We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position and of high standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a great hotel. Rooms are well kept and the general standards throughout are what you would expect given that this hotel is not cheap! Drinks a little on the expensive side but you have enough options close by. You could not want a better position as its right in the centre of Amsterdam. I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and would describe it as a great hotel for couples.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. It always gives me great joy to read a review from a frequent guest such as yourself.

I was so glad to read that we met your expectations and that you found our rooms and the general standards of the hotel to your liking.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 2,763 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

The receptionist took ages to check us in and even mixed up room numbers.
The hotel P R noticed us standing at reception and enquired if everything was
OK , I told her that the check in was taking too long , which she thought was a joke
and just put on her best P R smile! My suite was old and shabby maybe 2 star not
even close to 5 star.The concierge messed up our restaurant booking but stii had
the cheek to "hope we had a nice evening ". Breakfast was awful and expensive
for nothing.All in all horrible experience. We expect to visit Amsterdam very often in
future but never again staying at this place

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Even though I am sorry to learn about your disappointment, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. It allows us to improve ourselves where needed.

I want to assure you of my concern in this matter, as the service that you describe is definitely not up to the standard we strive for. Naturally, your comments have been shared with the departments heads involved and an internal follow-up is assured to prevent the events from happening again in the future.

Moreover, I would like to ask you to contact me personally when your travels bring you back to Amsterdam.

I am sure our employees and I can prove ourselves a better host and would very much appreciate a second change, if you would be willing to provide us with one.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Check in takes a long time for the most expensive and tiny rooms in Amsterdam. The staff simply doesn't care at all. The room and bathroom are small, and we booked a more deluxe room, I can't imagine what a cheaper room would be! EVERY time we arrived at the hotel after dark, we were grilled by the idiot doorman to see our keys, as if we were sneaking in. As if the SAME guy couldn't be bothered to remember us for 4 nights! I understand security, but they treated us like crap. If I'd gotten a cheap shiny suit instead of wearing jeans and sneakers to WALK around a rainy Amsterdam, maybe those morons would have been nice to us? After 4 cities and some of the nicest hotels in Europe, this was a ridiculous waste of money and effort. If you think this place is 5 star, go to a real one, and you will see the difference. They shouldn't treat people like criminals. The criminal here is the management of the hotel and snooty over the top Dutch people that have never been anywhere, and are full of themselves for working there!

Room Tip: yes, another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CookieTravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We are sorry to learn that you are disappointed with the size of the room and bathroom, but above all we are worried about your comments on our staff behavior.

I can only say that I am truly sorry to read about your feeling towards our employees. We train our employees to work pro-actively in reading our guests’ needs and to deliver a personal service. It is very regrettable to learn that we failed in providing you with this during your stay with us.

At Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam we pride ourselves in offering a high level of service;
I hope that you will give us the opportunity to prove this to you when you next visit Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The decor is outdated. The service is moderately decent. Prices of the produce are a rip off and the food is bad. The breakfast is approx 36 euros a head. Basically for a yogurt with some eggs, bacon and sausages, a total rip off. We were haggled constantly regarding a room deposit, that was totally unnecessary considering we paid in advance. Be warned the WiFi is only 60kbps unless you pay an upgrade fee of over 10 euros per day! The room toilets smell horrible.. This hotel just isn't good and I consider it a complete rip off.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We are very sorry to learn about your experience in Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I believe our Guest Relations Manager has been in contact with you during your stay and I am disappointed to read that the measurements we took during your stay and after your check out have not been able to change your feelings.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with my Management Team.

We are truly looking forward to welcoming you back in The Grand.

Kind regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Grand is all that the name implies. A true oasis centrally located in the heart of the old city, it's a perfect refuge after a day out in the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. Splurge on the "apartments" rather than the standard rooms for truly royal experience.

Room Tip: The apartments with a canal view are worth the expenditure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Our location is indeed a real asset to the hotel, with the lovely views of the canals and the inner garden, as well as the Royal Palace and other museums on our doorstep too.

I look forward to seeing you again.

Kindest regards,
Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The greatest place to stay. Everyone of the staff members go above and beyond to exceed your needs. Great location easy travel to anywhere in the city they have bikes available. Food is great. I could not find a flaw. We traveled Europe for two weeks stayed in very nice places everywhere, and this was my favorite. Looking forward to a return trip already.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Your wonderful review was appreciated by each and every member of the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you so much !

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Two years ago in December we went to Amsterdam and decided to stay in The Legend. We found a promotion on their website, and had no expectations at all, since we had booked the cheapest room (which was still really expensive for common people like us:)). Arriving in the hotel lobby was like entering a movie, with pictures of all rockstars and Hollywood legends that had stayed there on the walls. The staff was very kind and helpful, not blasé at all. It took us a while to get to the room, but it was absolutely lovely, very chique and romantic. It didn't have a "cheapest room" impression at all:). We al went to the very cosy and luxurious spa (don't forget your swimming suit), which is included in the price.We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, since that was a bit too pricy for us:). We had coffee and poffertjes in a coffee house (not coffee shop) across the corner!

Room Tip: There are promotions available on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefaan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We were delighted that you chose Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam for your stay in a five-star hotel. Your fantastic review describes what we strive for every day – thank you so much.

We hope this will be the first of many visits and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With all good wishes,

Denis Dupart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,249 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
574 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £253 - £709 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing