We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Hotel in downtown of Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #10 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hotel in downtown of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Hotel has an excellent staff and the building was very beautiful. Room was spacious and comfortable. There was no spa and generally pool side facilities should be updated as they reminded me of 1980s.

Room Tip: View to river Amstel would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomSjoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Mikael7,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is my pleasure to confirm that an update of our Spa Facilities and pool is on its way as we speak.

Looking forward to welcoming to back on your next stay in Amsterdam.

With best regards from sunny Amsterdam,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    128
    41
    14
    17
See reviews for
127
403
59
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stay at this hotel 2 or 3 times a year, so I have reviewed it before. This hotel just consistently pleases. The staff are wonderful, the rooms are lovely, the location is superb. For our stay this weekend, we had Room 202, a spacious and beautifully decorated corner suite overlooking the Amstel - very special. I love this hotel and would never stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank americantravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear "American Travel Girl,"

All you need is love! Thank you for the wonderful comments and we have taken note of preference for room 202 for your next visit.

With warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

It has been a while since we stayed here but it is still a great memory.
The setting and location first of all is one of the best you can imagine. It is just outside the city centre but it is still within walking distance (which is a bonus) set on the banks of the Amstel river.
Walking up the stairs to the main entrance you soon realise it is not your average hotel. The doorman welcomed us and took care of the luggage and someone else escorted us to the check in desk, after check in we had a small tour with explenation. We were then escorted to our room which was verything we had expected.
Later in the afternoon we got a bit peckish so decided to have some afternoon tea in the beautifully "lounge" area situated on the ground floor but with very soothing views of the Amstel and its boats.
In the evening we decided to have some dinner in the brasserie and wow what a pleasant surprise. Simple food, very well done.
Breakfast was like everything else very well executed.
All in all this hotel (with a few others) is still in my top 10 of special places.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BdWbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

It has been a while indeed! So thank you for your effort to write this wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming again soon.

With warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Rapidly diminishing levels of rooms and inconsistent service make this property recently disappointing.....I have no doubt that will get it right once more but currently not as good as 5 years ago. However, very capable concierge can organise everything for your stay

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mronion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review although your visit has been over a year ago. We would look forward to showing you our "mojo" on a next visit, so we would appreciate it if you would identify yourself when making reservations to be back in Amsterdam.

With warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The Intercontinental Amsterdam is conveniently located for both Tram and Metro lines. It is positioned on the river and river view rooms have a very nice view over the Amstel. It will be better when the adjacent bridge construction is complete. But this only intrudes on a small part of the view and we heard no construction noise at all.
The hotel is 'Grand' in every sense of the word, high ceilings tall windows and period furnishings. But the technology is all there as well. Wireless access throughout, slow speed free (Good), high speed you pay for (not so good). Flat screen TV, surround sound and DVD player included as well. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom large with a big bath, separate toilet (this IS Europe), and a walk-in shower. The rooms are also large by European standards.
The bar is intimate and friendly with exceptional bar staff, courteous, and seemingly anticipating our every request. The food here is very good, coming from the same kitchen as the main restaurant, but at a significantly lower price. Still not cheap but certainly better value.
I found breakfast a puzzle. As others have commented there is a buffet, and no menu. The waiting staff will ask for your beverage choice but if you want anything else then you must ask them. Whatever you request will be freshly cooked to a very high standard (the Eggs Benedict was delicious, with fresh Hollandaise) and served with the usual friendliness. But you DO have to ask, once you are used to this, it is quite liberating to decide what you actually want for Breakfast rather than picking from a list of the usual things. But I'm sure others will find this off-putting.
Overall the hotel was a fine haven to come back to after a hard days sight-seeing, we could relax and recharge ready for the next day. Would I stay here again? Absolutely after the convenience, tranquility, and opulence of the Amstel I could not stay anywhere else. Its not cheap but, in my opinion, is worth the money for the experience.

Room Tip: River view is nice, Corner suites are very large and South west corner get the sun and look over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ridcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This must be one of the best Amsterdam has to offer, have your meal on the water, walk into the city but still enjoy the quietness of the outskirts. One of those that everyone must stay in once in their life.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mauricebakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the compliment. I would not recommend a meal on the water today as the citizens of Amsterdam are currently ice skating on the Amsterdam canals! We look forward to opening our terraces again from the 1st of April.

With warm regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

it is a beautiful hotel. have been coming the last 10 years very frequently. it seems to me the management has forgotten to pay attention to the details. in a luxury hotel at this level the sink should work, the jacuzzi by the pool should work, the furniture in the rooms need to be polished. the faucet of the shower came off. The service was very good and the best was the concierge.
Please make the Amstel hotel what it used to be a luxurious hotel with perfect details.
CBH

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Mrs. H,

As a valued guest since many years we appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We fully agree the described technical dysfunctions should not have occurred and we have taken action on them. Our apologies for the inconvenience this caused for you and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

With kindest regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Property: InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing