We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 369 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Service is top shelf. The rooms are quiet and well laid out. The hotel has a nice feel to it. Wonderful experience overall. The restaurant is very good. It just all works. And in a perfect location. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Greg799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I specifically enjoyed reading that you felt comfortable here at The Grand. It is always our aim to provide the highest level of personalized service in order to create a home away from home.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,967
    420
    119
    50
    33
See reviews for
419
1,282
104
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2012

It was only one night but what a lovely stay! We were looking for a romantic place and The Grand was recommended to us by a friend.
It couldn't be better, the service is lovely and the staff very friendly.
The accommodations very comfortable and lovely decorated.
It was to celebrate my birthday, we were very pleased.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuijpers-Santos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
It is so wonderful to read such wonderful feedback about The Grand, thank you!

It is an honor to read that you choose to stay with us for such a special occasion and moreover that your friends recommended our hotel. I will certainly pass on your kind words to all the Sofitel Ambassadors.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Despite the hotel's very central location, the courtyard and hotel were an oasis of tranquility. Our room was very confortable and stylish and the bed was huge. Breakfast was a little disappointing: expensive and fussy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StOuenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
I am delighted to read that you have experienced our hotel as an oasis of tranquility right in the middle of the city centre. It is also a pleasure for us to learn that you have enjoyed the Sofitel My|Bed so much. Thank you for sharing this positive feedback!

On the other hand, I would like to offer my apologies for the experience you had during breakfast. I would like to assure you that this has been addressed.

All the Ambassadors look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend. The hotel is in a very good location, close walking distance to everything. We took the train from the airport, straight into Amsterdam and walked to the hotel with our case. The hotel is beautiful, we were upgraded to a deluxe room on check in. Wow what a lovely room, all the little extras you would expect from a 5 star hotel, slippers, dressing gown, umbrella, hermes toiletries, chocolates etc. The bed was huge and so so comfy. The bathroom had a tv on the wall and a cushion in the bath to rest your head on. Our room had a canal view. I thought Amsterdam was an interesting place to visit and i would highly recommend this hotel. We didn't eat in the hotel as it was quite pricey. There are plenty of places to eat a short distance away. There was a large department store on Dam Square with a restaurant upstairs, which served various reasonable priced food at lunch time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gg2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback,
I am delighted that you have enjoyed your Amsterdam break and you made the most of our perfect central location.

I am glad to hear that you felt the hotel was wonderful and the room with all the little extras was to your satisfaction.

I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Registration staff provided impeccable service!
Lovely old hotel, clean and comfortable.
Inner courtyard provided a great bar and table service for a quiet dinner. Just keep moving your feet and the little mice scurry away.(not a problem unless you have a major mice phobia)
Rooms clean and bed very comfy, albeit a big saggy. Great shower.
Stained glass staircase very beautiful, along with large pieces of artwork through out hotel.
Breakfast, altho expensive, is nicely arranged, served and fresh.
Brick drive being repaired, therefore some construction.
Only negative, and it really was no buggy if you close your window... noisy side street on a warm summer night.
Would recommend this hotel to all, and if ever in Amsterdam, I will add on a few days to stay in this fantastic old hotel for a longer stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the recent experience you have had at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated the service of our Sofitel ambassadors, the comfort of your room as well as our inner garden where our restaurant Bridges serves its award winning dishes.

I am happy to read that, despite the fact that you have witnessed mice in our garden are, you were able to fully enjoy your stay with us. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for this and please rest assured that we have taken drastic measurements to exterminate this problem.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near feature.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Portugal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here overnight recently and it was a great experience. My room had a view out over the canal, and it was peaceful. The hotel is just down the road from the red light district and close to some coffee shops and I'd say it's just at the start of the acceptable areas of Amsterdam, so just outside the area which has all the drugs, drunkards and prostitution. Breakfast was a dream, with a huge choice of fresh food, pastries and fruit, and all the drinks you can imagine. It would be difficult to fault this hotel, a true marvel for the luxury customer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank levado656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
It is so wonderful to read such positive feedbacks as yours. Thank you!

Indeed our central yet quiet location is a real asset. A lot of things are going on in the lively centre of Amsterdam, and after a busy day, guests are delighted to enter a peaceful atmosphere mixing Dutch tradition and French elegance.

The Executive Chef and I were very proud to hear that you have had a great breakfast experience in our restaurant Bridges.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed our first week in an AirBNB property which was nicely located but which fell short on beauty, comfort, and amenities. So we booked the Grand to live it up our final three nights and were we ever glad we did.

The Grand is beautiful! The Yves Delorme linens and towels, copious amounts of Evian water, chocolates, big comfy bed, cushy bathrobes, fabulous room service, and the attentiveness of the staff told us we had really come up in the world from our AirBNB place.

Full of wonderful history and beautifully restored, the hotel is well-located in the center of activity but wonderfully quiet for sleeping. Our room looked over a beautiful canal ... we returned home four days ago and already we want to return to the wonderful city of Amsterdam and this splendid hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanetBarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
It was great to read such positive feedback like yours and I thank you for that. We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them with our fabulous service given by out attentive Sofitel Ambassadors.

Our utmost reward is to hear that you are very satisfied and this is why my team and I were so happy to read your lovely words.

The entire team is looking forward to your return to Amsterdam and Sofitel Legend the Grand.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,292 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 369 in Amsterdam
710 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 369 in Amsterdam
2,584 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 369 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing