We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay. The hotel is beautiful and extremely good location.

We arrived at 10am ( check-in is at 2pm). Staff offered us a room early which was very kind but stated that it was a twin bed and there was no queen bed because they were very busy, and although I had booked a queen bed this was a request and not an obligation by the hotel to fulfill. I was unable to show my disappointment of potentially sleeping in different beds from my husband, as staff had given us a room early, and confused as I booked a room for a double bed. They offered to put the beds together,but they had obviously forgotten and we had to ask again at 7pm for the bed to be made. Tom at reception sorted this out very quickly- he was fantastic. Finally, I must note about cleanliness of the room, it was ok but there was blond hair left all over the desk ( my hair is black) and on returning to our room after dinner the room server threw old suger wrappers into the wardrobe onto my shoes- but this only happened once- maybe they had a bad night!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your elaborate and generally positive feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

With that said, however, we recognize that there were a few instances where you were not entirely satisfied. Please rest assured that I will share your comments with the respective managers.

Hope to welcoming you back in The Grand.

Knid regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,932
    415
    119
    50
    33
See reviews for
408
1,263
103
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Celle, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We just stayed one night but experienced the best treatment by the whole hotel team I ever experienced. They're taking care about every little topic you're showing up and the whole team is highly professional for your experiences. Just remarkable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DietgerBahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Our utmost reward is to hear satisfied guests therefore the whole team and I thank you for your words of praise.

I am glad to hear that our staff members have fulfilled your expectations in terms of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

There is difficult to find a better hotel than this. Excellent service in every aspect. History in everything you see around and inside - marriage chambers, mosaics. We had breakfast with finest fruits and wonderful pastry. Concierge and butler, barmen service is best ever i had in my travel life before. Unique atmosphere of history, tulip fragrance and excellent food. They clean the room as many times a day as needed, but you never ask for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaVN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I am glad to read that youhad such a wonderful stay at The Grand.

Every guest is important to us and we do our utmost to have him/her spend magnificent moments at Sofitel Legend The Grand.

We look forward to many other visits of yours.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, fantastic staff, perfect location, could not ask for anything else. Stayed here a few times, and we'll continue to visit this beautiful place time and time again, it's the little touchs that set it apart from other hotels of similar standards. When they found it we were there celebrating my birthday they had a bottle of champagne sent to the room on the house.....just amazing!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
What a pleasure to read your review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your kind words.

Through the smallest details, we try to give each guest a memorable experience. I am glad that also this time we succeeded in this.

I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

Au revoir,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It wouldn't be overstating it to say that this hotel is the best in Amsterdam!

The location is fantastic, it's great value and the service is second to none. There wasn't anything that was too much trouble for the staff who were incredibly helpful and friendly.

Breakfast in bed was amazing - again nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for pointing out your very satisfactory stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand in your positive feedback.

I hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We have visited this hotel on several occasions over a few years. We have driven to Amsterdam each time and have had no problems before. This time we had a puncture on the motorway. After finally getting to the hotel, the reception staff welcomed and checked us in to our prestige suite. A lovely room on the forth floor over looking the canal. Lovely large lounge area in the room.
My husband asked concierge if they could help us with the tyre replacement. We were so pleased, concierge took over, took the car had it all repaired and car returned by the end of the evening. For the same price as we would have paid at home! An amazing service, so helpful and putting our mind at rest for the latter part of our holiday.
During our stay we did ask the hotel for a few things, extra towels, plug adapters and each request was immediately seen too.
We had lunch in the Raw Bar Bistro which was lovely. Great food and lovely wine.
We enjoyed our stay and look forward to coming back again. A hotel where nothing is to much trouble. We would not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladyg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I thank you very much for your comprehensive, positive feedback!

I am glad to hear that we have provided you with outstanding levels of service throughout your stay. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such standards.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best one I've had the pleasure of in amsterdam. The butlers, the beautiful building and courtyard, combined with an epic location make this hotel worthy of its rating

I highly recommend this hotel for business and personal travel

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 10sne12day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for those wonderful lines!

I am glad to hear that you have had a wonderful time in Amsterdam as well as in Sofitel Legend The Grand..

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir !

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,269 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,554 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,495 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing