We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel that needs help with day-to-day operation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel that needs help with day-to-day operation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Grand was our final destination after a two-week vacation in Croatia. We only had a night in Amsterdam and wanted something a little special. Unfortunately, our experience as guests left us unimpressed.

First, it took more than 30 minutes to get the bags to the room, which made us worry they got stolen from the entrance where we left them at check-in. After we contacted reception, the bags were delivered.

Then we found the TV wasn't working properly. Maintenance staff responded promptly to our call but couldn't resolve the issue. Management was kind enough to move us to another room, and while this gesture was appreciated, the switch was a noticeable disruption. I realize no one goes to Amsterdam to watch TV, but when you're paying luxury hotel rates, it's reasonable to expect room equipment to function properly.

Both rooms had a slight but still unmistakable sewage smell. We thought it may have been the canal, but upon opening the windows, the outdoor air quality was fine. Also, the room we were moved to (406) had a very loud HVAC system that made sleep difficult and stressful.

Staff were cordial enough, but there was kind of an air of elitism, such as when we were offered a breakfast package for an additional 30 euros per person (regularly 37 euros). I can't imagine what we could possibly eat at breakfast that would cost almost $90.

When we inquired about transportation to Schiphol, staff said they could provide a limousine service. (We didn't bother to ask for a price quote). When we mentioned a cabbie who quoted us a flat rate of 40 euros, staff balked and said a cab ride to the airport would cost "much more" than that.

Luckily, we had the cab driver's card and arranged our own transportation. He came and picked us up the next morning at the hotel in a silver Mercedes and took us to Schiphol for 40 euros as promised, so obviously what staff told us isn't the case.

However, our stay wasn't entirely unpleasant. The bedding and robes were luxurious and the property itself is beautiful and centrally located. It's close to the Red Light district and cafes, but we felt very, very safe walking around.

We will return to Amsterdam at some point, but I am pretty certain we will select another hotel for our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,855
    398
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
388
1,222
98
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel first time at January 2012. What a great experience! Since the moment we arrived there, we just fell in love with this place. Staff is highly trained, they pay attention to every single detail - pure kindness and efficiency, at any moment they are there for you. Concierge service superb - in short notice they managed to book some of the best restaurants and museums in Amsterdam - great job! Our suite was excellent, clean, quiet, cozy and beautiful with a canale view. Everything in the suite is top quality from the most comfortable bed, Bose music system and Nespresso machine to Heremes toaletries - everything you need is just there. And if it happens by any chance that you need something you forgot at home, no worries - just call them and will be at your door in no time. Hotels Butler service is excellent, ask for Mauricio, he helped us a lot with his suggestions, great professional and very nice man (thank you Mauricio:) We would also recommend hotels restaurant Bridges... we had a lovely dinner, and wonderful evening there. The hotel building itself got high historical value. It is just legendary and amazing, ask for more historical details when you arrive - you ll be surprised :) Also, hotel is perfectly located, one of the best locations in Amsterdam.
All in all, We had splendid time at The Grand Amsterdam hotel, we enjoyed our stay the so much that we returned 2 more times, and we will be returning as it is our favorite getaway place now.
Try, you wont regret...

Room Tip: We liked our canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivingDream2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
What an inspiring feedback. We are very grateful for the kind words you have given us on your review. We are excited to read how much you enjoyed the comforts of your room and the wonderful dinner in our Michelin star awarded restaurant Bridges, Inspired by Ron Blaauw.

Furthermore, we are humbled of how highly you valued the service from our team. I will be delighted to share your comments with everyone here.

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand and for highlighting the areas that sets us ahead from our competition.

We look forward to have you here again at The Grand.

Warm regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Oh my, where to start? The service at this property cannot be beaten. Everyone goes out of their way to make your stay the best is can possibly be. We were upgraded to an apartment that comes with butler service. Wow! The people manning the concierge desk were always ready to recommend a restaurant, call a cab, give directions. The location is perfect. Walking distance to so much of what you want to see here. Breakfast is a delightful experience where they know you by name and remember your preferences from day to day. All in all I can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsmom32207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
It is always very pleasing to hear such great feedback from our valued guests and it's through feedback such as this that we can truly gauge how successful we are at achieving the high standards we set for ourselves.

We very much enjoyed reading your positive review and your kind words are greatly appreciated.

We could not wait to welcome you once again.

Warm regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

The moment you walk into this hotel, you know you've made the right choice.
First of all, the location is ideal because it is quietly hidden away in a serene environment yet quite central.
This hotel is befitting of its name unlike some other hotels in Amsterdam. It is truly magnificent.
Staff members were very helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was excellent, however quite pricey. It is advisable to book a package with breakfast, if not, still worth it.
We were recommended two great restaurants by the concierge, one local and the other Indonesian. Both were really good.
We walked everywhere also to the Van Gogh museum …. It is a great place to walk however, watch out for cyclists and trams.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand for your recent stay, and for your 5-star review!
We are delighted that we could provide an oasis of calm in the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
157 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

As a five-star, expensive hotel, Sofitel Legend gives you what you look and pay for. For me the most notable thing was the staff! They were the best ever; very helpful, friendly, with a big smile on their faces. That holds true for receptionists, doormen, concierge, house keeping, waiters and all. The breakfast was quite satisfactory with great coffee. The internet connection was fast. There was a coffee machine in the room. Because of its central location it was easy to walk to major attractions. The inner garden of the hotel (it is a bar called the Flying Dutch) has a particularly nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the canal with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelinIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam on your recent visit. We want you to know that we appreciate your business and that you took the time to provide us with your wonderful review on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels take you to Amsterdam.

Sincerely,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great hotel, located in a building full of history but modernly furnished with perfect taste. The position of the hotel is perfect too, in the centre of Amsterdam on a beautiful canal, a few minutes’ walk from Dam Square. Our room was spacious and very clean. Fantastic staff, all the staff, always helpful and friendly. We didn't try breakfast, as it was not not comprised in the price and it's full of eateries in the surrandings. Of course is a five star hotel, so prices are not precisely popular, but, as the saying goes, “value for money”. What to say more? Fantastich!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Pala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, it’s location and our staff. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

We hope that next time your travels bring you to Amsterdam you will chose The Grand again and that at that occasion you will try our delicious breakfast.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location,service,stuff and the atmosphere gives you the best for to feel and live the magical,relaxing,attractive and joyfull amsterdam get aways...if you have the opportunity don't need to look any other..absouletly perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Can A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupart D, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive review on Tripadvisor and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

With kind regards,

Denis Dupart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing