We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel - a calm oasis in the middle of the madness of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel - a calm oasis in the middle of the madness of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here for a night on a quick weekend away in Amsterdam. Arriving very early, we were offered an upgrade to a junior suite for a further E150, which after booking the hotel through airmiles, we accepted.
The room was beautiful and the bathroom just out of this world - matt black and a huge bath with built-in TV.
Breakfast was very tasty, although I was surprised that you had to pay extra for cooked food.
The hotel also delivered Champagne to our room when they found out that we were celebrating our engagement!

Room Tip: 355 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NumbersONEandTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest, first we would like to thank you for reporting on your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your Junior Suite and that you particularly liked the bathroom. It was our pleasure to welcome you on your engagement weekend and we hope to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,827
    391
    114
    50
    31
See reviews for
380
1,203
97
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Great hotel, wonderful staff. Stayed one night for business and had excellent, relaxing stay. Staff couldn't help enough and breakfast was outstanding. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2809GPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my wife, before a business trip to Germany. The location is perfect, everything is close to walk distance. The staff was Ok, just a few confused during my check-in, but everybody were gentle and polite. The room was a charm! There is a restaurant in the hotel (The Bridges) with a wonderful food, excellent staff and a good price. Definitely we recommend the Sofitel Amsterdam.

Room Tip: ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are pleased to read that the hotel served as an excellent starting point to explore the city and that you found the room charming. We are also very happy that you had a wonderful dinner at our restaurant Bridges. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam soon. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Hotel is central for walking around Amsterdam and is really comfortable we had a great bar meal one night and fantastic meal in the restaurant ..the best halibut I have ever had .I also liked the spa pool very quiet and a place for a peaceful swim
The barman in the brown bar was also great .
I did not however think the breakfasts were that good especially the cooked bacon and dggs ..with Stepford wives type waitress staff who were very polite but did not listen to what was asked for ..one welcomed a guest in front with "welcome to France " err what ?
.I also hated the fact that staff repeatedly knocked or came into the room making all kinds of excuses , particularly on the morning we were trying to pack and get ready to leave.. just leave guests in peace

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest, may we first thank you for reviewing your experience with us, as your feedback is of utmost importance to us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the bar and restaurant, and that the halibut left you with such a lasting impression. We would like to apologize for the inattentiveness of the staff at breakfast and the various interruptions upon your departure. This is definitely not our style and you can rest assured that we will take your comments in to action. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This hotel is absolutely amazing. They overlook nothing, down to the smallest detail such as Hermes bath products!! Check-in was a breeze. The concierge and front desk staff were super friendly and very helpful. The hotel itself, like the city has a long history going back as far as A 14th century convent. The room was very comfortable and particularly well designed. The room resembled a loft apartment. We enjoyed High Tea in the library because it was raining out and this was a fun experience. The entire staff is just very well trained and attentive. The hotel is centrally located in the most perfect location(in my opinon). Just a block walk from great food, Coffeeshops, girls in the window(if that is your thing, I was there with my girlfriend), The best parts of the Canal rings etc. Our room had a view of the canal and was very nice. The rooms were cleaned several times a day. Additionally, when we left the hotel in July, I left my flip video camera in the room. I realized this in September and after contacting the hotel, their security officer Mr. Crama gave me quick correspondence, located the camera and shipped the item free of charge. That is very rare, but not surprising for such an amazing establishment! I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels worldwide and with all honesty, this is my favorite. I will never stay in another hotel when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to express how much we appreciate your review of your stay with us. It a pleasure to read that you enjoyed both the hotel and the city. We are honored by your compliments about our staff, the room and the experience as a whole. We are also very happy to read that you camera has been safely returned to you. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

just as good, I love the lush bathroom and oh so comfy beds.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for posting your feedback about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are honoured to read that you enjoyed your bathroom and the Sofitel My|Bed so much during your business trip to Amsterdam. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam soon. Yours, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is a truly great hotel. The decor is really cool, the beds are superbly comfortable, the bathrooms excellent, the food is wonderful. But what makes a great hotel is the staff. I've stayed here twice this year. The first time I was really busy with work and was working at the business centre even after I'd checked out. One of the staff noticed that I'd been beavering away at my laptop for quite a long and asked whether she could bring me a drink. She then brought me a beautiful pot of tea (and I do mean the teapot was very beautiful, but it was also a very touching gesture). When I returned more recently, the person checking me in mentioned that on the previous visit I'd had a problem with room service (it was simply that because I was working I wanted to have dinner in my room and there did not seem to be a room service menu in the room, when I rang room service, one was delivered to my room very promptly) and that problem had been addressed and there were now room service menus in the room. That is really impressive service and excellent follow up by the staff. As much as I love Amsterdam, I will return simply to stay at the Grand.

Room Tip: The junior suite I had was wonderful, with a walk through shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,469 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing