We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Grand is a 10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
1 review
“The Grand is a 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

Me and my wife stayed at this wonderful hotel for five days and loved it. Great atmosphere, beautiful architecture and even better service.
This hotel can be recommended to everyone who is visiting Amsterdam. It is near al the big tourist attractions and the Central Station.
The rooms are very comfortable and the interior is outstanding. This hotel has my vote for best hotel in Amsterdam!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikaStanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,855
    398
    117
    50
    32
See reviews for
388
1,222
98
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

My husband and me booked an escapade, at promotional rates, got upgraded to an apartment suite! Although we didn't use the first floor, it was a nice touch! The location is great; although close to everything, walking distance from the train station, the Dam, the main places, it is an oasis of quiet, a chic ambiance. The hotel itself is worth seeing, with its colored glasses and reminiscences of distinguished guests from bygone times. We didn't try the facilities though, but what we saw was good enough. The service is excellent, (very untypical of the locals, unfortunately), from the reception staff, to Udo, the concierge who makes miracles, or Peter, the bell boy. Would go back, for sure!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TitaCatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Dear Guest, We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

This hotel is an excellent choice for a weekend city break in Amsterdam. I stayed 2 nights with friends and the hotel made it such an enjoyable experience! The rooms are luxurious and a good size with fantastic beds making it very hard to get up in the morning! We had a great view over the canal and were not disturbed by any noise. Rooms contained all the amenities needed and staff were extremely helpful and professional.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand. We hope to able to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

just returned from the sofitel booked a surprise 50th birthday for my husband. hotel ,rooms, staff, and location were fantastic. the hotel staff were wonderful and made every effort to make our stay special. they presented my husband with a cake and domingo the waiter in the resturant was very hospitable and really nice guy, providing us with information of the city .
thanks again to the sofitel we will be back.
lorraine, mick robinson and john and lynne hewitt.
ps domingo enjoy your friends wedding dont get to drunk you have to work the next day x

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbie1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 August 2009
Dear Guest, We were delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand. And that it was a positive birthday experience. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, as well as our staff. We hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

We stayed at this hotel for only two days, paid more than we were used to, but it was worth it!
Great bed, great room, very clean.
Close to the train station and city center.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenCaetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 31 August 2009
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your encouraging review about your stay at Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel, especially with your room, the ‘Sofitel Mybed’ and the location of the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel soon. Your sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

location in amsterdam is unbeatable;close to the very centre,next to red light district and still quiet.rooms very nice and faultless.atmosphere is great and cozy.business rooms are splendid.one of the best locations for visiting amsterdam. not very easy to reach when traffic is busy.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 August 2009
Dear Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your views and experiences of your stay at Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand. We were very pleased to learn of your comments, which are certainly very rewarding and encouraging. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Beautiful Hotel that was once a Convent. Stayed 2 nights in July. Room was spacious and contemporary with flatscreen TV and great channels. Nice coffee machine. Big bathroom, yes, the shower did leak but have had that happen in other hotels. Had a view of the courtyard, unfortunately they were working on it while we were there and we did hear some noise. Breakfast in the restaurant was overpriced.

Great location! 5 minutes from Dam Square(and the Tram), 2 minutes to the Red Light District, 15 minute walk to Central Station. Tons of shopping, restaurants and coffeeshops around but the hotel is set back enough away from the hustle and bustle. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

I will definately stay here the next time I go to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 18 August 2009
First of all, may we thank you for sharing your views with us and for giving us a chance to address your remarks. At Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand we consider your feedback as the most valuable tool to evaluate the high quality of service expected by our guests. We were very pleased to learn of your comments, which are certainly very rewarding and encouraging. It was nice to read that you were satisfied with the room, the location and our staff. We would like to assure you that we have taken good note of your remarks concerning the leaking shower and the noise from the garden. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing