We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, cozy, and stylish”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #21 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming, cozy, and stylish”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had a lovely one-night stay at Canal House for a quick weekend trip to Amsterdam. It was the perfect place to stay - the location couldn't be any better. The place is in the middle of the Jordaan neighborhood, which is full of adorable cafes and shops, but it's walking distance from the train station and all the tourist attractions. Our room was very comfortable and stylish, with a nice assortment of magazines and good bath products. The one downside was that our window faced a wall, but we didn't care since we weren't going to be spending much time in the room. We had a nice breakfast the next morning overlooking the garden. Overall, a fantastic stay.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    181
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
54
395
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We were just off the plane from the US, and after a short ride from the airport, arranged by Canal House, we found a delightful set of row houses converted into a wonderful hotel. Rooms are a bit quirky, with the bathtub often in the room, but the staff is attentive, the bar (located with reception) is fun, and the food is good. Location is central, close by the Anne Frank house.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbdog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I travel a lot for work and stay mostly at chain hotels (Sheratons etc) so for our holiday wanted a more personal, boutique experience. We found this hotel online, it had great reviews and in person did not disappoint. Our room was beautifully decorated and appointed, very tasteful and elegant. Service was excellent, the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was fabulous with traditional Dutch bread/cheese/ham in addition to cereals or hot breakfast. All delicious. Location was excellent, quiet canal surrounded by great shops and restaurants. If there is a downside, is that I wish the air conditioning in the room was better, but definitely not a turn off. Recommend this hotel for a sumptuous stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GogglesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We recently spent a week at Canal House and it was fantastic!!! It was a great location being one street away from Anne Frank House also a short walk from Dam Square and The Nine Streets. Everything we needed was close. The hotel was very boutique style having been recently renovated so it was super clean. The breakfast was delicious but mostly the staff were fabulous. Nothing was too much to ask and everyone from the receptionist to the restaurant staff to the cleaner was SO nice. Thanks Canal House for making our stay so great. We'll definately see you again.

Room Tip: I would suspect all the rooms are as great as ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanja027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is just an apartment, not really a hotel, so don't expect the usual amenities like room service or linen changes etc. It's a smallish room with the tiniest wetroom unit inside (think campervan!) however - for Amsterdam it is positively huge! You get a fridge, microwave, kettle, percolator with tea and coffee provided (nice touch!). The front room overlooks a canal (they also rent a room to the rear which I have not seen so cannot comment on). Beautiful location next to the Jordaan. We've been back twice now and it hopefully won't be the last time. What a gem!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank soja4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A co-worker and I had to fly out to Amsterdam on a couple of day's notice for a film shoot last week. Had no clue where to stay, or what part of town or what our options might be. Found The Canal House mostly by accident while poking around a couple of boutique hotel sites (Tablet, I believe). Intrigued by the pictures, and the simplicity of their room tiers (Good, Better, Best).

Didn't have high expectations for whatever reason, particularly since we were going to be in Amsterdam for work and not on vacation. But stayed 3 nights there and, well, it was an all around surprisingly excellent experience.

Hotel is located in Jordaan neighborhood and it's nearby the tourist magnets of the Red Light District and the Anne Frank House (just around the corner), and some other smaller attractions. But it's just far away from everything that you don't feel suffocated by it. It feels residential and local for the most part, but still close enough to access the tourist stuff if you want.

Hotel itself is a narrow building about 4 stories high. Has 20-25 rooms total, but it feels like less. It's a little cramped and narrow inside (especially the stairs - there's no elevator either), but I got the sense that a lot of buildings along the canals in Amsterdam are like that. It was part of the local charm. Garden in the back is beautiful and worth hanging out in. Black and purple decor inside is executed well, as was overall design touches in the rooms and throughout the building. Simple and thoughtful and done well.

Didn't eat in the restaurant while we were there but it's apparently a well-regarded dining option in town, as often it had many tables occupied by non-guests for lunch and dinner.

Hotel staff was very friendly. Very accommodating. Made the experience personal - everyone would learn your name. But it wasn't ever creepy or insincere, and they didn't ever overdo it like some places do. Found this to be a real part of the overall pleasant stay we had.

I had a "Better Room" (the medium sized one) and it was a touch smaller than I expected for the price (and from the photos). But it was still comfortable and convenient. Was space for my stuff and for me to work. Wireless internet is free for guests, and it could have been faster. But it wasn't terrible. Better than most boutique places I've stayed in before.

There were a lot of couples staying at the hotel while we were there. It's a romantic hotel but still a place you can stay at if you're looking for something different on your work trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfamazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Canal House was recently renovated and we felt they did a great job in making a very contemporary hotel still feel firmly anchored to its history and traditions: cosmopolitan boutique hotel features are cleverly mixed with very "dutch" pieces – from paintings to porcelain statues - making it unique. The restaurant area and the bar are sophisticated and cosy – definitely worth a visit.

The rooms are exactly as you see them on the website: modern, glamorous and sleek. Felt luxurious, definitely - with every comfort you would expect from a hotel of this category.

The location is brilliant - close enough to walk everywhere and sufficiently far away from the 'tourist traps' of the city centre. Jordaan itself is a charming neighbourhood with lots of great restaurants, bars and shops.

I would highlight some small, but nice, touches: daily weather forecast on the bedside table; excellent complimentary wi-fi; high-end magazines in the room; high quality toiletries; very good complimentary breakfast... the list could go on.

Last but not least, the service: impeccable, from front desk to the bar and restaurant. They assisted us with everything we needed and made us feel very welcome throughout.

A perfect hotel for romantic escapes, highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,069 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 368 in Amsterdam
594 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,635 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Property: Canal House
Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing