We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes.”

Reypenaer Cheese Tasting Room
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.77*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #2 of 59 Food & Drink in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tasting centre for some of the finest Dutch cheeses. The historic ripening process of the Reypenaer cheeses is unique in the Netherlands. In the 100-year-old warehouse on the Oude Rijn river in Woerden, the Reypenaer cheeses are matured in an entirely natural way. Over time, this process leads to the distinctive and complex taste with its exceptional aroma that characterises these artisan cheeses.In the Reypenaer Cheese Tasting Rooms in the centre of old Amsterdam, you can personally test and evaluate the flavour, the aroma and the qualities of the Reypenaer cheeses, all under the guidance of an expert cheese taster.Each cheese tasting session lasts approximately one hour, and caters for a maximum of 20 people per tasting. Tasting workshops take place every Monday and Tuesdays from 13.00H till 15.00H Wednesday to Sunday throughout the day from 12.00H to 17.00H. The Connoisseur workshop costs €15.00 Per person. There is also an Special Tasting where you get a Reypenaer present, costing €20.00 Per person.We also cater for private groups, corporate events and private parties for groups of up to 20 people.Opening Hours: Sunday 11.00H to 18.00 And Monday to Saturday 10.00H to 18.00H.Getting there: Printable map...By Public Transport: From Amsterdam Central Station with Tramline 1,2,5,13 or 17 or Bus 142, 144 or 170. Get out at stop Dam/RaadhuisstraatBy foot: From Amsterdam Central Station 10 minutesBy Watertaxi: VIP Water Taxi...Parking: De Kolk, Amsterdam Centraal P1, Bijenkorf
Level Contributor
105 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yes.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The whole cheese/wine tasting experience was delightful! We learned a lot and ate some delicious cheeses. We found Reypenaer Cheese in the States for about 10 times the cost, so stock up while you're there!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    266
    29
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really interesting and learnt a lot about Dutch cheese!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We were quite interested to learn about Dutch cheese as you don't normally hear too much about it, and when we saw this activity rated so highly on TripAdvisor we thought we would give it a go! We had booked ahead and it turned out to be a really hot day in Amsterdam so we were pleased to go into the air-conditioned room for the tasting! Our 'teacher' for the day was very pleasant and good at getting people involved! We got to taste six cheeses and take notes on various elements including smell, taste, colour, etc. We used a special cheese guilliotine and got to learn how to properly taste cheese. Interestingly enough, I thought bread would be provided but because this is proper cheese tasting you dont have bread to muffle the cheese flavours. However, there was wine provided which I hadn't initially realised! So that seemed like a fair trade to me! They are not stingy with making you stop eating a certain cheese, in fact at the end they encourage you to go have some more of your favourite! Overall I quite enjoyed this as it is something different to do in Amsterdam!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraussie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Executive Summary

Pros - Friendly host, decent tour of the brand and background of cheeses, discount on cheese purchases after the tour

Picky cons - The pairing wine and port were pretty average (but drinkable)

Overall I would recommend this.

Top tip - check on their website for the availability of tours on a specific day

Thanks you for a positive experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank JonoMichaelL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Delicious fun!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had tons of fun learning about cheese and the what to pair with them. Went with my boyfriend and we enjoyed every minute!

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Lucila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great experience with good service”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My friends and I booked this cheese tasting experience along with a 1 hour canal trip. We paid €20 which we thought was very good value. The cheese tasting room is small but pretty - you are seated at tables with 6 different cheeses. You are taught how to 'properly' taste cheese and what drinks to pair it with. We were all given very generous glasses of white wine, red wine and port and the younger visitors given juice.

The host was very enthusiastic and friendly. I would recommend this activity to anyone visiting Amsterdam, whatever age.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rayneface96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reypenaer Cheese Tasting Room also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Reypenaer Cheese Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing