We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn´t meet my expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Van Gogh Museum

Van Gogh Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.77*
and up
Van Gogh Museum Entrance Ticket and Amsterdam Hop-On Hop-Off Boat Day Pass
Ranked #3 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover the world's largest collection of works by Dutch painter Vincent van Gogh at the Van Gogh Museum in Amsterdam, featuring masterpieces such as Sunflowers, The Potato Eaters, Almond Blossom and The Bedroom.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Didn´t meet my expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I was expecting an amazing building full of paintings. The building itself wasn´t very nice nor big (they are constrcuting a new one though)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pabliko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25,525
    10,962
    3,078
    578
    266
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The museum's exhibits are extensive and well organized. A visit is a must if you like Van Gogh paintings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Strehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Van Gogh Museum - Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

A fantastic building in centre housing many of the great mans masterpieces. We all know many of these painting, but during his life he only sold one and that was to a relative! Lovely bars and restuarant in museum.

Its reputed his VVG's brother moved to America and set up what eventially became Hertz Van Rental.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomtheCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“No Sunflowers.. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We visited in January & we were looking forward to seeing his greatest painting "Sunflowers" however it was no where to be seen. The only thing that bothered me was that there was no indication that it had been moved or it wasn't going to be in the building. I had to search the internet to find where it had gone. (London National Gallery) We didn't mind though the other paintings were all delightful. The museum is very well laid out and spacious & also wheelchair friendly. If you are into art this is a must on your trip.

Helpful?
Thank BelfastBabe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice to See Original Art - Not Much In Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Bought tickets online to save time and had to stand in line with ID to get a ticket to prove you bought the tickets and then no one new what to do and security pats us down and then had to go inside to a special area and give ID, special tickets, etc. and wait for the printer that was not working to print a ticket - are you kidding?
Nice to see original work. Museum is very gray inside.
Not much there except a museum store and tourist restaurant. Wish we went to Rambandt instead.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zahzel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Van Gogh Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Van Gogh Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing