We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay (with work this time)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second stay (with work this time)”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

just as good, I love the lush bathroom and oh so comfy beds.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for posting your feedback about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are honoured to read that you enjoyed your bathroom and the Sofitel My|Bed so much during your business trip to Amsterdam. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,889
    404
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
394
1,238
100
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a truly great hotel. The decor is really cool, the beds are superbly comfortable, the bathrooms excellent, the food is wonderful. But what makes a great hotel is the staff. I've stayed here twice this year. The first time I was really busy with work and was working at the business centre even after I'd checked out. One of the staff noticed that I'd been beavering away at my laptop for quite a long and asked whether she could bring me a drink. She then brought me a beautiful pot of tea (and I do mean the teapot was very beautiful, but it was also a very touching gesture). When I returned more recently, the person checking me in mentioned that on the previous visit I'd had a problem with room service (it was simply that because I was working I wanted to have dinner in my room and there did not seem to be a room service menu in the room, when I rang room service, one was delivered to my room very promptly) and that problem had been addressed and there were now room service menus in the room. That is really impressive service and excellent follow up by the staff. As much as I love Amsterdam, I will return simply to stay at the Grand.

Room Tip: The junior suite I had was wonderful, with a walk through shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2011

very nice hotel near the canals of amsterdam. nice historic building. great servise and great rooms with comforteble beds . good breakfast

Room Tip: ask for a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Booked room type (deluxe king) not available "due to construction" but only found out when we got to the room. Large cobweb in the room and stained grouting in shower area. Room service order delivered incorrectly. 7am alarm call received, waking us up, which we'd not requested!

The hotel is in a very good location but so are many less expensive ones!

Sofitel are off my list - this is meant to be one of their best and it's really not that good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beefeater34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your constructive feedback. We regret to learn that we did not meet your expectations. Allow us to elaborate on a maintenance incident that instantly needed reparation, hence that section of the corridor was unavailable for the comfort of our guests. We are delighted that we were able to reinstate your confidence in Sofitel and The Grand in person and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Lets start with what I liked:

-very nice decor and atmosphere.
-very nice breakfast
-very good concierge service
-on average nice and friendly staff
-rent of bikes and motorcycles on site
-the cosy atmosphere of the pool
-the fact that the managerial staff came twice gently to apologize about the bed issue


What I disliked:
-size of the double beds in superior rooms, 1.40M is a SCANDAL for a 5 stars hotel!!!
-when mentioning the bed problem to the check-in counter the fact they lied to me and claimed there were no bigger beds in that category.... funny to see later the room of a friend with a normal king size bed!
-not enough machines in the gym
-I had to wait 10min in the breakfast room before somebody finally took care of us, took another 5 minutes for our table to be cleaned and setup.
-the fact that the Sofitel site, who claimed they have the lowest rate and/or to adapt, even grant a reduction of 10% if a lower rate is found with same conditions, refused to do so, although I've send them all the proofs/documents!?


Would I go back there!? I believe I would, should I manage to get a good deal, as I really liked the decor, and the atmosphere but not without the assurance they give me a room with a normal bed!

Room Tip: Request a room with a kingsize bed if you do not want to have a tiny little queen size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilesandMore123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for your constructive feedback.
We deeply appreciate your positive comments, but also take very seriously the entire experience you have described. We are pleased that we were able to discuss your stay in person. And most of all, we are delighted that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to restore your confidence. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 2 October 2011

New Hotel in Amsterdam. Average for 5 star. Building is excellent , but the light fittings are coming adift in the bathrooms. Accor Platnimum but they didn't register this despite being told 3 times until after I left. Casual rather than arrogant but not what you would expect. Not very proactive. the Asian equivalent would be where they should learn from. medium sized room €100 too much given the weaknesses..No excuse for them given the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
Dear valued guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your constructive feedback. We deeply regret that we did not live up to our five star promises, certainly because of your loyalty to the Accor Group. Please do not hesitate to contact us by email or telephone at your convenience, so we can allocate your A|Club points. We appreciate it that you shared your concerns with us, and it is our genuine hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This hotel exceeds the beauty of the canals of Amsterdam and its own historical building with its superb staff.

We have traveled extensively throughout the world staying in many 5 star hotels, and have had the "butler" experience before: the guy who shows up in tails to shake your hand who you rarely see again. This hotel's butler service is honestly a butler service. We had as our butlers Bart and Luis. They were extremely helpful in terms of sharing their knowledge of the city, making reservations, assuring that your room was to your satistaction, noting your individual likes and dislikes, even down to personally delivering your room service order, inquiring if your would like them to pack or unpack your bags, etc. Bottom line, their service was so exquisite, you hated to leave the hotel.

The hotel itself is beautifully appointed and very conveniently located. They are right on one of the canals. Walk in one direction and you have great pubs or cafes as they called them. Walk in the other and you get a first hand look at the red light district.

Their breakfast is not to be missed and do not leave without eating their waffles. These are not your normal fabulous waffle. These are small pieces of indescribable heaven on your plate.

We were on day one of our stay and already planning when we could return. You will feel at home and welcome in the beauty that is the Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Dear Guest, First of all, may we thank you for sharing your views with us. At Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam your feedback is of utmost importance to us. We are honored to read that you enjoyed the service of our staff and especially of our butlers. We are also delighted to learn that you enjoyed our waffles and that you found the location of the hotel to be so convenient. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing