We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation in Amersterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Vacation in Amersterdam”
Reviewed 31 December 2009

The hotel was in the middle of a renovation, so sometimes the elevator didn't work. But the staff was very friendly and always took us up in the 'construction' elevator. The breakfast there was wonderful. We did not eat dinner there, however, as it was very expensive.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boomergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, Hotel Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 January 2010
Dear Guest, First of all, Happy New Year! Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand. We were very happy to read that you liked the breakfast in our newly refurbished restaurant 'Bridges'. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,912
    407
    118
    50
    32
See reviews for
405
1,250
100
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Last week I took my wife on a trip to Amsterdam. I booked a suite in The Grand for two nights. The room was decorated and furnished in a classic French style with a modern touch and it was foreseen of 21st century comfort. Lovely to experience coming back to the hotel from a long day of shopping and site seeing and enjoy al the luxury and splendor the Grand offers; The ability to watch TV while taking a bath, soft bathrobes and an exhilarating view over the canals. Thanks to The Grand we had a lovely stay in Amsterdam. We can certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradlyCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 November 2009
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay at Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand. We hope to able to welcome you back soon. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Stayed here in September with three friends. I travel frequently and have stayed in a lot of hotels worldwide. This hotel had one of the best standard of bedrooms I have seen. The beds are amazingly comfortable. The bathrooms are incredibly modern with fantastic rain showers. It is close to the red light district but if you turned left out of the hotel then you may not have noticed. Staff were wonderful and attentive. The restaurant was a little short staffed during the breakfast which led to delays but there are few who would possibly want to pay for it. Although good, very expensive - even by hotel standards. Wonderful architecture and history to the building which I prefer to modern hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My girlfriend and i have just spent 2 nights at the Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand.

The location was great, the decoration of great taste but the service was not worthy of a 5-star.

If you intend to use the spa facilities, please be aware that it is currently being renovated, so no access there.

We booked the cheapest room which featured :
- No bathtub (never seen that in any hotel at all, let alone a "5-star" !
- Broken glass on the floor ! (they apologized and offered us a complementary bottle of wine, which was nice).
- No TV remote control (i had to go down to reception to ask for one..).
- No direct access by phone to the reception.
- Dusty shelves in the bathroom.
- Scratches on the furniture.
- The complementary bottle of water was not replaced overnight.

Except for the glass, you might think that these are small details of no importance, but when you add them all together it does somehow lessen the appeal of this great hotel and diminishes the rating too.

Still a very good place to stay. The staff are kind and well intentioned, but it shouldn't be hard work for the customer as it was for me.

We did not have lunch nor breakfast in the hotel, so i cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doucemelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review and your stay at Sofitel Amsterdam The Grand. We certainly hope our e-mail has found you well. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koper, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2009

I have been in many luxurious hotels all over the world and I can affirm that this hotel is one of the best, without any doubt. The location of the hotel is excellent, the room (suite) is fantastically furnished and the staff is incredibly polite.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

I booked a suite at this hotel as a treat for a few days away for total relaxation. Arrived by car and from the moment we went into the courtyard service could not be bettered anywhere. However I chose this hotel for two real reasons, firstly the Spa and secondly the central location. The spa was closed for refurbishment ! I didnt realise the hotel was literally on the edge of the red light district, for many people that wouldnt be a problem but at a weekend especially the whole area is crawling with drunken stag party revellers, unfortunately many are British using foul language and flouting any drinking in the street laws etc etc. Not what I wanted from a romantic weekend away, I am sure that during the week this wouldnt be too much of an issue and anyway instead of turning right from the hotel just turn left, it is different again and you see the real Amsterdam.
The spa being closed was a real issue as we just wanted to relax, the hotel offered us the opportunity to be bussed to another hotel they use the facilities of, but I declined as its not the same as being able to walk downstairs in the fluffy robe just when you feel like it. So we cancelled our third night and moved on to Bruges.
Would I stay there again, yes almost certainly, the spa being closed wasnt their fault although I wish I had been told on booking and the location, whilst being a little intimidating, is so central and exceptional by just walking the other way. The concierge was really very good, booking us at the very last minute an exceptionally good restaurant, the five flies, and on leaving there was mad panic when we decided to leave a day early as apparently the concierge hadnt got my "parcel" ready for the car. The car was brought to the door, he hurried off and came back with "the parcel". This consisted of sustenance for the journey, a couple of apples, breakfast bars and 2 bottles of water, a very nice touch!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelAmsterdamTGA, The Management at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this review, 16 October 2009
Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive feedback. We apologize for not meeting up with your expectations. We appreciate it that you are sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Yours sincerely, The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
275 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This hotel is absolutely beautiful. When I was there, it seemed as if the hotel had plenty of space and yet for a four day stay, we were placed on a floor under construction.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labonnevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,238 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,534 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Property: Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing