We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #21 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We just had diner there last night, and enjoyed it so much that it deserves a review.
At the moment one of the best restaurants in Amsterdam in its price range.

Service is very professional, and attentive.

There is a la carte but we took a 3 course menu for 36,- euro. For quality of the food, a gift.

After haven the biggest amuse I ever had (almost like a starter), we had two starters: one a scottish lobster, and second a sea bass. The main course was dutch lamb with white asparagus. It all was perfectly cooked.

I will come back soon and let my friends taste the quality of the food.
Since the place is quite new not a lot of people know about it yet. It won't take before the do!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank bmenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 700 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2011

We initially booked this hotel because of its ratings in TripAdvisor and as a Small Luxury Hotel of the World site. It was not a luxurious but was small and was a hotel. Upon arriving at 730 pm we were greeted at reception after carrying our own bags up the front stairs with an indifferent receptionist. After 10 minutes looking for our confirmed reservation we were required to 1) carry our bags up two flights of stairs, 2) pull our bags through the dinning room and KITCHEN!, and three when presented with our room told little about its operation or amenities.
The room was small and dark. There was construction in the back garden throughout our first day. Most concerning is that the hotel seems to cater to young guests who return late in the evening or early morning to continue their evening activities in what can only be described as dorm like sound proofing. Many guests while were there complained.
Breakfast consisted of a small buffet breakfast with eggs cooked upon request. In most cases little fruit and no cereal was provided as part of the buffet although this was part of the hotel's selling point.
In short I cannot recommend this hotel for its service, its accommodations, or its breakfast. We left after two nights for a true five star hotel. This should be rated as a two star hotel at best!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WMuirhead-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesselKrauss, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

Dear Mr.Muirhead,

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent visit. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at Canal House was unpleasant and that your first impression of Amsterdam was a poor one. I am actively looking into all the points you raised and have spoken to the members of our Reception team who were on hand when you checked in.

If you do have an opportunity to return to Amsterdam please contact me personally and I would be very happy to assist you with your stay.


My very best,
Wessel Krauss
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Situated in a nice location along one of the major canals, Keizersgracht, close to city centre , the main railway station about 20 minutes.The room was lovely and girly.my girl loved it,for 3 day escape is ideal,romantic.There are many rests and coffees,nice area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaoTz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We were extremely pleased with the Canal House. The staff was friendly and attentive and our room was beautiful, comfortable and very well-appointed. The location was perfect - close to most attractions, great restaurants and most importantly - it was quiet! Compared to other hotels in Amsterdam I considered this to be a great deal as the room was newly renovated and breakfast was included in the rate. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizP1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Fabulously stylish hotel, only just re-opened after a major renovation. In a great location along one of the major canals, Keizersgracht, walking distance from the centre of the city, the main railway station (about 15 mins) and, most importantly, loads of great cafes, restaurants and lovely shops. Room was perfect, even though we went for the cheapest one called 'good'. Bed was soooo lovely, great bathroom. Everything spotless. When the garden is open in a few weeks it will be even better. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and we had none of those grudging 'okay's that you get in other hotels, including our late check out request. They really made us feel wanted and not a bit of a nuisance, as some other hotels do. A really lovely place, with fabulous staff. Defintely number 1 in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Warrington_UKVicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We were lucky enough to be in Amsterdam on a pleasure/business trip and had our reservations booked for us. What a wonderful experience it was! This is a totally first class hotel with all the attendant ammenities! As a bonus, it overlooks a canal and is within walking distance to everything in downtown Amsterdam.
The room was very comfortable, the staff was amazingly helpful, the food was great! Do NOT miss eating dinner at the hotel--the food is gourmet and worth staying in for!
If you are looking for total comfort and an amazing hotel experience in Amsterdam, look no further!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phooved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Had drinks & dinner with clients in this beautiful new design hotel on a stunning location in Amsterdam. The service and quality of food was very good. I actually didn't have such a good dinner experience in Amsterdam for a long time. My spoiled French - gourmand - client was also very impressed. Nice place for just a cocktail too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaymondJoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#10 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,399 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,890 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,250 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £173 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing