We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A splendid, historical hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A splendid, historical hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Close to the center of things but flanked by two quiet canals, Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam provides an excellent base for tourist or business traveler. The former Amsterdam city hall has become a luxurious hotel with an excellent seafood restaurant. It is an easy ten-minute walk from the train station and all the principal tourist stops are likewise easily accessible. The service is excellent, the rooms plush.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSeib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for leaving your review. We are honoured by your compliments on our hotel and restaurant. It is a pleasure to read you found the location so convenient and that you enjoyed our service and your room. We hope to welcome you back soon to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,855
    398
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
388
1,222
98
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Do not waste your time researching any other hotel in Amsterdam ... as the Sofitel is the perfect choice!

My wife and I were there for our one year anniversary and the staff were so accommodating that they triple upgraded us to a junior suite! The rooms are beautifully decorated with a stylish twist that make you feel right at home ... and the beds ... they were so comfortable! We slept like absolute babies every night thanks to those beds!

The breakfast was great and you'll start the day with a big smile - we also ordered room service and absolutely loved it as well!

In a nutshell, you're going to walk a lot in Amsterdam and you need to be able to retire to a place that is going to be super comfortable, offers great food and has service with a smile ... and the Sofitel delivers on all of them!

(P.S. They offer free wifi throughout the hotel which was pretty cool as I could check in on work every once in a while ... which obviously allowed me to relax even more knowing that everything was being taken care of)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marwanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest, first we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. We are absolutely delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful anniversary celebration with us. We are also happy to read you slept so well in our Sofitel MyBed, and that you enjoyed our service. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I have stayed two nights in a superior room at the Sofitel. I must say it is not as nice as other Sofitel. The room although 2 levels above Classic room is rather small and furnished ok, and not upscale. The first room that was assigned stunk chemical mized with smoke odors. I was changed for another room without much problem.
I did not like the low pressure shower head and the price ( circa EUR 30-35) of the breakfast. The restaurant is not well lighted and the food is ok but not worth EUR30.
I liked the location and the pool.
In general, l think the room was overpriced (360/night) and the service good but not like with the other Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude_Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest, first we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences. We are happy that you liked the location and the swimming pool, but we would also like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced. We would like to stress how much we value your feedback and satisfaction. Therefore, we hope to speak with you directly regarding this matter. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience. We hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

Wonderful old building with a lot of cozy corners (old palace), great decorations (beautiful fresh flowers everywhere) with a mixture between classis and modern (award winning), very friendly service, central location (3 min. walk from the Dam), small but nice spa

Room Tip: 355 is maybe the best hotelroom. Very quiet (internal garden) and one of the first rooms with sun on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelRedczus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for posting your review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the mix of historical and contemporary design. It is also a delight to read that you enjoyed our service and location. We hope to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
383 reviews
375 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 696 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

First impressions of this hotel were good. Stayed here twice for six nights total over a two week period. The front desk staff were endearing, one let me check in at 7 am in the morning after a 12 hour flight, the other remembered my name as soon as I walked in the second time (impressed as this is not exactly a boutique hotel). 

Location was very good,  an easy walk everywhere whether to the shops, restaurants (ie Envy, Casa di David) or to the museums, and just down the street from Dam Square.  Also the tram system is easy to use.  Despite being in such a convenient location, there was minimal noise once in the hotel, just good old plain silence once back in room.   

As is often the case in this part of Europe, the  rooms were quite tiny, the first room I stayed in was slightly wider with two twin beds pushed together, the second room with a queen sized bed took up most of the space, there was a minature sofa and a small desk.  I liked the bathroom more, it had a cheerful  white/beige color tone, with heated towel racks, a shower space with super hot water (essential after walking around all day in the cold windy rain) and Hermes toiletries.  

The gym was also small with one treadmill, two bikes and one elliptical.    The bar at bridges was beautifully designed, a welcoming haven (again after a long day walking in the cold rain), I didn't get a chance to eat at Bridges but it is a good looking restaurant.  

I liked the fact wifi was free (or you could pay for higher speed at €17 a day.)  The well designed and welcoming "library" in the lobby also had state of the art Apple computers, a convenient place to buy and print your museum tickets in advance.  

Room for minor improvement:
~ room temperature was hard to control.  There were times I'd like to have fresh air but the windows would not open. Also there were times the room was cold but the only working heat came from the towels rack, as the one by the window didn't work
~ housekeeping related: left my room at 11 am one day, came back at 430 pm & room was being serviced, so returned after a drink at the bar & realized laundry did not get picked up, instead of shampoo and conditioner in shower was given shampoo and lotion, the water bottles were not replenished (happened more than once), then at 9 pm got a call from housekeeping asking if the laundry was mine as she got "confused" which room they belonged to. ... Sigh....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest, first we would like to thank you for reporting on your experiences. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and that the room served as a quiet and comforting refuge after being out in the city. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We would like to emphasize how important your feedback is to us. Therefore, we hope to speak with you directly regarding your experience. Please feel free to let us know when you would be available and we will contact you at your convenience. It has been our pleasure to host you and we hope to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We were a party of 7 and we stayed at The Grand from September 30 to October 3. The brick exterior was beautiful and the modern lobby was a good contrast to it. Check in was a breeze and guest relations manager Zsa Zsa even escorted us to our room. She was most friendly and helpful. Everyday before and after dinner we would enjoy drinks at the terrace, in the courtyard formed by the hotel's different buildings that were connected together. The staff at the terrace were friendly and very efficient. The concierge staff were also very efficient and helpful in terms of providing dinner reservations and transport services. The entire staff, from the restaurant to housekeeping to the doormen were the epitome of gracious, hospitable and efficient service. The bed in our room was so comfortable, if Amsterdam wasn't such an exciting city it might have been doubly difficult to get out of bed in the mornings. Breakfast was always delicious and had a good variety to choose from. The hotel was located only 5 minutes away from the red light district. We also booked a private dinner cruise and we were picked up by the skipper at the hotel's front door. The company's name is Belle Epoque and they served a 3-course dinner where each course was obtained from gourmet restaurants. From starter to dessert, it was well worth it! The skipper and her assistant were a joy to cruise with. I love Amsterdam and I love The Grand!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DramaQueenFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Guest, first we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience. It is an absolute pleasure to read that you liked the design of the hotel, the service of our staff and of course, the city. We are also delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast and that you had such a wonderful boat trip. We hope to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Kind Regards, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here for a night on a quick weekend away in Amsterdam. Arriving very early, we were offered an upgrade to a junior suite for a further E150, which after booking the hotel through airmiles, we accepted.
The room was beautiful and the bathroom just out of this world - matt black and a huge bath with built-in TV.
Breakfast was very tasty, although I was surprised that you had to pay extra for cooked food.
The hotel also delivered Champagne to our room when they found out that we were celebrating our engagement!

Room Tip: 355 was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NumbersONEandTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest, first we would like to thank you for reporting on your experience at our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your Junior Suite and that you particularly liked the bathroom. It was our pleasure to welcome you on your engagement weekend and we hope to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing