We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Amsterdam”
Review of b&nb Herengracht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
b&nb Herengracht
Ranked #59 of 335 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in Amsterdam”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The place is located on the beautiful canal on the basement floor. Therefore you will have this feeling of "living in underground". It wasn't a problem at all, but you should take it into account if wide sunny windows and the view on the canal - is what you are looking for. Not in this place. At the same time the b&b itself consisting form the only room is very cozy, with heated floors, iPod doc station, good sound system, beautiful old wooden celling, large and well equiped bathroom. The bottle of wine as well as drinks in minibar (water, beer, and even some snacks) were waiting at this b&b for free which is very nice. You will find a collection of books (mostly on design and architecture) as well as DVDs in the room. You don't need to use any public transport while staying there: 15 minutes walk from the main railway station and in a walking distance from most of main attractions. You can leave your luggage right upstairs in the office of friendly architect. Ask b&b management for details or find information yourself in info pack in the room. What I personally liked very much at this place is a corellation between price and value. Will come back again if travel to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonRomeGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Reception at b&nb Herengracht, responded to this review, 19 May 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us!
We are proud to learn that you really enjoyed your stay in our b&nb and that you had lovely days in Amsterdam. And that you were satisfied about the location and our comfort.

We would love to welcome you back in Amsterdam and especially in our b&nb!

Best regards,
Mihai- Team Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
42
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed in Amsterdam as a stopover on our way to Italy and we wanted a central location so we could see as much as possible during our short stay! When we arrived we couldnt believe how fantastic the room was. The bed was huge and really comfy...massive television and cool surround sound speakers. Fancy coffee machine with a selection of coffees and a really beautiful massive bathroom. The complimentary wine and water was a nice touch and the information that was left was perfect for us having never been to Amsterdam before. We wished we could have stayed longer and we will definately be returning! It was easy to get to from the airport...train from airport to Amsterdam central, then we got a tram to Dam square and then it was just a short walk

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwinkleT0es9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Reception at b&nb Herengracht, responded to this review, 19 May 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us!
We are proud to learn that you really enjoyed your stay in our b&nb and that you had lovely days in Amsterdam. And that you were satisfied about the location and our comfort.

We would love to welcome you back in Amsterdam and especially in our b&nb!

Best regards,
Mihai- Team Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

This is the ultimate way to see Amsterdam! Location is Amazing!!! Just like living the local!
The room is large enough for 2, and we would have no hesitation to book here again!

Thanks Vondel, you really made our trip to Amsterdam a most memorable and pleasant experience!

Darren ;)

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stylzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Reception at b&nb Herengracht, responded to this review, 19 May 2017
Dear Stylzter,

Thank you for staying with us!
We are proud to learn that you really enjoyed your stay in our b&nb and that you had lovely days in Amsterdam. And that you were satisfied about the location and our comfort.

We would love to welcome you back in Amsterdam and especially in our b&nb!

Best regards,
Mihai- Team Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Myself and my friend booked B&nb for a girly trip to the city. We were tired from travelling and arrived quite late and we were so happy to get to the room to find it was warm firstly in the minus temperatures, the heated flooring was the high point.

Everything was perfect from the size, bed and extras. The room has nice touches of toiletries, robes a bottle of wine and water. The tea and nespresso machine are also a great addition.

We found the location excellent. Everything in good walking distance. We would have ventured further to recommended restaurants however the weather did restrict us on occasion.

We had a small issue with the door code but it was quickly resolved and could not complain as the owner was most helpful and apologetic.

Amsterdam is a fantastic city and wonderful to see in the snow! Would recommend B&nb Herengracht, Amsterdam so highly and may even come back in summer to see the city in another light

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dob21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Reception at b&nb Herengracht, responded to this review, 19 May 2017
Dear Dob,

Thank you for staying with us!
We are proud to learn that you really enjoyed your stay in our b&nb and that you had lovely days in Amsterdam. And that you were satisfied about the location and our comfort.

We would love to welcome you back in Amsterdam and especially in our b&nb!

Best regards,
Mihai- Team Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights an the location was fantastic. It is in a great area with nice restaurants, cafes, shops and is literally on a quiet canal street. Check in is too late at 3pm and our door code did not work. We had to knock on the door of the shop above for assistance. Wifi password given was incorrect and we had to call the hotel for the correct one. The room was very clean and bigger than it looks in the photos. Huge bathroom with great shower. Very large bed and excelled features such as big television. All in all a good stay in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeenTraveller245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Reception at b&nb Herengracht, responded to this review, 19 May 2017
Dear Keen,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with fellow travelers. It is great to see that you enjoyed your stay in the b&nb Herengracht and that you liked the style, service and comfort. The location is indeed a great starting point to explore Amsterdam and all the lovely sightseeing which the city has to offer.I'm sorry for the inconvenience you had experienced, next time when you decide to visit us again, just let us know in advance and we will do our best to answer to your requests.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope welcome you back during a next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Mihai - Team Hotel de Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

The location is absolutely fantastic. If you don't know what you're looking for, you'll walk right past it. It is very modern, everything was clean and the facilities were excellent.
A complementary bottle of wine waited for us.
The bed was VERY comfortable.
Only negative is the late checkin time of 3pm. I got into Amsterdam at 9.25am and dropped my bags off at the shop above the room. However, I had to wait until exactly 3pm before my code worked to open the door... I would have paid gladly for an early checkin...
Oh, and don't worry about the picture on Google Streetview - that was obviously taken last year when they were renovating the property! I assure you, it's there and fantastic to boot.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Reception at b&nb Herengracht, responded to this review, 19 May 2017
Dear Darcust,

Thank you for staying with us!
We are proud to learn that you really enjoyed your stay in our b&nb and that you had lovely days in Amsterdam. And that you were satisfied about the location and our comfort.

We would love to welcome you back in Amsterdam and especially in our b&nb!

Best regards,
Mihai- Team Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

My partner and I recently visited Amsterdam and stayed at the b&nb based on the three reviews on Tripadbisor. I'm not sure why others have not reviewed it, but it was bar none the best part of our visit to the city.

Situated in the ground floor of a canal house, this place offers an excellent opportunity to live as a resident, not a visitor.

The design is cutting edge and the amenities, including your own nespresso machine, are over the top. Although it is only one room, have no reservations about staying here, it is owned and operated by a lovcal hotel chain that cleans it daily.

If ever I return to Amsterdam, this will be the place I stay again and again and again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShopKeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Reception at b&nb Herengracht, responded to this review, 19 May 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us!
We are proud to learn that you really enjoyed your stay in our b&nb and that you had lovely days in Amsterdam. And that you were satisfied about the location and our comfort.

We would love to welcome you back in Amsterdam and especially in our b&nb!

Best regards,
Mihai- Team Hotel De Hallen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#149 of 367 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,101 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#174 of 367 in Amsterdam
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#111 of 367 in Amsterdam
3,947 reviews
Apartments De Hallen
#67 of 229 in Amsterdam
14 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Empiric
Empiric
#213 of 335 in Amsterdam
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to b&nb Herengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about b&nb Herengracht

Property: b&nb Herengracht
Address: Herengracht 176, 1016 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 335 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — b&nb Herengracht 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The b&nb Herengracht is located along the canals in the heart of Amsterdam in a completely renovated 16th-century mansion. The b&nb is decorated with modern design and furniture. Characteristics of the luxurious room are the use of high quality materials. Unique is the 5m long custom-made art work of Barbara Broekman. B&nb Herengracht offers you the opportunity to experience Amsterdam as a true resident along the canals! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your b&nb Herengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing