We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nh galaxy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #89 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nh galaxy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and the amenities in the rooms are great, fridge, coffee maker, and DVD players. Easy to get into town by the hotel van or walk to the ferry.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Jimean,

thank you for your review. As we value our guests' opinion, I am very glad you have enjoyed your stay in NH Galaxy. I am very glad you find our team friendly and helpfull and I will be sure to pass this on to the team.
I look forward to see you again in NH Galaxy

Kind regards,

Dagmar Daniëls-Gielens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    280
    92
    21
    21
See reviews for
65
315
16
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I would like to thank the staff for providing my husband and I a wonderful stay at the NH Galaxy Hotel in Amsterdam. The rooms are clean,the food in the restaurant is good and priced right! The staff was very accommodating providing us with information about fun things to do around the city! There is also a shuttle service that will take you into the city! it runs every 15 mins.....so,no need to rent a car to see the sights. Amsterdam has excellent public transportation so it is easy to see the sights either by tram,walking or biking! I would like to give a special thank you to the front desk staff. Maria was very helpful and friendly making sure our room was comfortable. The Food and Beverage Manager, Dagmar Gielens was helpful by explaining the culture and food to my husband who considers himself some what of a "Foodie" Overall I would highly recommend the NH Galaxy hotel for your Amsterdam stay!
Debbie Cowler

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEBBIEMN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Debbie,

thank you for your detailed and positive review. I am so glad you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam with your husband. It was a pleasure having you in the hotel together. I am sure the next time you both visit, we will be extending the "Food" experience in the Netherlands. I will be sure to pass on your appreciation to the front office team and in particular to Maria. Thank you again for your kind words, and let me know when we will see you again in NH Galaxy.

Kind regards,

Dagmar Daniëls-Gielens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel has a very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very clean and attractive. It's easy to get into town by hotel van or a short walk to the ferry. There are avariety of restaurants in the area besides the bar/restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Kimberly,

thank you so much for your review. As we value the opinion of our guests highly, I am very glad you have enjoyed your encounters with our staff. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff and will be giving the housekeeping staff the honours for the clean rooms.
I look forward to see you again in NH Galaxy.

Kind regards,

Dagmar Daniëls-Gielens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

It was my first time visiting Amsterdam and we checked into this brilliant hotel.. It was spot on everything you could possibly wish for. From amazing friendly staff who would literally do anything to ensure you had a pleasant stay, too wonderful accommodation, pleasant room, lovely food, and all at a reasonable price... Its a little distant from the city centre but that's not a worry with a fantastic free car journey to the town and also a free ferry if your coming back past midnight... I would highly recommend this lovely lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHGalaxy, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Adz91,

thank you so much for your "fantastic" review. We value the opinion of our guests highly and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our product as well as our staff. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff members.
We look forward to see you again in an NH Hotel and especially when visiting Amsterdam, hopefully in NH Galaxy.

Kind regards,

Dagmar Daniëls-Gielens
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I chose this hotel mainly for the free parking but the location turned out to be perfect for us.
It was easy to drive to from the airport and the shuttle bus was excellent for getting in to the city and ran well into the evening.
The room was great with all you might need. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
What more could you want for a few days in Amsterdam!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Eastern, the time when the first flood of tourists boom the city. We booked the hotel thru Ebookers. While arriving the hotel from airport we choose a taxi to get in quickly. Beware of the taxi's if you're on low budget. They're quite expensive to drive by.

The staff @ Galaxy was smiley and helpfull. We got answer to every question even the silly ones. The room was Superior but it actually is not that superior. Ordinary room with windows, quite firm bed. Thought we had a smoking room so maybe that did the difference.

Room service worked quite nicely thru our 4days visit. They forgot things while ordering but we got that cleared quite well. Just be exact what you want while ordering. And if you wonder how the rooms are cleaned; just take the "im sleeping" patch outta the doors handle and they clean it super fast. We rolled the roomservice trays allways outside the door and the garbage and stuff did vanish in no time. That makes if you want to "sleep" all vacation and not to be disturbed.

Everyone greeted us in every corner. The Cabin Crew people didn's bother us. The noices or the different arrival of planes crew never bothered us. The hotel is quite quiet.

Downstairs the bar is excellent and the food is superb! They got billiards too.

And i must admit you gotta love those green apples and the anti-oxidant theme. The greenpatch which they got few years ago didn't go in vain. Good job on health aspects!

Noord Amsterdam is really a good place to see. Just go in and wander those local pubs and market-places. Local people are good fellas. Theres a new pizzeria too real close to Galaxy and they sure offer you the best pizzas and service in whole Amsterdam. A must place to visit. And if you happen to get any hangoverish, drop in at the falal-kebab place also really close to Galaxy. They serve you good stuff.

The local noord Marketplace sells you stuff so cheap that when you plunder into main-Amsterdam with ridicilous prices you wonder how the tourists and the mainsquare pumps you out of your money.

Don't stay in middle of Amsterdam, go south.

The Galaxy Hotel shuttle is quick and nice to get along into the heart of Adam.

We loved the hotel, the staff and the people innit. We'll be back...

<3

Room Tip: Take superior, atleast if you want a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeAndKeeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHGalaxy, Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear MikeAndKeeky ,

Thank you for you extensive review and comments of the hotel. We will be sure to let our staff know about your experience.
We would love to see you again in NH Galaxy

Kind regards,

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#195 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Amsterdam
#212 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#233 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
#124 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Property: NH Amsterdam Noord
Address: Distelkade 21, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing