We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Good points - interesting old building
Helpful staff
Good room with canal view
Bad points - the area is a bit grim, the proximity to the red light district means you may get
woken by noise on the street at 3am.
The hotel, while generally good, is overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is unlikely to be affected by street noise in the early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagittarius_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank your for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere in our historical hotel and appreciated the service provided by our staff. However, we regret to learn the inconvenience you experienced and we would like to offer our sincerest apologies. Your comments are of great value to us and therefore we would like to invite you to contact us directly via H2783-GR@sofitel.com with your telephone number in the hope of having the opportunity to personally further discuss this matter with you. We hope to have the honour of welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam in the near future. Sincerely, Raphaël Mukarji – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,908
    406
    118
    50
    32
See reviews for
401
1,249
100
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Spent two nights here over the weekend. I have never slept in such a luxurious and comfortable bed away from home ever. Clean and modern and just perfect for a romantic getaway. Breakfast was extortionate, but we went out each morning. Room service for dinner was a treat - recommend the burgers!

Room Tip: 5th floor is the top floor, a must as it is located in the heart of the red light district.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are delighted to read that you are fond of the comfort of the signature Sofitel MyBed. It is also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your dinner via Room Service and especially The Grand Burger. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Raphaël Mukarji – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have stayed in quite a few hotels in Amsterdam and most have been very ordinary in terms of the facilities and style; I am happy to report a change; Sofitel! ACCOR and Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam have done a really great job in renovating and very old worn out product and given it a new lease of life for several years to come. The public areas are small but beautifully done; the rooms once again decent size for Amsterdam and decorated to suit most tastes. I have stayed in several Sofitels world wide and even brought a Sofitel MyBed over mattress; however these beds MUST be the best beds I have ever slept in! Give it a try you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oznick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest, it is a pleasure to read your wonderful review about your experiences at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, we would like to express our gratitude for this. We are honoured to learn that the redecoration of our hotel was to your liking. It is also delightful to read the grand words about Sofitel MyBed, and that you have taken it home. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Raphaël Mukarji – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Spent a night at the Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam, on a layover en-route to Kenya. My room was very nice overlooking a canal. There was a slight odour in the room but it was immediately remedied. My jeans got soaked from the rain while out exploring the city and the housekeeping staff collected them from my room and put them in the hotel dryer. They were returned with 40 minutes - no charge. All staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. We are pleased to read that you appreciated the service provided by our staff so much and especially that we were able to assist you with your jeans on that particular rainy day. We hope you had a wonderful time in Kenya and look forward to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinas Powys, Cymru
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Grand is a quadrangle of elegant rooms in the central area. The staff are warm and welcoming and show you individually to the cosy and well-specified rooms whilst your baggage is being brought up. The restaurant has deservedly won many awards and whilst being costly it's worth every penny for the devotion to fresh ingredients and professional service. There's a bargain lunch, which with a few glasses of wine may well deter you from touring further that day. A very well run establishment where you will feel valued, happy and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask advice at reception - there's a variety of rooms and they'll be pleased to help if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crwydryn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your experiences of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely delighted to read your compliments on our staff and on the restaurant, but most of all, it a pleasure to read that you felt valued, happy and comfortable. We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam soon. Kind Regards, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel must be the worst I have ever stayed in.

It all started with check in, when I was given a room key to a room that was already occupied by others,... This was solved OK by the front office staff.

I found the rooms to be tiny and extremely dark.

Then we decided after a walk over the canals (make sure you don't turn right, because that's were the red light district is) to have dinner at the Bridges Restaurant. The service was again poor, with an arrogant hostess and so/so food.

Breakfast was reasonably good, but then the great surprise came out upon check out; we were charged for minibar items that we never used (?!?)
After complaining to this and speaking to the manager, this was waived.

Will definitely not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family.

Room Tip: get one in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest, we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize for the errors that occured with your check-in and check-out, and truly regret your experience at the restaurant. We understand that these experiences do not reflect the high expectations that you so rightfully hold. We hope to have the opportunity to speak about these matters with you personally, either by telephone or by email with our Guest Relations department via H2783-GR@sofitel.com. Again, your personal feedback in these matters is crucial. Please do not hesitate to inform us on your availability. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the hotel. Sincerely, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This review is written by Destination Europe (www.destinationeuropeonline.com) - we plan amazing, custom tailored packages for all of Europe. One of the benefits of our job is that each year, we take some time and travel all over Europe, visiting new hotels and destinations.

We stayed here in December 2011 - the location of this hotel is ideal. Central to everything in the main rings of the city, but also a short walk to transportation to get your further out to the museums and Vondel Park.

The decor of the hotel is beautiful - very modern and clean. The building itself is tucked through an entry way off a main canal. The building is beautiful and upon arrival, we were greeted by the manager of the hotel. We were upgraded to a two floor suite, complete with our own Butler (which we never did call for...)

Some of the suites require getting down a few different hallways, but I assume this has to do with the original architecture of the building and needing to add on rooms and such to make it a hotel. Reminded me of some older hotels I have stayed in England. Did not bother us much, but we did have to call a porter to get our luggage on departure because of the turns and stairs to get to the elevator and lobby.

The room was amazing - very spacious with giant windows on the lower level overlooking the main entry to the hotel. Complete with a dining room, living area and bathroom on the lower floor. A traditional Dutch staircase (meaning very narrow and very steep spiral staircase) led to the upstairs with a massive bedroom and bathroom en suite. There was a door out to another hallway - this is how they brought in our luggage.

We did also use their pool and spa facilities - very nice and we had the pool to ourselves every night when we went down. Just a nice way to relax after walking on cobble stones all day. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DestinationEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your extensive review of Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. We deeply appreciate the time and effort you took to share your experiences. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the design and location of the hotel, and we are honoured by your enthusiasm with regards to your suite and the So|Spa. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. Kind Regards, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,235 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
606 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,530 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing