We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Ranked #82 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
“Excellent hotel with great location”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

From the beginning of the stay I was warmly welcomed and personnel was very friendly and polite. Whole hotel and room was very tidy. Beds were comfortable and rooms very quiet. As a runner the location next to Vondelpark was perfect to me. It was easy to start your day with a morning run in the park and after that had a delicious and organic breakfast.
Tram goes right next to the hotel which is totally bonus. I can warmly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebba_Sve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    551
    161
    52
    22
See reviews for
106
640
70
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

disrespectful...impolite...lie in bed photos...small room...cold room...despots...I mixed it my room without permission...not appear in the picture at the hotel, the building back on the street is that you need ...Do not go Do not..... very very bad

Room Tip: rooms are bad...small...cold..dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conscious_Hotels, Owner at Conscious Hotel Vondelpark, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Sometimes when you’re browsing Tripadvisor you think to yourself “these hotel reviews are so good they must have been written by the management”. Well, nobody would suspect that of your review.

We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay. It’s tough to read your review. But it’s your passionate opinion and we respect that. And it proves, if nothing else, that the reviews here are all genuine and from guests who believe in sharing their opinions, good or bad. Thank you.

Kind regards,

Marco Lemmers
Director of Conscious Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This being my first time in Amsterdam,I decided to try out a different type of hotel from the ones I usually stay in.Most of the hotels I stay in are four or five stars,with tons of amenities.So this time around I wanted to expand my travel horizons.Which lead me to staying at the Conscious Hotel Amsterdam.It is located in the Vondelpark section of Amsterdam.

The Vondelpark is a public urban park of 47 hectares (120 acres) in Amsterdam, Netherlands. It is located in the stadsdeel Amsterdam Oud-Zuid, west from the Leidseplein and the Museumplein.

Centrally located and a 15 minute tram ride from the center of town.The tram is located directly in front of the hotel.So its a quick 1 tram ride from Amsterdam's Centraal Station.

Upon entering the hotel lobby after getting off a train from Antwerp at Centraal Station.I was little bit tired,sweaty,and hungry.I arrived at around 12 in the afternoon.Approaching the desk I was met by a very warm smile.Welcoming me to Amsterdam and the hotel,telling him my name we were told our room wasn't ready.Which was fine I went out and explored Amsterdam.

Coming back a couple of hours later the room was available .The room was typical to european standards..smaallll.but that is to be expected.This being a eco hotel that means no control of the air condition.I t was sent from the lobby.No refrigerator in the room so no midnight snacks.I don't ever use the snacks provided .I often use it to store things I have purchased during the day from the local supermarket(wine,cheese,fruit).This was a slight inconvenience,actually more than a slight inconvenience.Also after a long day of touring a little ice would be nice with my drink.For you to get ice you had to go to the lobby to get it.After asking they only gave you a cup of ice for two people.They also asked why you needed the ice.Why i needed the ice?Are you serious?

The shower was also not that great,I don't know if it had to do with conservation or poor plumbing.The room was decorated nicely in a plant theme,most of the rooms in the hotel ,as well as the lobby have a eco plant theme going on.The bathrooms was clean and efficient and unusually big.I almost wish they had taken a little less room for the bathroom and added a little of that space for the actual room itself.

So if you have a chance to visit one of my favorite cities in the world.You can take a chance on The Conscious Hotel.Some might love it while others might hate it.I personally depending on the time of day felt both.For the price and location you can't beat it,so this might tip the scales for some.Either way travel,explore,and as always be safe.
I have some pictures from my stay here:
http://atravelbugg.com/2012/01/13/the-conscious-hotel-vondelpark-amsterdam/

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fforbes212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Traveled to Amsterdam with the family (2 young kids). wanted a nice hotel not to expensive that is not smack in the center of town.
I could not be happier to stay at the Conscious Hotel Vondelpark! 10 minutes from the center, nice clean rooms, decent breakfast and best of all GREAT STAFF!!! helped with anything I needed or requested.

I'm planning my trip to AMS again and hope to be able to get rooms at the this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the back of the hotel, rooms are a bit bigger and less crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My husband and I travelled to Amsterdam with our friends for 4 nights in November 2011. Stayed at this fab hotel located ideally about a 15 minute walk to Dam Square

On arrival the hotel staff were very helpful and the dancing bar man was amazing haha! Rooms were exceptionally clean and very quirky.

Trams stop right outside the door of the hotel so perfect for getting in and out of the centre. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Good location, No.1 Tram stops right in from of hotel and takes you into the city centre. I requested a twin room but was given a double room.
In the corridor outside our room was a dirty glass and spoon which was there for more than 24 hours. We had such a lovely time discovering Amsterdam that we only realised the next morning that the linen was quite badly stained.
Staff were absolutely lovely, friendly and very helpful. Good location but very basic.
Maybe just me, but I've never stayed in a hotel without coffee and tea facilities, even the youth hostels I've stayed in had coffee and tea facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alichia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed in this Hotel for one night and found this to be conveniently located in middle of restaurants. Very well maintained rooms that are clean, eco-friendly and reasonable sized.

Also, staff is very very friendly and helps you to best they can.

Hotel has a paid parking and some very good restaurants around. Hotel breakfast is ordinary.

While all was good, one needs to keep in mind that pathways inside Hotel resemble a zig saw puzzle with you having open at least 5 doors and take 2 elevators (in your room is in Tower B)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank punitworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 367 in Amsterdam
940 reviews
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#91 of 367 in Amsterdam
121 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#107 of 367 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#128 of 367 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,296 reviews
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#135 of 367 in Amsterdam
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Property: Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Address: Overtoom 519 /521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing