We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
609
202
44
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
609
202
44
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews exceptional room anne frank house boutique hotel overlooking the garden continental breakfast small hotel beautiful room fantastic hotel yogurt central amsterdam canal keizersgracht westerkerk toiletries bells cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2019

Small but lovely and with excellent personalized service. We had a wonderful room overlooking the canal. The breakfast was delicious with bread and croissants to die for. Lovely garden at the back to relax in. Staff were just wonderful, helpful, friendly, relaxed and very good. Can’t say enough about how welcome the staff made us feel.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Canal House Amsterdam on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with the perfect setting for an unforgettable experience in Amsterdam.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2019 via mobile

I can't exactly describe the feeling being in such a place. It's a combination of travelling back in time with elements of the future. It's glamorous it's gothic it's stylish. We had a room with a view at the canal. Just beautiful! We were lucky and we had very good weather so we enjoyed the amazing garden along with a glass of good wine. The service of the personnel was friendly but professional too. The best combination! The only thing that i could complain about is the noise of the rubbish collection at 5.30 in the morning. Can you do something about it?

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bluev2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

It was a pleasure having you as our guests happy to find out that everything was at your satisfaction and you think back with positive feelings about our Services & Hotel.
I will certainly inform my entire team, who were responsible for looking after you during your stay, about your kind words & positive comments.
Regarding pick up of rubbish this is done by Municipal and difficult to manage the pick up time from our side but will try again!
Looking forward to see you again soon!

Have a lovely day,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2019

Unique small hotel on a quiet part in the city center right on the canal. Professional staff and excellent service. There is a lovely private garden for hotel guests. Special thanks to its General Manager for the warm welcome. She knows what guests need for a perfect stay.

Room tip: Take the garden room. Tip: after 9pm the garden closes for other guests and you'll have the garden for yourself
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteLaJeune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019


Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed Amsterdam and that your overall experience was a fantastic one. We work very hard to delight each and every guest who stays with us – and I am thrilled that on your visit we met up to your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, please be sure to contact us directly so we can take extra care of your booking.
Have a lovely day, Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019 via mobile

We had a paid reservation at the Canal house and the morning of our arrival it was abruptly canceled with no explanation. Beware! We were lucky to get a nearby hotel at twice the price. They at least refunded our money-thanks a bunch.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Storyteller546249
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2019

Dear Sir, Madam,

I am sorry to hear this, however you published your comment on the wrong company profile.
It would be very much appreciated to remove this and publish this on the correct company profile.
In the meantime if there is anything we can do for you do let us know!
Hope you will have a great stay in Amsterdam.

All my very best,
Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2019

Lovely small hotel with helpful and plentiful staff in a perfect location. With only 24 rooms was a nice choice. Soothing check in, check out, room service, breakfast, bar, garden oasis. Will stay here again

Room tip: Rooms are pretty much the same..cnal view would have been nice but we were happy for early check n.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigiSkyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristeld D, General Manager at Canal House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, it’s very much appreciated as well as helpful! I’m glad to read that everything was fantastic regarding your stay and will certainly share your comments with my team.

Have a lovely day,

Kristel Dom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews