We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel”
Review of Canal House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canal House
Ranked #21 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We just spent a few days at the Canal House and it was a great experience. The location is perfect for all sightseeings in Amsterdam. It is literally a 5 minutes walk to Anne Frank House if you want to get there early to wait in line. If you want to skip the line all together, purchase your tickets online so you can go to a private entrance. We had a garden room which was lovely. Every morning we woke up and look out the windows, it felt like our own backyard. Another favorite part of the hotel that we liked were the bar at the front. It is technically a living room of a house with views of the canal. A perfect place to relax and unwind with a glass of champagne after a long day of touring the city. The included buffet breakfast was outstanding. We usually don't eat breakfast at home, but made an effort to get ourselves to the dinning room for coffee and pastry. Finally, the staff are very friendly. They made you feel at home whenever you leave or come back to the hotel.

If you are visiting Amsterdam, this is the place to stay. It has all the luxury amenities you might need in a larger hotel, yet it maintains the charming and friendliness of a boutique hotel where staff really valued you as customers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnguyen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    180
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
54
385
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The decor of this hotel is dark and dramatic, but interesting and very well done. The staff were great, we appreciated their friendly helpful service. Our only visit to the dining room (which is also beautifully done) was to eat a hasty buffet continental breakfast which was adequate but nothing special.

Our room on the first floor could be accessed by carefully climbing a challenging narrow staircase or elevator via the kitchen. However, the building is very old and we thought these little quirks added to the charm. Our room was classed in the 'good' category and overlooked the large and lovely garden area. While the room itself was as charming as the rest of the hotel, we found it uncomfortably small. The bathroom contained only the shower and toilet and nothing else. Two small washbasins, mirror and hairdryer were situated at one end of the cabinet opposite the bed, with nothing to screen off from the rest of the room and very little space to place our personal toiletries. We found it awkward negotiating around the bed and our luggage (only 3 small bags) in a room better suited for just one occupant. The lighting in both bathroom and bedroom was also extremely dim, so in addition to the purple and black decor and gloomy weather during our stay, the room was very dark.

Room Tip: Consider paying extra for a higher category room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fruit_Tart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have just spent 4 fantastic days in Amsterdam celebrating a significant birthday. Menno on reception was both friendly and informative when we checked in and took time to explain the layout of the hotel as we were on different floors and also the facilities in each room. All of the staff proved equally friendly and helpful and were always willing to ensure our requirements were being met. Nothing was too much trouble and this was exemplified by the gift provided for my wife as well as booking fast pass tickets for the Van Gogh museum when we initially asked for directions. We had sumptuous sleep in the most comfortable king size beds and simply melted into the pillows. The continental breakfast was extensive and catered for a wide range of tastes. The garden was an oasis of calm in this busy city and preferable to enjoy relaxing.drinks and snacks in between our wider forays to the attractions. The hotel is ideally located for many of the attractions and for those less mobile the taxis were not prohibitively expensive. We have nothing but positive comments about the hotel and staff and readily recommend to travellers looking for something special.

Room Tip: The "better" rooms look out onto a small enclosed courtyard offering quiet away from the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel is very well situated and the public rooms and especially the garden are a delight.
Our room was a decent size and the bath/shower in the room is less intrusive than you might think.
The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.Throughout our stay the staff were attentive and friendly.
The problem with the room was a lack of natural light with the window looking on to windowless walls on three sides.
We glimpsed rooms in passing with full length windows overlooking the garden and developed serious room envy.
We would very happily stay in the Canal House again but in one of the better rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Canal House is an upscale, boutique hotel in a most perfect location within close distance to the Anne Frank House , museums, cafes, etc. The staff was friendly, extremely helpful and always available. The rooms are dimly lit ( not great for putting on makeup), but otherwise, dramatically contemporary without sacrificing old world charm. The bed ( we had a " great" room), was the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. The buffet breakfast is good and plentiful. To me, this is an ideal place to stay amidst a city. Their backyard garden is peaceful and pretty. I would definately. stay here again should I return to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is absolutely amazing . It offers beautiful rooms with an interesting modern design, has a great kitchen, friendly staff members and its "hidden pearl" - the beautiful private garden, a great place for the hotel guests to relax and enjoy the weather. The hotel's location is great too - very central and convenient yet quiet.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
254 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a real gem. The hotel is located in a beautiful, tranquil street. The decor of the hotel is stunning with wonderful architectural details. The entire staff is superb. They are warm, hospitable,and knowledgeable
I was thrilled with my choice and would give this hotel my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: I loved having a room overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Dylan
The Dylan
#22 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House

Property: Canal House
Address: Keizersgracht 148, 1015 CX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canal House offers boutique-style rooms in the Grachtengordel-West district, 290 yards from Westermarkt tram stop. This design hotel features free Wi-Fi and grounds with summer house for private meetings.The rooms at Canal House feature sumptuous decor with dark woods and luxurious fabrics. Each room has an open-plan layout and includes a flat-screen TV, minibar and work desk.The Amsterdam Tulip Museum and Anne Frank House are less than a 5-minute walk from Canal House. Amsterdam Central Train Station is less than a 15-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Canal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Hotel Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing