We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business trip stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent business trip stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel for a couple of nights for a conference held at the same.

Service was very good and attentive. Room standard was great and I had a very nice view of the surrounding and quaint environment.

I would gladly recommend this high end hotel, but probably most for business or couples travel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank QuitePickyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
I am truly glad to hear that you have had such an enjoyable stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam and I would sincerely like to thank you that you recommend our hotel.

I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,960
    420
    119
    50
    33
See reviews for
417
1,278
104
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My husband and I stayed in The Grand Sofitel last week and 'Grand' it was ! We have previously stayed in various hotels in Amsterdam but this hotel is by far the best. We arrived on the Tuesday at 11am to check into our standard room and was informed that we had been selected to be 'guest of the day'. Our standard room was upgraded to a suite with our own private butler. Fantastic news and it just got better. The suite was so spacious and luxurious. Room service was very efficient and the staff couldn't do enough for us. The actual hotel is amazing and my husband enjoyed the spa facilities daily. It's in a great location for Central Amsterdam but is also very quiet and peaceful. We can't wait to stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyd123flore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for posting such a positive feedback.

I thank you also for pointing out the attentive staff all over the hotel. This will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such high standards of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back in The Grand.

Au revoir,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We spent a beautiful long weekend in this phantastic hotel. right in the heart of amsterdam, 50 m from the red light district

check in procedure was a bit long, however very friendly. Room was classic yet modern, had a bit of a challenge with the regulation of the aircondition, but no big deal. beautiful bathroom. the room was on two levels, could pose a hazzle to elder people. The noise isolation to the street was not very good. in combination with our temperature challenges & the proximity to the red light district and its happy returning guest was a bit challenging

breakfast was first class - as was dinner very cool and deserved the michelin star. cost was reasonable considering the creativity.

really amazing concierge service. customized insider tipps - on short notice. As i understand dutch i heard how he pushed for the table / entry to the bar afterwards. understood us and how we ticked. possibly best concierge service i ever had

The gym/pool area has been nicely explained by the staff - including the dresscode (Sauna with clothes please, we have asian guests... did not want to frustrate them :) ) Gym is a bit small, but fine for a citytrip. pool sauna fine however no comfy beds to rest.

Over the days on many occasions we were greeted be name.

A nice little detail which i have never experienced before was the little picknick bag the valet parking left for our way back - almost made us forget the 50€ per night parking fee - Amsterdam...)

the power of good service made us completely forget the little challenges. very recommendable

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mini2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
What a warm and wonderful feedback! Thank you for that!

We genuinely love to pamper all of our guests. I am glad to hear that you were touched by our little surprise upon leaving the hotel.

I also thank you for pointing out your "excellent" experience with our concierge service. I will definitely pass on your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in The Grand.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I enjoyed the hospitality of the Sofitel Legend The Grand staff while visiting it for a Sunday business seminar in one of its rooms. Had my car parked, had a stroll through the city (they are right in the heart of Amsterdam!), enjoyed a fresh breakfast and enjoyed their drive to serve each and every guest during the seminar. A great place to be. Eye of the (city) hurricane.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Indeed one of our numerous assets is that we are centrally located in Amsterdam. This is very convenient for both business and leisure purposes.

I thank you for your positive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend stay. The hotel is beautiful and extremely good location.

We arrived at 10am ( check-in is at 2pm). Staff offered us a room early which was very kind but stated that it was a twin bed and there was no queen bed because they were very busy, and although I had booked a queen bed this was a request and not an obligation by the hotel to fulfill. I was unable to show my disappointment of potentially sleeping in different beds from my husband, as staff had given us a room early, and confused as I booked a room for a double bed. They offered to put the beds together,but they had obviously forgotten and we had to ask again at 7pm for the bed to be made. Tom at reception sorted this out very quickly- he was fantastic. Finally, I must note about cleanliness of the room, it was ok but there was blond hair left all over the desk ( my hair is black) and on returning to our room after dinner the room server threw old suger wrappers into the wardrobe onto my shoes- but this only happened once- maybe they had a bad night!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kl8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your elaborate and generally positive feedback. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

With that said, however, we recognize that there were a few instances where you were not entirely satisfied. Please rest assured that I will share your comments with the respective managers.

Hope to welcoming you back in The Grand.

Knid regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celle, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We just stayed one night but experienced the best treatment by the whole hotel team I ever experienced. They're taking care about every little topic you're showing up and the whole team is highly professional for your experiences. Just remarkable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DietgerBahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Our utmost reward is to hear satisfied guests therefore the whole team and I thank you for your words of praise.

I am glad to hear that our staff members have fulfilled your expectations in terms of service.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

There is difficult to find a better hotel than this. Excellent service in every aspect. History in everything you see around and inside - marriage chambers, mosaics. We had breakfast with finest fruits and wonderful pastry. Concierge and butler, barmen service is best ever i had in my travel life before. Unique atmosphere of history, tulip fragrance and excellent food. They clean the room as many times a day as needed, but you never ask for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaVN20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I am glad to read that youhad such a wonderful stay at The Grand.

Every guest is important to us and we do our utmost to have him/her spend magnificent moments at Sofitel Legend The Grand.

We look forward to many other visits of yours.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,290 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
708 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,582 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#17 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing