We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST HOTEL EXPERIENCE IN EUROPE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL EXPERIENCE IN EUROPE”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few days. The location is incredible--just close enough to the downtown core, but far enough to enjoy the classic, quiet ambiance.
The hotel was superb, service outstanding and overall experience was top notch.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and the rooms were massive (by European standards)
OUTSTANDING!

Room Tip: We loved our canal view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your Five Star review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, that we exceeded your expectations overall and that you thought the service was outstanding.

I look forward to sharing your wonderful feedback with the staff. Thank you also for recommending our hotel to other travellers.

We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand soon.

Kindest regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,887
    404
    117
    51
    32
See reviews for
394
1,237
100
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The hotel is beautiful, well located the room has a view to the water canal , They offer a Nespresso machine inside the room and with a variety of flavors. And the breakfast was great, a lot of options. The staff was very helpful.

Room Tip: Our room had a view for the water canal, you can watch the ducks and swans swimming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diogo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words regarding your recent stay at The Grand.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and the amenities. I will definitely pass on your kind comment about the staff to all of them.

I hope to soon welcome you back in The Grand.

Kindest regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Located on the edge of the Red Light District has both benefits and cons, but the hotel is an oasis of calm, the service attentive and the rooms stylish and well appointed. A great place from which to explore the City.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gegs_wegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel an oasis of calm in the midst of the buzzing city

We all hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back before long to relax and enjoy our beautiful spaces.

Once again many thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Brilliant staff very very well appointed. Everything seems pristine and new nice touches with beautiful flowers everywhere. Can't fault it and is so peaceful with a lovely courtyard in the centre of the city. Management can take a bow for their staff make it for me.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write your kind words. I have passed these on to my team here at The Grand and we all hope to welcome you back soon.

My kindest regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barbados
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This hotel was an oasis in the middle of Amsterdam. Hotel has a real `old world ` feel to it .Right on a canal and 5 minute walk from the Dom We were upgraded to a suite on the 4th floor which was very nice but I must confess I would have preferred a room with a canal view which we had booked with Virtuoso. Also note this suite was on the 4th floor and the lifts only go to the 3rd floor. we had to go up and down some rather tricky stairs to get to our suite(we are in our seventies.)These stairs would be made easier if there were rails on both sides of stairway. Having said this the staff were very pleasant and helpful

Room Tip: Do not take room on 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy6543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemcoGroenhuijzen, Management Assistant at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent visit of Sofitel Legend The Grand.

Whilst I am happy that you enjoyed the hotel and thought the staff was very helpful, I am sorry to read that you did not like the allocated room because of the stairs leading to your room. Please accept our apologize for any inconvenience caused.

I would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand and I would request that you contact me prior to your next visit to allow me to make sure that your stay is 100% to your satisfaction.

Kindest regards,

Pauline Kerckhoffs
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Sofitel legend The Grand Amsterdam is centrally located in Amsterdam. It is true that it is near the red-light district but it is outside the area and we found it to be very quiet considering its central location.

The hotel itself is beautiful and we were fortunate to be upgraded to a suite which was huge. I definitely recommend a suite if you want to spoil yourself. There is a lot of history surrounding the hotel and I recommend the free tour they provide.

However, the best thing about this hotel is the excellent customer service. A big thank you to Niels who made us feel very welcome and made our 10 year old daughter feel very special. She looks forward to visiting again as do we.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is to ensure we deliver the best service and facilities to our guests, so I am pleased that we met your expecations. I will definitely pass your kind words on to Niels !

I do hope that you and your family will join us again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Excellent location.
Perfect staff, especially the concierge.
Comfy room, excellent bedding.
Enjoying the swimming pool and the sauna & hammam after an exausting day of visit, was delightful.
If it were not that expensive, I would stay there more often...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RemcoGroenhuijzen, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at Sofitel Legend The Grand. I am so happy that you enjoyed the service and facilities we provided you with.

Please do come back and stay with us on your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing