We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel was absolutely unfaultable from start to finish. We arrived on the Friday morning and were instantly made to feel extremely welcome with staff happy and smiley and available to help with every need. The room was beautiful, bed super comfortable, and bathrooms clean and top notch. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the staff couldnt do enough to help and the service was impeccable. We were also really pleased when we signed out that we had not been charged for every tiny detail like many hotels would- we were only charged for what we had fairly used. This hotel made my holiday- it was perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2012

I am truly happy to hear that you have had a perfect stay at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam and thank you for sharing your extremely positive words on trip-advisor.

We serve all of our guests with passion and a smile, and we are proud to read that you felt this during your entire stay. The ‘My Bed’ concept, which is developed by Sofitel Luxury hotels, Is indeed very comfortable and designed to make you feel like sleeping on clouds. We are glad we succeed.

All Sofitel ambassadors are looking forward to your next stay!

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,376 - 1,382 of 2,743 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Fantastic location, beautiful deco - very friendly staff, willing to go out of their way to help you. The location couldnt be more central either, its right behind the Dam Sq by the canal, but set back so it was peaceful and quiet at night. One negative was the restaurant - great quality food, but lacking in taste and quantity - its a little minimal chic! I found my self finishing the bread after the meal, which is never a good thing...just order BIG then you will be fine. To summarize...the stay here was fantastic a top 5* I would love to return to, although quite pricey...but the Hermes bathroom products more thean made up for that ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenTheophanous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. I am delighted to read you felt comfortable and found the hotel atmosphere very peaceful.

Another utmost reward is to hear that you are very satisfied about the service you received from my Ambassadors. Exquisite service is our priority in order to give all our guests a magnifique stay.

Nonetheless, I regret to learn the disappointing experience you had in our restaurant Bridges. At Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam we consider your feedback as the most valuable tool to evaluate the high quality of service expected by our guests. You can be assured that your comment has been taken into action.

We truly hope to welcome you back the next time you are in Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

When staff who haven't even met you know your name, then you understand service., My short stay in Sofitel Legend The Grand was one of the best hotel experiences I can remember - from the taxi's turn into the almost private courtyard of the hotel (formerly two convents joined together), through reception and the exceptional concierge service and into the hotel - beautifully styled in a combination of classical and modern that works rather than jars. I was lucky enough to have been booked into one of four apartments, which are split level suites in connected canal houses, complete with personal butler service and so on. These are not mentioned on the hotel's Web site but worth enquiring about if your visit to the city is for a special occasion. No criticism of the room or the hotel - a delight from start to finish. Even better, The Grand is a short stroll from the centre of the city and the key museums - though you may find it hard to leave its comfort and genuine friendliness.

Room Tip: Facing the internal garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave_reeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

I would like to thank you for your gracious words about your experience at The Grand, especially the beautiful words about my team. It makes me very proud and gives a feeling of recognition and appreciation.

It is always our aim to provide the highest level of personalized service in order to create a home away from home and create a comfortable atmosphere for our guests.

We all hope to welcome you back at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Honestly this hotel would have gotten a 3 if not for the spa and exercise area. It is physically lovely. On check in the reception was great but we were handed off to another person who was to "show" us the way to our room. She pointed to either end of the lobby and said something that we could go either way; she was difficult for us to understand. I might add she was the only person that we couldn't understand that we encountered there. The point was we went to the wrong elevators and couldn't get to our room this way. We figured that out and got to our room. It was lovely but a split level that was dangerous at night because this hotel has the best black out curtains I have ever seen. If you have any issue with your balance, your knees, or your vision make sure they give you a one level room. In our room there was a banging rattling noise we heard at night almost constant. We should complained but we didn't so they couldn't help with that. The bed was great! The Bridges restaurant was great but pricey. Got great restaurant advice from the concierge. The indoor pool, sauna, and work out area saved the stay for us. The breakfast is great but unless you get a good deal on a rate where it's included it was 36€ each and not worth that price.

Room Tip: I am not sure where there would not be noise but we faced the inner courtyard and something made noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 751aprile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

I thank you for telling us about your overall enjoyable experience at Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam and for pointing out your satisfaction regarding the So|Spa and the exercise area. I also thank you for your positive feedback on our award winning restaurant Bridges.

I can tell that we have achieved our goal in taking you to sleep like onto fluffy clouds with our leading product ‘MyBed’. This unique bed concept created by Sofitel Luxury Hotels is also available online.

I am truly sorry to hear about this unfortunate issue during your check in. We strive to assist every guest to their room and provide detailed information about the room and hotel services. We are very sorry we did not fully accompanied you upon your arrival which led to this inconvenience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the future in order to prove ourselves as better hosts and make your stay a magnifique one!

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

My goodness, the service at this hotel was outstanding and to the level you'd find in Asia. I can't vouch for the rooms as we only in the private dining rooms during an evening event. True 5+ service, food and wine were exceptional, a delightful evening. I can only imagine what it would be like to stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

I am really pleased to hear that you have had such an "exceptional experience" at our restaurant Bridges in Sofitel Legend the Grand Amsterdam and I thank you for sharing this on trip-advisor.

We pay an extreme attention to details regarding our way of looking after all of our guests. The team and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and give you the chance to experience our other services as well. We trust you will love it!

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Super luxurious , modern yet elegant & practically in the red light area. Superb breakfast but service a little chaotic , no greeter on arrival so guests unsure of what to do - Champagne included for breakfast is an amazing touch but in my case would not go down well . Annoying that despite receiving a definite confirmation we could have an early check ( only by 1 hour ) this was not available on arrival , worse still the room was not ready for 30 minutes after the published check in time and that was only after I bullied them but they dealt with the situation well with the guest services manager personally escorting us to our room . Stunning property , look forward to returning , cost was 300 euro / night bed and breakfast (regret that breakfast was added to our bill by mistake )I hate annoying little mistakes like that , they shouldn't happen.

Room Tip: Amsterdam hotels seem to be the most expensive of all the major European cities so shop around to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdFinnier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It is our passion to indulge all of our guests.

However, I am sorry to read that we were not able to accommodate you with a room upon your arrival. We always do our utmost to accommodate our guests with a room upon their arrival, even when it is before the official check-in time. Unfortunately this is not always possible, and especially during high season.

Despite this inconvenience, I am delighted to read that we were still able to give you a memorable experience.

I look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit in Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Lovely hotel, decent size clean rooms and a fantastic breakfast. You expect all of this for the money. What made all the difference to a 3-generation trip for my father's birthday was the attitude of the staff - they made my parents, who might have felt uncomfortable there, feel very welcome and at ease in the hotel. Made sure that a 5 star hotel provided a 5 star experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

The team and I were extremely pleased to look after you and we are proud to read your positive feedback.

Our utmost reward is to make our guests happy and exceed their expectations, by giving them personal service. I am really delighted to read that we have achieved our aim.

The team and I look forward to welcome the whole family back.

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,424 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £228 - £643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing