We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very interesting experience”
Review of Anne Frank House

Anne Frank House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.58*
and up
Anne Frank and Jewish Quarter Guided Walking Tour in Amsterdam
Ranked #2 of 509 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Visit the hiding place where Anne Frank wrote her diary during the Second World War. From 9 AM to 3:30 PM the museum is only open to visitors with an online ticket for a particular timeslot. Tickets are made available on the website two months in advance. The Anne Frank House is a small museum with limited capacity. The demand for tickets is far greater than the number available. If you are unable to buy an online ticket, you can always from 3:30 PM until closing time visit the museum and buy a ticket at the museum entrance.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very interesting experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Anne Frank House is telling the history of Anne Frank and her family in a way you really feel it - you are in the actual house, with the actual things and pictures. It is very interesting and educating. And the last room with current life films and questions is not less important.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tanya1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43,542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28,736
    10,371
    3,096
    867
    472
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sobering”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Despite having been to Amsterdam numerous times, this was the first time I had taken the time to visit the Anne Frank House. I am so glad I did. My teenagers (ages 15 and 17) had read The Diary, and seeing where Anne lived brought her personal thoughts to life, and also made WWII very "real" for my kids. It is well-designed, and uses a variety of media, which makes it very interesting. One thing I highly recommend is to purchase your tickets online before your visit. We saved at least 40 minutes not having to wait in line.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank long4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
329 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We visited Anne Frank House in August and I would highly recommend this to every visitor to Amsterdam. The museum section is very well done and it is incredible to see the rooms where Anne lived with her family and friends for over two years. I would definitely recommend booking your tickets on line. There are constant very very long queues, but as I had booked on line we did not have to queue at all which was great. We also booked an initial talk with our tour of the house and this was very informative about the lead up to the war and invasion of The Netherlands.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kitty63Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the long queue if you've read her diary”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

If you haven't read the book, you'll be very unhappy with the long queue and maybe a bit disasspointed inside. But if you have read the book, it's worth the wait. Going up and through several floors of the Secret Annexe is poignant and transports you into the different world. Whilst it leaves you feeling sad and moved by the experience of those who lived in the house and millions who suffered a similar ending, it leaves one feeling oddly enough inspired but most of all grateful for the life we have now.

It's hard to imagine how Anne Frank and her family lived 2 years in secret the way they did. Simply shows what odds can be borne by the human spirit. It's worth the wait if you want to if you're in for some deep reflection :)

One thing though, some of the stairs can be really steep going up. If you have problems with that, check first how you can go about this.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

If you know in advance you will be in Amsterdam make a reservation in orde to avoid long lines. If you are unable to get reservation go later in the day. In August it is open until 10 pm.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Anne Frank House also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Anne Frank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing