We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my husband's 40th birthday as we had stayed there once about 8 years ago and had already thought it was fabulous. But this time, it was even better - the hotel has been renovated completely and is now very modern. Upon arrival, we found out that they had upgraded us to a junior suite and we also found a birthday cake in the room, which was really nice (and very good!). Breakfast is expensive (35 Euro/person) but very nice. All in all an amazing hotel with very friendly staff and a nice spa. Would definitely go back there anytime...

Room Tip: Room 352 (junior suite) has a very nice view out onto the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to celebrate this special occasion. I am delighted to read we have turned your husband’s birthday in a memorable one.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,859
    398
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
388
1,223
98
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
130 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

stayed for 1 night, for business.

Great location
impressive building
friendly staff
incredible break-fast buffet
large and modern rooms
Bridges is the best fish restaurant you can find in Amsterdam
(low) WiFi is free (still not standard at many upscale hotels)
real turn-down service

the only "minus": staff is trained to say "bonjour", "merci" etc. but if you want to continue the conversation in French, they have to apologize for not speaking French.....so, a lit awkward/artificial.

if you can get a deal like I got (upgrade to suite, free break-fast, free wine,...): unbeatable

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErwinFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Erwin,

Many thanks for your kind words. It is a pleasure to learn you enjoyed the hotel and all its facilities.

Sofitel is a chain of French origin and as part of our French ‘DNA’, greeting the guests with ‘bonjour’ or ‘bonsoir’ is indeed the standard in each Sofitel around the world. We strive to always have an Ambassador on duty that speaks French as well.

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel Legend on the 20/04 - 22/04, when we arrived we were upgraded to a junior suite which was beautiful and with a lovely view over the canal. The reception staff were helpful and very knowledgeable of the local area. The location of the hotel is one of it's biggest assets, but don't be put off by this as we no problem with street noise

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was excellent, my only complaint would be that the service was a little slow. This was also evident at breakfast, I would recommend getting down early or you might have to wait for a table.

All in all it is a lovely hotel with excellent staff in the perfect location, I would most certainly return.

Room Tip: Room 350, overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munsy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Merci bien for taking the time to review your recent stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is great to learn you enjoyed the hotel, its location and the staff so much.

Thank you also for addressing your experience in the restaurant during both breakfast and dinner. I will ensure the speed of the service will be improved.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We booked this hotel through American Express Fine Resorts and Hotels Collection. If you've ever used this amex service you know that you can expect high end amazing quality. The hotel was in a great location, central to the square in Amsterdam but far enough away (a few blocks) that you could feel a sense of peace and quiet in and around the immediate area of the hotel. Rooms were really nice, the service was great. We enjoyed hanging out in the bar and appreciated the special drinks that Ruddy made for us; he was a great bartender. There was another guy (maybe in his late 30's early 40's) looked very nordic (maybe germanic) who worked at one of the other bars. He was also awesome. We had a lot of fun and will definitely return in the near future. Thanks again for a great stay, we enjoyed. Also I should mention the beds were probably the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We had such an awesome sleep!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCtraveler33Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guests,

What a wonderful compliments, thank you for that. I will make sure to share your review with Rudy and Dennis (I believe this the Ambassador you are referring to) and the rest of the team.

The beds you enjoyed so much are Sofitel MyBeds (called SoBed in the US), which are especially designed for Sofitel and available in all Sofitels around the world.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again the near future.

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is my favorite hotel in the world without doubt! My wife and I have stayed at this hotel since it was in the Demure group and even though it has changed owners since then standards have not slipped in each of my 9 stays over the years. I have been through the range of rooms as my fortunes have changed so would consider myself a good judge of this hotel.
Somtimes the staff will offer upgrades and free parking but this is not the sort of establisment that you should expect freebies, it is expensive but worth every penny. Service and food are always great as is the location and ambiance. If you are in the market for a suite its well worth asking the reservation staff if there are any VIP apartments avaialble, at least twice the price but oh my they are somthing special and will give you a memory you will never forget.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for, yes its expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Bonjour madame & monsieur,

First of all, thank you so much for your continued support of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. A guest returning time after time is in fact the best compliment we, as a hotel, can get.

I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you on your 10th visit.

Sincerely,

Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Hotel is located 5 minutes away from the city center.
The building is just fantastic inside as outside.. new and old linked together, decore is amazing!
The interior is warm and modern.
Rooms are large and extremely comfortable.
Restaurant is very stylish and has a fantastic garden.
Staff is very professional and nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarbucksFreak25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed everything the hotel has to offer, from the rooms to the service provided by the team and the hotel's city centre location.

I’m pleased you appreciated the décor; the interior designer indeed made a great effort to incorporate the rich history into the new architectural details in many ways.

A bientot,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing