We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel V Nesplein(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Rho Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rokin Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cordial(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Torenzicht(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,802)
Filter reviews
2,802 results
Traveller rating
2,140
449
124
57
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,140
449
124
57
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtbutler serviceflying dutchmanhermes toiletriesluxury roomjunior suitedam squareturn down servicewonderful hotelstar hotelcanal viewthe heart of the citythe location is perfectnespresso machineanne frank housevan gogh museumcentral station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,428 - 1,433 of 2,802 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Even though I am a native of Amsterdam I like to spend anniversaries and celebrations out of home with my wife.
We decided to spend our anniversary in a junior suite here before going on a trip in the Baltics and it was just perfect. Rooms are beautiful and clean, service is impeccable and moreover breakfast is just.. beautiful!
It's certainly an expensive choice but it worthy every cent you pay for.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

My team and I felt really proud while reading such positive feedback from someone that knows Amsterdam very well. We are happy to read that we have made your anniversary stay a memorable one.

We hope to have the pleasure to provide you with our impeccable service again in the near future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Whats not good about this hotel, we have stayed here a few times and we just keep going back, can not fault the staff, service, room cleanliness. Really is the only place to stay when in Amsterdam, location wise its in the heart of the city, easy to get to from airport either taxi or train. would recomend in a heart beat !! Go and stay and see for yourself !!

Room Tip: Courtyard room are quieter. but to be honest they are all good.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rj_watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

We thank you for taking the time to recommend our centrally located hotel and for posting your kind words regarding our high level of services, staff and cleanliness.

We very much appreciate you continuing support and the entire team is looking forward to your next visit at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Always a pleasure to stay at the Sofitel Legend in Amsterdam. The location is so convenient to everything and the staff a pleasure to deal with. Rooms are always immaculate and well tended. We have used this hotel for many occasions, business, pleasure, birthdays etc and have always enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BradwellScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

I would like to thank you for the grateful words you wrote about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is just wonderful to read that you always enjoy your stay here at every occasion. We are honored to have such loyal guests like you.

I look forward to welcoming you back at The Grand in the near future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

If you are a lucky tourist in Amstrrsdam you stay at the sofitel grand.it has everything a tourist needs. specially comfortable bed' great location but quiet, nice room. beautifull and historical hotel and very very helpfull staff. great concierge. recomended

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam and sharing such a wonderful comment on TripAdvisor. Your lovely words make me very proud on all the Sofitel Ambassadors.

It is our passion to give all of our guests a comfortable feeling and to fulfill all their wishes.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back at The Grand next time you are in Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Sofitel Legend The Grand. An excellent, very high standard hotel.

We arrived uneventfully by rental car from Belgium and thanks to GPS and excellent highways all the way, eventually found our way to the hotel. We found a car in central Amsterdam a major encumbrance. The picturesque canals leave only a crowded cobblestoned sliver on each side for pedestrians, bicycles and the occasional tourist foolish enough to try to travel by car. As it’s one way only on each side of the canal, if you inadvertently miss your location, as we did, you then need to find a bridge wide enough for a car to cross over, so as to be able to try the lap again – and a lap could easily take a quarter hour, or more. And there is often not a great deal to stop one inadvertently driving into a canal if not careful while changing a cd.

Fortunately the Grand Hotel had a vehicle accessible court yard and parking at its front door. There seems no shortage of polite and efficient staff. The bags were removed from the car, put down at reception, and carried to our room. We were handled promptly by a receptionist who cleverly managed to up sell us to a superior room, and it was superior for little more. When we initially demurred he also offered what later proved to be an excellent afternoon tea, London Ritz Hotel standard. Our room faced the canal and had a good view of the neighbourhood and enabled us to vicariously share in the nightlife, albeit from a great height. The windows open and the air-conditioning can be switched off.

Although the hotel is located in that famous street, it is sufficiently far down the other end from the world famous windows, and their offerings, that you would never know they were there, unless you went looking – though they are within walking distance.

Also within walking distance is Dam square – the centre of town.

The room we had originally booked overlooked a, for Amsterdam, surprisingly large courtyard garden and would no doubt have been quieter and more suitable if we had been on business, but we were not and we were pleased we had made the change.

The hotel building has had many different uses over its many hundreds of years as a prominent Amsterdam landmark. It was once a palace of William and Mary, who later became king and queen of England. Large sections of an interior courtyard facade are similar to the later façade put on Hampton court in London, the side facing the Thames.

Until relatively recently the hotel was the town hall and had clearly had very large sums spent, in good taste, on it. It is in excellent repair. We were told it was one of the best examples of the Amsterdam school of architecture. Very square and formal and fitted out in dark tones, very impressive, though perhaps a bit overpowering when carried through to a bathroom – though I suppose consistency is important.

The high quality public areas had some very interesting statuary. Public Lavatories had cotton single use hand cloths and good quality lotions – at least the male ones did. There is a library and apparently a chapel, and a very impressive stained glass window in the stair foyer, running to multiple floors.

Excellent wide ranging buffet breakfasts were included in our tariff. Like most others, we had ours in the courtyard garden; however a dining room was also available.

There was an espresso type coffee machine in the room as well as all the usual such as a bar fridge hairdryers, tea facilities, and the like. We were unable to work the Bose sound system late one night. When one of the staff, who promptly attended, had similar difficulty, she had it promptly replaced within minutes, with a new one by one of the maintenance staff. Quite impressive for late sunday night. No clothes line in the bathroom, though it did contain a Jacuzzi, a phone and a television.

On leaving our bags were taken from our room to the taxi.

An excellent, very high standard hotel we would be happy to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: street rooms are noisier than courtyard - but not particularty noisy and have an interesting view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

I am very happy to read and feel your enthusiasm regarding your stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is indeed correct that Amsterdam is a lively city, which can be a little bit challenging when it comes to driving in a car.

It is a pleasure to read your excitement about the beautiful and rich history of the building in which The Grand is hosted. You might have enjoyed our daily historical tour where my colleagues took you on a journey back to the 15th century.

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews