We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little location, great pizza!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria Fuoco Vivo

Pizzeria Fuoco Vivo
Ranked #196 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are located in Amsterdam Oud-West on a short distance walking from Ana Frank House,at the eind of the Rozengracht Between Nassaukade and Bilderdijkstraat.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little location, great pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My partner and I went here on our last night in Amsterdam. We were tired of trailing around the city looking for dinner, and was recommended this restaurant from a blog.
It was very close to where we were staying on Da Costastraat.

On entering we were offered to choose where we sat. The place was quite quiet though not dead. We noted that many of the other customers were Dutch, rather than tourists.

The menu was not huge, but had plently of different dishes (pizzas, pastas) to suit most needs. I ordered a margherita and my partner the Peppino. They also have daily specials available.

Both pizzas arrived promptly and, I can say with no hesitation, that it was one of the best pizzas I have ever had! The base and crust was delicious (sour-dough I believe). The tomato sauce was delicious and flavorsome, and the mozarella stringy, tasty and authentic. We both cleared our plates.

The restaurant is both modern, yet traditional. The wood-burning oven is visible and really adds to the feel of the place. The staff were very friendly and attentive.

I would recommend going a bit out of your way to visit here for great, Italian pizza cooked by Italians!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank christopherstevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    126
    24
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaurant, it's slightly out the city centre and when we went it seemed to be mostly locals dining there. It doesn't look like much from the outside but inside is lovely and you can see the wood burning oven where they cook the pizzas. The staff are very friendly and there is a great menu on offer. Our pizzas were amazing, so fresh and the tomato sauce is delicious with lovely toppings. It was reasonably priced as well, and I would definitely go again. Can't recommend enough, definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msmart90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, South Wales
Level Contributor
110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We've eaten at many Italian restaurants over the years, but were rather disappointed with our experience here; our Margarita pizzas had a lovely crust but were soggy in the middle and tasted bland. The service at the restaurant was fine, but I'm afraid we wouldn't venture here again on a future visit to Amsterdam.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True italian pizza! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I've been several time at pizzeria fuoco vivo and the pizza is really good! I feel like in my home country, all staff is Italian and also all the products used for The pizza. They have also a very good homemade tiramisu. The Only thing that I didn't like: their knives cannot cut properly the pizza!! Except this, I think it's one of the best pizza in ams.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ylenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Our monthly treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We are an italian family living in the Netherlands and this is the best place to have an italian pizza. They use their own produce like their mozzarella di bufala which is excellent and gives the pizza it's authenticity. Would definitely book on a weekend as it can get really busy.

Helpful?
Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria Fuoco Vivo also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pizzeria Fuoco Vivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing