This hotel is purely run for resting cabin crew before their return flights. Although I never witnessed a lot of resting taking place. We deliberately stayed away from the City hotels because of the partying hoardes, and ended up in the middle of it. The hotel runs a free shuttle bus on a pretty regular basis to Central Station and back and is an added bonus. However on 2 occasions while waiting for the return to the Hotel my wife and I were split up as the drunken cabin crew had to get back to try and get some sleep before their return flights. The reception staff at the hotel are very friendly if you have an American accent and wear a uniform.If not forget it and go to the back of the queue. The bar is ok but the price of drinks is high. They have a happy hour every day from around 5pm to 9pm where drinks are half price, if you can get to the bar and get the attention of the staff. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with all the amenities you would expect. The breakfast however is a complete joke and for 15 euros isn't worth it. You can catch the shuttle bus into the city and have 2 big breakfasts for less than that. Altogether it was an eyeopener as to what cabin crew get up too on downtime and will never have faith in airline staff again. We will not be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tomjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This has to be one of the all time worst hotels I have ever stayed in. Went with a girlfriend in June and had a great time everywhere except this hotel. Rude staff, shabby and in need of a good clean. Do yourself a favour don't stay here!

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here it's a waste of your hard earned money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maneesha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#229 of 373 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#245 of 373 in Amsterdam
642 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,960 reviews
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#79 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,293 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Address: Distelkade 21, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £70 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing