We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #72 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice location without being in the middle of the crowds of the city center. Be sure to go to the outdoor market beside the hotel for a freshly made fish sandwich. Fried in front of you.
Also the is a great Thai restaurant close to the hotel. Only 2 blocks away. Leave the hotel, make a sharp left, go down the street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for four nights in the middle of May. The hotel is north Amsterdam and is situated in a pleasant residential area. There is a free shuttle from the hotel to the city centre and the journey time is about 10 minutes. If there isn't a shuttle bus waiting the staff will order one to pick you up if necessary. The longest we had to wait for a shuttle to arrive was also about 10 minutes. If you don't want to wait for a shuttle bus you can walk to the free ferry which will also take you to the city centre. Unfortunately when were staying at the hotel there were road improvements in the local area so the walk from the hotel to the ferry was quite tricky so we only tried it once.

The hotel room was quite large and was divided into two parts. One contained the bed, TV, two bedside tables and a small over-bed table. The other had a desk, two chairs, a wardrobe, iron and ironing board and a small fridge. The room was exceptionally clean and bright. The decor was a bit strange though, a couple of walls were green and the rest were white as was the desk and the chairs. BBC 1 and 2 and CNN News were available on the TV but it was a bit annoying that when you were in the "desk part" of the room you could only listen to TV but not watch it.

The one big downside to the room was that the bed wasn't very comfortable, although it was more comfortable than the ones in a lot of hotels we've stayed in. The pillows were weird, they were only the size of cushions but were in regular sized pillow cases.

The bathroom was very small but did have a small bath with a shower over it. Though we would have preferred the bathroom to just have had a shower cubicle and then there could've been more floor space. The bathroom was almost entirely decorated in black which was also a bit odd but it had very bright lighting. It also had an excellent hairdryer which was better than my own at home. The bathroom was very clean except for a little "ledge" underneath the vanity unit. This was very hard to spot and this was presumably the reason why it hadn't been cleaned.

All the public areas of the hotel were very clean and very pleasant. We didn't have anything to eat or drink in the hotel except the coffee provided in the room and one drink each at the bar. This was because the food and alcoholic drinks provided by the hotel were VERY expensive. So we bought some milk, yogurts, fruit etc and had this for our breakfast and then ate the rest of our meals out. (We'd also brought some biscuits and tea bags with us.) The shops local to the hotel are very good and everyone speaks good English just like in the city centre. One word of warning though, on Sunday morning nearly all the local shops and cafes are closed as seemingly most people go to church.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We needed at taxi one day to take us to the Ziggo Dome for a concert and they got one for us very quickly. But earlier they'd tried to persuade us to use the shuttle and then take the Metro to save money but we decided to treat ourselves. (The taxi drivers to and from the Ziggo Dome were very polite and were dressed in suits.)

Despite the uncomfortable bed we'd almost certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in Galaxy for three nights. Galaxy has its own car park, which was completely empty. When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly and helpful reception and for extra €30 we were upgraded to the king size room. Our room really was great and massive, we loved the bathroom too however broken shower head and no pressure ruined a little the 'nice bathroom' experience. The king bed was absolutely enormous; I don't think we have ever slept in such a big bed, very comfy too. Although we had to ask for the room to be hovered and washed when we moved in (quite dirty floor) that didn't spoil our stay. Galaxy has its own shuttle bus which will take you to the central town and pick you up when you ready to go to bed (last shuttle around midnight). We thought that it was an excellent service; we didn't have to worry about the transport at all. We read in some reviews that the hotel is crowded by United Airlines crew, yes that was the case but we didn't hear them being loud or obnoxious. So we had a very pleasant stay. We didn't eat at the hotel we thought that €15 for breakfast (p/p) was a little too much and so we ate in town for less. We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shabtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is nice and staff is great. Shuttle to downtown is nice touch. Many restaurants near by. Food is available at the hotel and laundry service as well. Internet is pretty good. Hope this review is helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris64264 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The NH Galaxy is one of the most accommodating and pleasant hotels at which I stay. I travel extensively and stay at the Galaxy on my numerous trips to Amsterdam. It's location is particularly pleasing to me as it is a 10 minute shuttle ride to the city center or a 5 minute walk that takes you into the countryside, completely out of the city.

The hotel staff is exceptional. Professional, courteous, and friendly, they always strive to satisfy their guests requests and needs.

I recommend without hesitation the NH Galaxy for anyone visiting the lovely city if Amsterdam.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank JEFF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have stayed here many times on business and the staff at this hotel is ecxcellent. It is just a short walk to the ferry to downtown. Nice little cafe in the hotel for a quick snack. Think you will enjoy your visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here more 50+ Times over the last three years. The staff is always helpful and polite. They look out for me with advice on dining opportunities to sight seeing. The shuttle to downtown runs regularly and is fast. Laundry service is prompt and very good. During inclimate weather, or if you just want to stay close, the pub downstairs is great. The food is reasonably priced and good. The best thing though is the staff. Nadia, in particular, is the example of helpful and efficient. She is always right there to make sure all of my needs are met. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.
Gordon

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#224 of 375 in Amsterdam
456 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#246 of 375 in Amsterdam
648 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#168 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Movement Hotel
#277 of 375 in Amsterdam
5 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#34 of 375 in Amsterdam
3,365 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Address: Distelkade 21, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £69 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing