We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #14 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Wonderful experience. Being right on the river really gave us a taste of Amsterdam.
In fact we spent an entire afternoon laying on the chaise lounges outside the spa watching the boat traffic go up and down the Amstel---a very entertaining experience. A nice location in walking distance of many sights.

The room was comfortable and elegant and the concierge very helpful

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

The staff are extremely helpful and professional. The hotel manager is very nice, friendly On arrival we checked in Hotel and warmly greeted with a welcome drink .Our room was clean and comfortable,the decor was lovely.The location of the hotel is great. Breakfast is absolutely delicious with many choices. You will not be disappointed when staying here. It’s incredibly good value for money and a delight in every way.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejan_MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This was a five-star hotel where you could "trust" the five star status - everything was perfect: room; food; service- somewhere you can truly relax and enjoy the art museums of the Dutch capital.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank york1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

For a hotel of this standard and this many stars, I find it amazing in 2011 to have no proper work desk in a room. Surely most people have laptops and don't want to bang their knees on a mock-antique desk they are sitting at to work on their computers, also a desk with no lamp or lighting directly above it. Consequently I found it very very hard to work in my hotel room. I can find no fault with anything else, ... and for this level of hotel I would not expect any faults, but. time to get into the 21st century for furniture!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear valued guest,

At the Amstel Hotel we strive for our guests to get the best of everything and therefore we are very happy to read that "beautiful" comes to mind when describing our service. Thank you for the compliment.

On the other hand, we are sorry to learn that the work station in your room did not meet your expections. It has been brought to our attention before for some rooms and this is part our room enhancement program.

We hope to welcome you to the Amstel Hotel again in the future.

With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We just spent 3 nights in Amsterdam. This hotel is top of the line class and elegance. It is well located, away from the riff raff and close enough to walk to all. Very old world charm with big rooms and bathrooms and towels, etc. Lovely spa- pool, but we had no time to use any of it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonsPromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Loved this hotel, it's got a wow factor you don't get in many hotels

Service was typical of good 5 star hotels,

Only downside is it's a little too far away from the main attractions

Only negative is maybe the price tag?

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boro2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A 2 night stay during the hottest days of June, but no problem - aircondition was quick and cooled down the room as the sun tried to melt the windows. I booked a city view room and got a channel view one. Thanks. Stunning view! Lunch on the terrace - really good.
A very comfortable hotel to stay in. Service was effective and nice in all parts of the hotel. Especially check in, concierge, room service were very efficient.
I will certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,400 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
863 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,671 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £272 - £557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing