We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, though it is expensive, let down by service which was not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed for 5 days in August. Delighted to get an upgrade to a junior suite and very impressed to be taken their by our "personal butler". The hotel location is fantastic - right next to but not in, the busiest part of town. The room was huge, a wonderful canal view, with every amenity possible .......at first sight. There was a Nespresso machine which we used, the capsules were never replaced so after 6 cups between two of us we had to ask for more. There was some fruit in the room - we ate it and it was not replaced. It was a lottery as to what combination of bath towels, small towels and face cloths would appear. We asked the butler to arrange afternoon tea in the library for us and 3 friends - nothing special, it was an advertised service. 5 minutes later he was up in the room with menus asking us to choose - but the friends were not due until the afternoon so we said we would decide specifics then. (The specifics were which tea, and did we want champagne). Friends arrived, no sign of tea in the library and no one knew of then request. Butler was summoned and appeared to sort it out - 4 teas arrived for 5 people.
The hotel was very expensive - even for a junior suite - you are paying for location and room. Service was pretty second rate. One final thing - we had the room buy the lift and every time it moved we could hear it winding up and down. Did not stop us sleeping but it did disturb our sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,651 - 1,657 of 2,709 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2010

We walked our a way from the central station to this hotel , it;s hectic to move around with ur suitcase through the streets with all the hustle bustle , but when we reached our hotel , it was certianly GRAND. Please take the superior Room , the classic is not bad but the superior is excellent and plus you have a canal view , we were upgraded to a suite on our last two days which was massive "a bathtub with a Tv "Wow . Eveything in Amsterdam is nearby so this hotel fits it all. They had wonderful customer service . I suggest this is one of the finest Hotel in amsterdam it;s classy , comfy bed, and it;s right in the center of everything .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D777799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The Sofitel is a grand, luxurious hotel. The location was pretty central and you can walk to any tourist areas.

There were building works going on outside the building but this did not detract from the hotel and there were not any disturbances.

Having said that, the coffee maker in the room was extremely dusty and in need of a good clean. Also when i tried to use it, i found that the inside was dirty too. Not really acceptable for a £300 a night hotel.

This was the only downside. Other than that, great hotel, great location and great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Only a few steps away from the hustle and bustle around the Old Church and yet as quiet as a mansion in the countryside: That's the Amsterdam Grand Sofitel for you. It's so centrally located that you can actually walk from Amsterdam Centraal train station. Also some of the best restaurants are in close proximity. The hotel used to be a convent and later Amsterdam city hall. Don't miss the council hall, the mayor's office and the marriage chamber – they are all open to the public.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiss_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A real AAA hotel perfectly located in the heart of Amsterdam with efficient service and smiling personnel. Would definitely go back whether on business or for a leisure staying.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeV_Wolverine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

After a glorious refurb. this hotel is looking stunning. The staff seem really to enjoy their work, they are very smart too. Service is superb, friendly, yet very professional. We were asked if we wanted to upgrade to a junior suite for 60 euros a night, we did and were not disappointed. The decor is plush, the bathroom in black slate, a huge bath -freestanding and glorious toiletries. We had views from our 5th floor across the Amsterdam rooftops and canals. The hotel could not be in a better position, close to bars, restaurants, sleaze - if you want it and shops. The prices were what you would expect in a 5* hotel, the bar prices were actually reasonable.

There is building work in the spa area, we didn't notice so much as a workman, this will be finished in August. We had room service, the food was decent quality, but the menu is limited, great croque monsieur though. There is a simply stunning courtyard bar and restaurant area, which was always lively, being a courtyard it was also an oasis from the hedonistic delights outside. The room was quiet, with excellent air conditioning, TV had BBC1 and2 and a few other English Channels.

Parking was 50 Euros a night, but that was to be expected here. Also bottled water seemed very expensive compared to other drinks.

The nicest touch was when they brought the car when we left and there was a gift for the journey home; two bottles of water, two muesli bars and two wipe up towelettes, how sweet is that?

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear guest,

We appreciate that you took the time to leave your remarks on TripAdvisor. We would like to thank you for your positive words.

Please note that we have passed on your comment about the price of the bottle of water to our Food & Beverage manager.

We hope to soon welcome you back !

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Picked this hotel because our Delta points paid for it in full and what an unexpected gem!!
AMAZING!!
The staff are friendly, courteous and go out of their way to treat you as a special guest or a VIP!
The beds are wonderful! After being in other hotels in Europe (with hard frames & no box springs) for the past 2 weeks before arriving at Sofitel, we finally felt comfort!
It was noisy due to its proximity to the red light district but if you want quiet, stay outside the city! We didn't mind the noise and loved watching all the canal boats go by our window.
We will stay here again! No question!
(exclamation points reveal our enthusiasm)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,402 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 197, 1012 EX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £235 - £790 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOFITEL LEGEND THE GRAND AMSTERDAM.Furnished with French elegance and grandeur, the hotel welcomes a variety of visitors, from the trendy Amsterdam elite to royal brides or famous international movie stars. In each of the rooms, the restaurant, the hallways and the beautiful garden terrace, design and history captivate and seduce everyone into visiting. ROOMS & SUITES.Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam offers 177 spacious rooms, including 52 luxurious suites, amongst which 14 individually designed Suite Apartments: lodgings in 17th century canal houses. The rich history of the hotel is, as naturally, incorporated into the new architectural details in many ways. WELL BEING.Access to the relaxing SoSPA is complimentary for all hotel guests. It is the ideal place to unwind and pamper yourself. SoSPA houses an indoor heated swimming pool, a private Turkish steam bath, a Jacuzzi, a sauna, private treatment rooms and a SoFIT fitness area. INSPIRED MEETINGS.The 17 fully equipped banqueting and conference rooms, five of which are listed as historic monuments, provide the ultimate venue for meetings or conferences in Amsterdam. All rooms have natural daylight and are equipped with the latest technical facilities. BRIDGES RESTAURANT.The modern and trendy fish restaurant serves dishes with an emphasis on sea food and fish, mostly Dutch organic produce with a French twist. Bridges bar and lounge are the heart of restaurant, offering exclusive wines and vintage Champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel The Grand Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Accor The Grand Amsterdam
Sofitel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing