We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in the Heart of Old Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in the Heart of Old Amsterdam”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, with acres of history and culture. It is stylish, classy, historical, modern and old with great customer service. I was there speaking at a conference and so had two nights in a 4th floor room overlooking the canal. From arriving to departing, the staff could not help more, at the check in, to breakfast and just around. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and more could always be made for you. Lunch was lovely and light. Dinner was good. The rooms are all quite different, mine was nice, though it could have done with more plug sockets and the lighting was too soft to work easily. Bathroom was smart and clean and modern. I will definately go back on a social/holiday basis. The only downside was my spa treatment - massage - which was not bad, but not up to the quality of the rest of the hotel or any other top spa i have used

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion on our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

Perhaps next time you are in Amsterdam and hopefully again staying in The Grand, you would like to join the historical tour that is offered daily. This tour gives a little bit more insight of the hotel, for example on our Marriage Chamber that was painted in 1926 by Chris Lebeau.

I am sorry however to read that you are less satisfied with the quality of the spa treatment. Plese rest assured that I will share your comments with the Spa Manager.

Once again thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back in The Grand !

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,889
    404
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
394
1,238
100
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at The Grand on a recent business trip. My company was holding a conference at the hotel. I had a standard room, which was small but well-appointed and very comfortable. The location is central Amsterdam on one of the main canals, with a great deal to see and do within a short walk.
The hotel is upscale with excellent service. The dining room was excellent; I believe it has a Michelin star. The conference facilities were across the courtyard in a separate building and accommodated our needs quite nicely.
I enjoyed my stay, but I might look for something a bit less expensive if I were traveling with my family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leom5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
I am very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in The Grand. We find it extremely important that each and every guest, regardless whether you are here for business or leisure, feels comfortable during his stay and that he will lack nothing !

We hope that, even though you might have found The Grand a bit expensive, you will consider staying with us on your next trip to Amsterdam, with your family.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The hotel has 2 great qualities:
1- It is a very high end hotel, with beautiful interior decoration, art pieces, etc.
2- It is very centrally located

One word of caution: you can walk from the central train station to the hotel, but don't be surprised/scared (?) if you find yourself walking through the red light district. The hotel is literally just at the edge of the district. Some nice restaurants around too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BecharaYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel and it’s location. It is a pleasure to read that you appreciated the design and art in the hotel.
Indeed we are super centrally located, which gives our guests the opportunity to easily explore Amsterdam.

We hope you will choose The Grand again should you visit Amsterdam in the future.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Mr Dupart may I congratulate you on this exceptional hotel.The Sofitel achieves standards of excellence other 5 star hotels can only aspire to- indeed many will never reach !!Before our holiday Nathalie in reservations made a lasting impression with excellent communication but with a lovely personal touch.A true ambassador of the hotel.First impressions are lasting ones.
We were lucky enough to stay in a Junior Suite and were greeted by our butler ,Carlos who was very informative,helpful and professional.We had such reassurance our every need would be taken care of.The room was spacious with a lovely view over one of the canals.,,amazing bathroom with TV which my daughter loved,beautiful Hermes toiletries.The bed was so comfortable.The turn down service was a lovely treat with Evian water and a little waffle each night.
The staff in the hotel completely exceeded our expectations-they genuinely did care and worked so hard to ensure everything was perfect.Always a friendly smile.However whilst providing the excellent service still managed to maintain a friendly totally relaxed atmosphere.This is a unique gift and not only very difficult to reach but to maintain.However all the staff displayed the same consistent concepts of pure excellence.Amazing !!!
Breakfast was incredible,with a beautiful selection and the hot dishes were made to order.It is easy to see why Bridges has achieved their recent award.The girls at breakfast a special thanks and for making my daughter feel so special.They actually remember your plans for the day and ask all about them at breakfast the next day.They say it is the little things in life that make a difference but at the Sofitel there are so many extra little things that add to the experience.
The location is a quiet oasis of tranquillity ,nestled between two canals yet 3 mins walk from Dam Square.All attractions are within walking distance.
The history tour of the hotel was fascinating,again the member of staff made it so special.Michael Jackson stayed at the hotel and bought hot chocolate for hundreds of fans and press who were waiting outside in the cold.The hotel remembers this lovely gesture and has named the MJ hot chocolate in memory of the star.It was so relaxing to sit in the library and drink the delicious hot chocolate.
I looked at many hotels before I booked the Sofitel but after a few secs I realised it was certainly
the right decision.I don't think We could return to Amsterdam and stay anywhere else!!!
Thank you for the beautiful memories-priceless.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
It makes me so proud of the entire team of The Grand when I read a review like yours. I am very happy that we are able to provide a true five-star experience !

We believe that service above all is supposed to be in detail: even for just the small treat at the turn-down service or the MJ hot chocolate. I am pleased to read that all these little details conributed to the overall finding.
Your kind comments are much appreciated and I have shared them with the team.

Once again thank you for your lovely review and I hope to soon welcome you back in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uberaba, MG
Level Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

If it is your first time in Amsterdam, this is the place to be. Located in the heart of the city, walking distance from anything you might want to see or do, in a quiet alley just off one of the main canals. The property is beautiful and quite impressive, specially when it is lit at night.
Some people might be concerned about the hotel being so close to infamous red light district and the very many coffee shops, but that is one of the most well kept, well lit and well guarded areas of the city, so there is nothing to worry about.
Being a Platinum Le Club member, I was upgraded to a larger room, which was lovely. Two reasons why I wouldn't give the hotel top score:

1) Doube bed was in fact 2 single beds put together. That makes the middle of the bed extremely uncomfortable to lie on. And also, I found the mattress way too soft, which gave me a bit of back pain in the morning. But Sofitel MyBed is world famous, so I suppose it is a matter of personal taste.

2) There is a small TV on the bathtube and it was frustrating to realize it didn't work after preparing myself a nice bath and getting ready to relax from a long sightseeing day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RodrigoHueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review and I am glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel and your room.

However, I am sorry to learn that you think the bed was too soft. Should you decide to come back to The Grand, we will be happy to remove the surmatelas from the bed to make it less soft.
Thank you also for your remark about the tv in the bathroom; I have immediately notified our Chief Engineering about this issue.

I hope to welcome you back in Sofitel Legend The Grand on your next trip to Amsterdam.

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here quite a few times now and it's by far my favourite in Amsterdam. Warm welcomes, small attentions in the room. Friendly and helpful staff.
Now that they've added a bistro I'm even a bigger fan. The food in the restaurant Bridges is amazing, but sometimes you want somethng a bit more simple. Although 'simple' doesn't do the bistro's food justice as it's truly exquisite as well. And the wines !
Only little downside is the morning breakfast. When you go early (I'm always there when it opens) the service is not yet warmed up so I do get frustrated from time to time having to wait 15 minutes for my first cup of the day. Last time when I had to check-out in a rush and had no time for breakfast they did bring me a cup for take-away while checking out. Loved the attention, thanks again. Super to start the day like that. So a big thank you to all the staff for the many fine stays and see you soon.

Room Tip: When you're on the top floor and it's raining you might hear the constant sound of the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Great minds think alike ! The subject of your review is exactly the device of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam: through the smallest details we try to make every guest feel ‘home away from home’ ! And I am glad we succeeded in this.

Nevertheless I am sorry to read that our breakfast was not totally up to your expectations. I will definitely pass your remarks on to the Restaurant Manager.

Thank you for feedback and I hope to welcome you back in The Grand on your next trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We really, really enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.
The staff were very hospitable, warm and friendly. The hotel was fantastic, clean, warm and well staffed and is also very well located close to Dam Square and this made our trip very enjoyable.
We would definitely recommend the hotel and the location and we hope to return soon for another great experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed you enjoyed your stay at The Grand. Thank you for leaving such a nice review about our hotel and the staff on Tripadvisor.

I hope to soon welcome you back in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing