We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to come back.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife & I have just spent 5 wonderful nights at The Grand for our 25th Wedding Anniversary.
From our arrival & all through our stay, all the staff in all departments were faultless.
The cocoon of luxury is amazing, you never want to leave...
Fabulous dinner in Bridges restaurant and just an overall feel of comfort makes this THE place to stay in Amsterdam. This was our 2nd visit to The Grand but certainly not our last. Congratulations to Denis Dupart & his excellent team.
ps a sport channel would be good....

Room Tip: if you can afford it, go for the "prestige suites" ...Fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davedavis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

It is surely a pleasure to read that you had such a wonderful 25th wedding anniversary at The Grand. I am pleased that we were able to provide a true five-star experience, also in our restaurant Bridges! Indeed, we strive to create a memorable experience for every guest.

We do hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 2,655 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a fabulous hotel! The service is exceptional, the room was lovely, the bathroom spacious and very thoughtfully appointed, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The Michelin starred restaurant, Bridges, was a real pleasure to dine in, both in terms of the food and the service. The location is good-- within walking distance or a short tram ride for all the museum and sights we wanted to see. This is a great hotel for anyone wanting a luxurious, comfortable, and memorable stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We loved our room-301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your comments complimenting our hotel. We certainly appreciated the opportunity to serve you and are delighted by your review !

Thank you for selecting The Grand for your stay and we hope to soon welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Very good hotel , in the centre of Old Amsterdam. Very helpful staff at the desk. Rooms were spacious, modern, and very clean. A perfect place to discover Amsterdam by bike, rented trough the hotel. Not cheap, but worth it !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janendom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay in The Grand. Indeed, one of the best ways to discover the centre of Amsterdam is by bike; it is such an easy way to get around. I am glad that our typical Dutch bikes were an added value to your stay in Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind rehgards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The Grand Hotel Legend Amsterdam situated in a quiet street alongside a canal is ideal for walking to most of Amsterdam,s attractions. We have stayed in many of the Sofitel group hotels including one of their flagship hotels The Metropole Hanoi. In our opinion the Grand in Amsterdam outshines them all.
Guests are met by a welcoming doorman and friendly reception staff. The General Manager and his assistant are in evidence and approachable at all times. Bridges restaurant offers Michelin standard cuisine with very attentive, friendly staff. The rooms and suites are spacious and well equipped. We highly recommend this 5 star hotel.
Adrian & Jan Multon - UK

Room Tip: Try for one overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianmulton2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

I would like to thank you for leaving such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at The Grand. I am pleased that we are able to provide a true five-star experience, both in our hotel and our restaurant Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw. High quality service is one or our top priorities.

Once again thank you for your kind words and I hope to welcome you back in The Grand on your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a tough review to write. I am here at the Hotel now. The hotel is very clean, very nice, and very attractive. It it centrally located and, despite what some of the negative reviews might say, definitely outside of the red light district. We fly to Amsterdam a few times a year and usually stay at a different property. We tried the Sofitel this time and had positives and negatives.
- We splurged on a suite and it cost a lot. The rate did not include breakfast.
- The staff in the Lounge, restaurant and door and concierge were great.
- Front Desk, while polite, were not very accommodating. Afster staying 4 nights in a suite and spending thousands of euros on our stay, food, drink and spa services, we asked for a late check out. They charged us 175 Euros to stay until 5pm, when the hotel is not full and it is the low season.
- Food and drink prices were very high in the hotel
- The hotel is in a historic building and has gone through many iterations in various functions (government building etc).It feels a little soul-less.
- We did not eat at the restaurant, but heard nothing but positives from other guests and staff.
- The Lounge staff (in the day a French gentleman, Anwar, with close cut hair, and in the evening Lawrence) were great. They spoiled us and were very informative. Anwar actually just brought me another glass of water and some snacks!
- If you needed anything in your room, a quick phone call and it was there immediately. Some hotels take 30 mins or an hour etc, these guys were on the ball in this department.
- I did not complain to the hotel (yet). i will do this at check out, but the bed was really uncomfortable. I was sleeping in a massive egg shaped hole, and I spent the entire night rolling around in it trying to sleep. ~The room is very nice, its just a case of a bed being a victim of large people for too long


In short, these guys would have been a 4 out of 5, but if you are charging me almost 1000 USD a night for a room, I need to see more. If I ask for a late check out, you have to be flexible. If I found the right price, I would stay here again. If the rates are at their current level, I would not book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Crabjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to put your review on Tripadvisor.

We very much appreciate your kind words about the location of the hotel and the employees of the Lounge and Concierge team.

However, we regret to learn about your disappointment about the charge for the late check-out. In this case the receptionist followed the procedure for this, but as you stayed for a couple of days, we do understand your feedback.

With regards to the building, perhaps next time you would like to join the historical tour that is offered daily. This tour gives a little bit more insight, for example on our Marriage Chamber that was painted in 1926 by Chris Lebeau.

We are also sorry to read about the bed that you found uncomfortable. The Sofitel MyBed features a soft surmatelas, which we can take off the next time you wish to stay with us.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Sofitel Legend, The Grand Amsterdam is a beautifull hotel in a fantastic location and offers great bars and a fantastic michelin star restuarant. All of which we sampled, along with the Spa and louges. We had a junior suite for my wife birthday weekend and we were not disappointed, the room was a good size and was decorated beautifully. The staff as always in the Netherlands were very friendly and welcoming. Concierge were invaluable and got us bookings at restuarants and clubs. secon time at sofitel hotel, it is one of the best hotel chains around right now.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for leaving such a positive review of your stay in our hotel Sofitel Legend The Grand, on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you received the right service, as high quality service is one of our top priorities. Your valuable feedback is much appreciated and I have shared your lovely comments with the team.

I hope you think back at our beautiful rooms and fine dining on your next visit to Amsterdam and that you will choose again for The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
791 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £250 - £765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing