We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a B&B...is an efficiency apartment”
Review of Bees B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bees B&B
Ranked #9 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Although we would agree the location of the apartment was good and Hans and Bridgette were accommodating, this was not a bed and breakfast. Yes, we received breakfast on a tray every morning but it was ALWAYS exactly the same and after a couple of days our cheese was dried out. Room was never straightened or cleaned. We did ask for clean towels once and got them, but didn't feel as if that should've been up to us. Perhaps if we also had only stayed a few nights everything would've been fine, but we were there 5 nights and it was just too long.

Room Tip: If you want a B&B, find a different location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Deb081948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigitte L, Owner at Bees B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We were rather surprised to see your comments on TripAdvisor. In general, guests choose a B&B in order to ensure more privacy during their stay. Therefore, unlike hotel services, bedrooms are not straightened or cleaned daily, unless especially requested. A daily change of linen and towels is also particular to hotel services. For stays longer than three days, we do offer clean towels. When guests make specific requests, we always do our utmost to oblige.

In our initial e-mail contact, we detail the extensive breakfast assortment. Guests also have the opportunity to order extras for a special breakfast for a minimal charge. Extra items are available in the refrigerator which we are happy to replenish upon request.

B&B owners are usually very happy to provide extra ‘concierge’ services. In this instance, we have researched alternative accommodation for your friends, planned and printed your train routes and timetables, personal e-mails and boarding passes.

We hope that you enjoyed visiting the many wonderful sights in Amsterdam and that on future visits you will be able to select accommodation more appropriate to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent 3 lovely days in May at Bees B&B. Loved the small apartment and all of the amenities. Every morning waking up to fresh fruit, rolls and perfectly boiled eggs was a wonderful way to start the day. Rented bikes (City Bikes) to get around and found the location to be superb. Good pizza next door and appreciated all the recommendations from the owners.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGibson723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent a few days in this lovely apartment. Very central and very helpful. The only place to stay for a short break, or longer. Recommend to all that can manage a few stairs. Simple healthy breakfasts provided whenever you wish them.short walking distance to Dam Square and Central station. Great pubs and café's in the area. It would be the place to stay if I revisit.

Room Tip: Whole Apartment with self catering facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougnMaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This is a gem of a place.
We've just stayed 3 nights there and everything about it was excellent.
The room is spotlessly clean. You have a fridge stocked with ham, cheese, yogurts, juice and beer. On top of that there are various breakfast cereals and Hans also provides a lovely and filling breakfast, at a time of your choosing.
Highly recommended. It's on a quiet canal steet but bars and restaurants are easily accessible.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dannymc21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We enjoyed our two-day stay at Bees B&B very much. Our room was spacious, well-appointed, very clean, and wonderfully quiet. The fridge was stocked with more goodies than we could drink or consume, and bountiful hot bread baskets and fresh-squeezed orange juice supplemented the ham, well-cured cheese, yoghurt, and other fridge items for our delicious Dutch breakfasts. The proprietors, Brigitte and Hans, also furnished us with guidebooks, maps, and, most unusually, discount cards for Amsterdam museums attractions. We have stayed in over 100 B&Bs, and we would unqualifiedly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E.Bachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here in April for 2 nights. It was just a wonderful little refuge, centrally located to all attractions, clean, comfortable, accommodating hospitable hosts, great quality and large amounts of food for breakfast, comfie bed, well stocked cupboards and even had an aspirin in the closet for a headache ! All the comforts of home away from home! Great little apartment type unit and since it is on the back of the building, was very quiet, even with the window open. Right along a canal street. Would highly recommend it and would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at Bees B&B for 5 nights. The studio apartment in an old canal house was really lovely and the location was perfect. Situated in the Jordaan, a lovely area of Amsterdam and only a 10 min walk to Dam Square. Hans the owner made the holiday for us. A very warm welcome and lots of helpful advice including a map, discount cards etc. He prepared us a beautiful breakfast every morning and had stocked our fridge with high quality meats, cheese, yoghurts, juices etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,633 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,224 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,455 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,129 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#26 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bees B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bees B&B

Address: B Leliegracht 30 | 1015 DG, 1015 DG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: £123 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bees B&B is located in a canal house from 1700 in the heart of Amsterdam, on the edge of the popular Jordaan area, on one of the most romantic canals of Amsterdam: Leliegracht. Dam Square, Anne Frank House and the 'Nine Streets' shopping area are at your doorstep. Central Station, the Red Light district and all major tourist attractions are within easy walking (or cycling) distance or just a short trip by public transport away! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing