We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!!”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #23 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We LOVED this hotel. We travel a lot and this hotel was right up our alley, cute, small, modern and boutique. Even the check-in process was a dream. They took our luggage and took us straight to the garden, made us a cappuccino and joined us to ask us how they could help us make our visit even better.

Positives:
• The hotel is GORGEOUS. Loved the renovated canal house with old-world touches (marble, art work, velvet curtains) but with a modern feel.
• Our room was AMAZING. Truly fantastic. Overlooked the backyard. Very spacious, with high ceilings, lots of natural light. Loved the old world accents too.
• Bathroom was fantastic. If you have the soaking tub, use it. It’s worth the time out to take a bike
• Service was great. The hotel staff was able to recommend some wonderful things for us – including a delicious Indonesian meal and an all Dutch beer bar (Arden’s nest).
• Breakfast was included for us, which made it a better value
• Neighborhood is fantastic. Cute shops, but away from the fray. It’s in a very clean area. Amsterdam is a lot cleaner than it use to be, but still some neighborhoods are not as desirable. The Jordaan area is my favorite neighborhood in the city.

Negatives:
• None! It would be nice if they had bikes on site. We rented through the company they recommended and the service was very slow.
• It is expensive, but worth the splurge

Room Tip: Worth getting a large room with a soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavoMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

we stayed for on night for a weekend break and were told we jade come to the right place and we had! The hotel is in a beautiful old mansion house on the canal and the details and furnishings are beautiful. Our room was lovely, a little small but what you would expect in these old biuldings. Breakfast is included and is a great selection of continental treats. Sitting overlooking the garden its a great way to start the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miak008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was our second visit to Amsterdam and as such we wanted a different experience. The last time we were here, it was the Queen's Day Celebrations, so this time we decided to stay at The Canal House.
We had a "Best Room" that was on the ground floor overlooking the courtyard with our own sitting area outside. The room was very spacious for a european hotel, decadently decorated in dark colours and textiles - adding an air of romance. The Green & Spring shower products were a nice extra touch, not just the run of the mill bathroom offerings.
We liked this hotel for its history and excellent service. The front desk staff were very helpful and accomodating at all times. Breakfast was always good in the stunning Great Room, eggs boiled to your liking, fresh breads and pastries and decent coffee. Great central location, it was easy to find our way around this beautiful district.
It is more on the pricey side to stay here but we thought it was worth it for the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacjacjackeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Canal house is very stylishly appointed and the room was very well done in modern dark colours and retro chic style light switched, etc. They use great soaps, etc. The service is top notch with escort to your room and very welcoming staff. Good place to stay in Amsterdam. street is quiet and many rooms face into the back courtyard.

Room Tip: Typical of Amsterdam hotels that stretch over two or more houses - you will need to walk half-flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Second stay in the Canal house and it was even better than the first visit friendly staff superb room and a breakfast thats included in the price.The staff are superb nothing is too much problem for them a lot of Hotels could take an example of the running and respect for travellers ok it is expensive but totally worth every penny if you want more than eggs for breakfast go and stay in the Hilton and get ripped off for 30 euros for dried up eggs and bacon The canal house best hotel i have stayed in and i have stayed in a lot of 5 and 6 star hotels. The cocktails are wicked along with the bar staff cool shower in the room and comfy bed could have slept for weeks.
Next time i will stay in the best room available also range of toiletries are superb

Room Tip: exceptional room is the nuts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JASON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

While in Amsterdam this October I stopped by the Canal House to see how the new owners had reburbished the place. Now I do believe upgrades should happen, but this was a totally different scene. No longer the charming, quaint, cozy place I was hoping for. Gone was the beautiful breakfast room with frescoed ceiling, replaced by stark black paint right up to the white crown molding.

The charm was gone, replaced by a modern, very boring, charmless surroundings. And of course the price was out of my range. I've moved on to Maes b&b

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank PeggyGMinneapolis_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this lovely hotel. We know the city well and think that this area is quite the loveliest - near to everything but quiet and picturesque. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from a tram stop so it's easy to get around by tram as well as on foot. There are lots of good places to eat very near including The Pancake Bakery on Prinsengracht. Should I ever knowingly have to choose the place for my last meal, this is the place!!!

Canal House is the real thing - steep windy stairs. (If you have any mobility problems do ring before booking to discuss your requirements. Seriously, the stairs were nearly vertical, spiral and narrow. We felt like mountaineers hauling ourselves up them - yes the Pancake Bakery visits did not help but even Edmund Hillary may have been challenged! The very kind receptionist carried our bags up.)

Our room was perfect. Dark but that is the style.The beds were so comfortable and the goose down duvet perfect. (I even sneaked a look at the label to see the manufacturer!) We so liked having an open plan bathroom but do make sure you know your travelling partner.

Breakfast was nicely presented and a good choice. Eggs were boiled to order and the coffee was great - lovely cappucino or whatever you wanted. For the room price I would have expected some hot items e.g. bacon and fried eggs.

The receptionists were all very helpful (very efficient booking e mail confirmations etc) as were the dining room staff.

All in all this was a fantastic holiday. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Thank you Canal House.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,225 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 372 in Amsterdam
619 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £228 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing