We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Ranked #12 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2006

Again an exceptional stay...
As an RA in IC Hotels schema we were upraded to an exec suite with full (free) bar. The staff, including a wonderful SAS vet on minibar replenishment detail, were attentive to a fault. The style, the ambience, and the comfort of this hotel are all five star. I'll be back. I love the city...

Stayed: November 2005
9  Thank Zhaunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2005

There are just not enough words to describe this hotel.

Room was Exec Suite on Second floor over looking the Square.

As another review has said - Breakfast is a rip off - not worth the 32.50euros at all.

Afternoon tea though is fantastic.

If you are Royal Ambassador, the free mini bar is great.

Excellent staff. The Bar next to the La Rive restaurant isn't as expensive as I expected for the class of hotel for drinks - though 95 euros for Hine, althought I had a free taste, was stretching it a bit.

Bathroom was excellent, L'Occitain toiletries. One of the best baths I have ever been in - huge and very deep.

Will be going back there in a couple of months - even if its only to empty the mini bar.

And I also took fotos.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank goneroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2005

Amsterdam is a very cool city, and the Amstel is one amazing hotel. You know you are in for a special treat when the taxi pulls up at the front door. Just the hotel lobby is stunning enough to take your breathe away - and that's just the beginning.

Our room, while not on the canal side, was over the top comfortable. Great bed with luxury linens and a bathroom so special - I actually took pictures. Got my first try at a rainshower (ok - but I prefer body massages), and even got to enjoy a soak in the lovely deep tub.

But we spent most of our time in the hotel in the wonderful pool area. Right on the canal, you could relax in the hot tub and watch the constant stream of boats passing by just yards from where you were sitting. Free coffee, fruit, and nuts made spending time here a total pleasure.

I even opted for a massage one afternoon. Truly relaxing and decandent.

One caution - the restaurant in the Amstel is one of Amsterdams best - La Rive. Dinner there is not to be missed - and you will want to make reservations way ahead. But breakfast is served in the same location - and it's way over the top on price! After getting ripped off the first morning, we asked at the hotel staff for alternatives, and got sent to a lovely cafe just around the corner. 1/3 the price - and better quality. More fun too. The third morning we had to catch an early flight - and the totally attentive staff provided us with coffee in the sitting room. Perfect again.

I would go back like a shot - eat dinner at La Rive again - no problem (Cheese course alone is worth the price of admission). Just avoid that breakfast and you are all set.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank thesouplady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2005

Stayed: October 2005
15  Thank ams1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2005

I stayed here for just 1 night in March whilst attending a conference held at the hotel and I had a wonderful time. I had a very spacious room overlooking the canal and even the shower had a window providing yet another view of the waterside. I could not fault the service or the food and the concierge was particularly helpful in his attempts to get me and a fellow conference attendee on the guest list for an exclusive private party at a nightclub. I will definately stay at the Amstel the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank HLS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2005

  • Stayed: July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank CoRo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank michelle 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
791 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,634 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#17 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £306 - £576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing