We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Damp, mucky room - location is only OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Ranked #89 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Damp, mucky room - location is only OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Booked a room for three nights over New Years, and upon arrival was initially impressed with the lobby area. Very modern, funky and bright. But that's where the positive experience stopped for myself.
After stumbling through the dark unwelcoming corridiors, more suited to a cheap nightclub and in bizarre contrast to the cheerful lobby area, I found my room tucked away in a corner. Upon opening the door I was greeted by a terrible, musty smell. The room completely stank and like other reviewers have noted, all the walls were covered in black marks. This felt more like a youth hostel!
I explained at the desk what was wrong and a man was dispatched with a spray of some kind. We went to check the room together and after talking to him he said the Hotel building was old and became damp quickly and that this smell happened in other rooms. We left all the windows open but after a few hours, I came back to the same damp smell.
I was given another room which was comparatively fragrant compared to the other. This room also had the dirty walls, a nice big stain on the bedding and a great big hole in the middle of one of the towels!
At the positive end the rooms are quite bright, and the location is okay. Having a tram stop outside is very convenient, but having to get two 20 min tram journeys every day became tiresome. (And especially on New Years Eve when transport stops at 8pm, so you have a LONG walk to get to anywhere!)

A basic hotel in the end which promises much but delivers very little other hotels in the same price range can do much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aps1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    529
    154
    51
    22
See reviews for
95
613
68
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

Our stay was wonderful; the room was clean and had nice amenities; and the staff at the front desk were fantastic and very helpful. The location was very convenient with the tram stop nearby. There is also a number of places to eat in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We arrived in Amsterdam at 11am, it was a little cold but looked fantastically lively as always.

Taking the number 1 tram from Centrum - going roughly 4 stops past beautifully festive Liedseplein - we arrived directly outside the hotel at 11.30am.

Walking into the hotel it looked both stylish and comfortable. The rooms were clean and the beds were fantastic.
We booked a premium room for 2 nights and paid 130 Euros after city tax.
We were given room 611 which was on the top floor, had a balcony and a beautiful view. From the moment we arrived the staff were immense, from checking us in early to letting us leave the babies pram downstairs - as the lift only went to the 5th floor - for much easier access.

The reception/lobby was chilled and friendly, the location was on a nice road with many places to eat and just a short 15 minute walk to Leidseplein or 5 minute walk to the beautiful Vondel Park.

The rooms - must also say looked deceptively bigger on the advertised photos - definitely lacked a kettle - we took our own - maybe a mini-fridge and probably a shower curtain. Although the latter didn't bother me.
I also think the breakfast price is a little expensive @ 13Euro.

A good hotel, great staff and nice location for a reasonable price.

Thanks for the stay

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaylaU12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

nice hotel, very clean, but staff was kinda busy and not really friendly.
also, we dont like it that the staff knock on the room door at around 9:30 in the morning to remind us about checking out. we know it! it's unnecessary. overall, nice stay, very comfie bed :)
the best thing: just in front of tram 1 stop!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimodcimod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

I booked because I like to support "green" business. Was so pleased that Route 1 Tram stop - Overtoomsesluis - is right outside the front door and is convenient to get to Centraal Station and to the train for Schiphol. Room was great. Clean, great bed and nice clean modern bathroom. Lobby nice for hanging out, free wi-fi everywhere. Nice casual restaurants nearby. Close to Vondelpark.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travl4funandbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed here for just one night, and for a short stay this hotel is perfect. The tram ( route 1) stops just outside the front door. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Rooms are modern and clean. Perfect shower! The beds were a bit to soft, but ok for just one night. Rooms are very quiet. The only thing we missed were the coffee and tea facility in the room......Overall a perfect stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwouters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights for a long weekend. The hotel and room were very clean and decorated in a very hip way but managing to keep a warmth. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke great English. The bathroom was great, not too small with a lovely shower and the bed very comfortable. My only complaint was that the room wasn't very warm and the bedding not sufficient to keep us warm at night, despite a blanket being provided.
The location was in a nice area with plenty of coffee shops (of both varieties!) bars, shops and the vondelpark nearby. It didn't take long to walk to the centre of Amsterdam but there's also a tram that stops outside the hotel, leaving frequently. That takes about 20 mins to get to the central train station.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, but if you are travelling in winter, make sure you ask for extra blankets, or bring thermal pyjamas!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Deborah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#77 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Vondelpark
The Tire Station
The Tire Station
#166 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#118 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#107 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conscious Hotel Vondelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conscious Hotel Vondelpark

Property: Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Address: Overtoom 519 /521, 1054 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Conscious Hotel Vondelpark 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Conscious Hotel Vondelpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing